Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

I first heard of the Center for Respite Care a few years ago when a friend of mine asked me if I would consider supporting the Center financially. Before I made any committment, I first wanted to check the place out so I made an appointment with Mrs Mary Beth Meyer, the Executive Director, and she took mw on a tour and explained the mission and goals of the Center. I had the opportunity to meet the Medical Director, Dr. Bob Donovan, as well as other members of the staff. Two things stood out immediately to me; the first was the dedication and committment with which each staff member went about their duties; the second was the the total respect and courtesy with which each staff member treated every resident. Most of the residents are homeless, many of them are suffering from addictions of every type, all of them would be classified as living in the margins of our society. Yet every one of them, including the more difficult ones, were treated with the utmost dignity, care and concern by the staff Of course, I did not see or experience all of this on my initial visit. But that initial visit with Mrs. Meyer impressed me so much that not only did I agree to offer some financial support to the Center, I also decided to volunteer some regular time doing whatever I could to help. Over the next few years I was privileged to see the Center's staff in action and was even more privileged to meet and interact with many of the residents. Their stories often inspire and amaze me. Certainly their stories have helped me to break the stereotypical mind-set that homeless people "just choose to be homeless and live the way they do because they are too lazy to get a job." They truly have taught me and have given me far more gifts than I have ever given them. The staff work very hard at helping the residents reconnect with family, if possible. If not, many of the residents are given the opportunity of moving into taerlow rent apartments in the area and are made aware of services to help them start over. Many of them have taken advantage of those opportunities and have begun new lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the size of the Center so that we could accommodate more people

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

I have been a volunteer for a number of years at the Center for Respite Care. My request as a volunteer was to bring my dog, as I knew the therapeutic value of this. They welcomed him with open arms. And the clients connected with my dog in a great way. Many were so happy to just sit and pet him, others told stories about their own pets.
Other ideas have also been met with much enthusiasm. This is a staff who is willing to listen to new ideas and plans. If it will benefit their clients they are open to it
It is a privilege to volunteer here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them additional funding

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Some unfortunate things happened to me recently which made me homeless, penniless, and in need of medical attention at the hospital. I had to have my toes on my left foot amputated because of an infection. During my 12 day stay in the hospital I was extremely depressed, nervous, anxious and had a feeling of hopelessness. I didn't know what would happen to me after I was released from the hospital.

I talked with a hospital social worker who told me of a place called "The Center for Respite Care" a homeless shelter for people who have medical issues. I agreed to fill out the paperwork to see if I was accepted there and I was.

On June 14, 2013, I left the hospital and was brought to the Respite Center. I was scared, nervous, and was running a gamut of emotions. My mind was put at ease when I met the staff. They made me feel welcome and told me not to worry, they would take care of me.

Here at Respite Care, you get three meals a day. Your meds are given to you by a nurse, your vitals are monitored, toiletries are furnished, bus tokens are provided as needed and if you need a ride for an appointment staff members will drive you there. The staff helps you get drivers license, social security card, birth certificate, cell phone, and medicines. If there are any costs Respite pays the fees.

I was in need of a pair of tennis shoes and one of the staff members took $50 out of her own pocket and paid for them. I was driven to a store by a staff member and got the shoes. I was humbled by the gesture and almost cried. It is as though God works thru the staff members. Also I was able to get a free eye exam and free eyeglasses with Respite's relationship with an eyeglass local. I needed these glasses in the worst way.

At Respite Care they have clothes that you can look through and take what you need. They also work with me and other clients filling out any forms for services I may need. One nurse brings in a home cooked meal once a month and her cooking is excellent and all of us appreciate it very much. The nurses and personal care assistants treat all of us with respect and give us individual attention whenever we need it.

There is also Dr. Donovan who comes in 4 or 5 times a week to take care of the clients and especially myself. In addition the staff finds you housing that fits your needs and preferences. They also assist you in finding jobs. To me, Respite Care is like a mini "heaven" I have no worries, I do not need money because there is no cost to the clients. I am no longer depressed, anxious or unhappy. I feel that I have been given a new start in life because of the Center for Respite Care.

I cannot thank the staff enough for all the TLC they bestow on me and the other clients. When I become healed and able to work again I will contribute to Respite Care by volunteering and donating $ or in anyway way that helps them succeed. Thanks again Respite Care and may God Bless your effort....Tim 7/3/13.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Center for Respite Care is a unique, awesome organization that provides a much needed service in the Cincinnati community. The staff is great and I have always enjoyed volunteering there - especially at Christmas time. Most of all, I am impressed with the difference CRC makes to the homeless clients in improving their lives. The organization deserves a lot of credit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My family and I have volunteered a few times at the Center for Respite Care in the past. Recently, I began volunteering on a weekly basis teaching a chair yoga class. The atmosphere is so welcoming and I am always grateful for the time I spend there. They are doing a wonderful job!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for the Center for Respite Care in 2010 through 2011. The organization is doing an exceptional service for the community. The staff provided exceptional care and they demonstrated a great commitment to those they served. I was lucky enough to talk with many of the patients. They told me over and over again how grateful they were for Center of Respite Care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more sources of donations for the important services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer and a donor for almost 10 years. My first time volunteering was on Christmas Eve of 2003. A group of us came down to the center to sing Christmas Carols for the patients. We had a wonderful time, and enjoyed our conversations with the men and women staying at the center. The patients seemed very touched by our visit and expressed their deep gratitude. The staff was very welcoming and made us feel like we were part of the family. I looked forward to coming back and helping out any way I could.

I volunteered doing mailings and some of the patients would help out too. I also had a chance to serve meals and help with a picnic. It was always enjoyable and everyone was so appreciative. The most memorable parts were always the opportunities to talk with the patients. It was obvious how much they loved being at the center. They seemed to enjoy my visits and having someone to talk to about ordinary things rather. I've met some really amazing people and have a very different understanding of being homeless than I did ten years ago.

If you want a really rewarding experience, I highly recommend volunteering at the Center for Respite Care. If you're looking for a place to donate and know your money is being used well and making a huge difference, this is the place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them build a bigger building.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a patient at the Center for Respite Care. I had a serious respiratory infection, and at the time I needed oxygen. Doctor Donovan and the nursing staff were really wonderful. They took very good care of me and they treated me with respect and concern. When I came to CRC, I felt hopeless. I had no sense of direction for my life. I had no vision of what my future would be like. That changed because of the wonderful people at CRC. Now I have a positive outlook on life and I want to help them by advocating for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor and volunteer for many, many years. It warms my heart to see how the staff works and cares for the clients at the Center for Respite Care. Whenever I have been down to help out for just a short time, the warmth and appreciation from the clients is so sincere that it just makes you want to be more involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My only change I would want for this organization would be to have more access to help those clients that have been helped with finding a place to live. Wish we could do more as far as helping with supplies, food etc for those folks leaving on their own after their stay at the Center for Respite Care but still need our help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved as a donor and volunteer for at least 5 years.This nonprofit may not be well known but it helps homeless individuals in restoring their health and transforming lives.
There is a sense of true caring from the staff and continued thankfulness from the clients.
Respite
Care is a wonderful place to volunteer because it will change your life!
Great results happen on a shoestring budget!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish that more people were ware of the organization and how it just won the Medical Respite Award for Excellence

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

let a sick homeless person know that you care. Someone with 3 hours to volunteer could share a meal and conversation with patients in a relaxed, loving and home-like environment. Volunteer