Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.733335
Write A Review
July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

After reading about this effort, I was stunned that pet products don't have to meet safety requirements before hitting the shelves. It is a sad state of affairs that as pet owners we spend our money on products that may not be safe or may put the lives of our pets - or our families - at risk. I'm glad to see an organization that is working to change things in a meaningful, positive way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure they obtained needed funding to complete the additional research they need to do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2014

more

June 6, 2014

I am very grateful for CPS. They have educated the public about the safety of harnesses for dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding for more tests and a wider variety of product tested.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

Very thankful that they've stepped up to provide this service. Our economy allows for manufacturers to get away with outright lying about their products. We need organizations like CPS, who try to protect us and our loved ones, and they should receive money to perform their testing, from a pool funded by manufacturers!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

CPS has helped me make sound decisions when buying pet safety products such as seatbelt harness and car seat. They are constantly writing updates so I know they don't just run a test and call it good. I love my fur-babies and couldn't be happier with all the work CPS does!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of one thing I would change.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

II like reading the cps updates and posts. I feel like they represent the common pet parent. My dog is family and I want to get her safe toys and equipment. The cps has helped me see the kinds of things to look for and make informed desicions about products for my pet. I feel they are a voice for us because they seem to really care about what they are doing and strive for safety. I appreciate all they do daily to protect my pet from manufacturers that take the easy route or do not test their products. I have learned so much from them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None yet that I know of

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

Thanks for the past and continued research! I couldn't find any similar information available for pet safety. As a veterinarian, I was often asked for resources such as this and now I have a group to recommend. I appreciate the unbiased reports and the willingness to break new ground.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I am so very glad there is a place that is non profit and doesn't receive funding from companies that they test their products from. I have 3 Maltese that mean the world to me and their safety is just as important to me as everyone else in my vehicle. It is nice to know there are people out there that care too and are making honest reports on safety products for pets and not a company just trying to sell me something.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I regularly transport dogs on long trips in our van, as we would never consider boarding or leaving our 3 dogs, even at home with a pet sitter. Our dogs always *always* go with us - in the car. Humans wear crash-tested seat belts - why is crash testing on dogs' harnesses only being done now? Thank goodness for Center for Pet Safety, which brings together qualified experts, equipment manufacturers, and consumers to develop dog safety devices that actually protect the safety of the dog in the car. How radical is that !?! It's about time! We look forward to supporting their important work in the years to come, because we know that they are bringing science to bear on this problem, and working to build collaborations so our dogs will not risk injury from the very devices that were marketed as protective.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I have 4 dogs that I compete in dog agility with. This means I've spent thousands of miles a year driving all around the southeast. I initially purchased harnesses for my dogs that claimed to be crash-tested. When a fellow agility competitor was involved in a serious accident it was then I became aware of the issue that there are no standards for pet travel harnesses so I tried to look online to find out if there were standards to market a product as crash-tested approved. That's when I found the Center for Pet Safety. I am a scientist so I value scientifically proven results and found the information on their website invaluable. Not only do they provide crash test videos but they also provide testing results that are clear to understand. I had a question for CPS and they were extremely fast with their answers. I now use their website when making decisions on what products to purchase.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They need more funding so I hope that they can reach out to more people in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

An unbiased organization (takes no advertising or donations from those being researched, has no vested personal or financial interest in the companies or the products being tested) using scientific rigor to establish base line safety in conjuntion with experts in safety and engineering. No, the folks who run CPS aren't experts... but it is not always what you know, but who you know. They ask the hard questions (Does it protect? Does it cause harm?) and then, by consulting with experts in the field, figure out how to test products aned identify weaknesses, and determine if prodcuts meet the claims they make, and keep our pets safe, or not. Yep, those folks who want to claim they have products that protect our pets, but don't back them up with solid, unbiased testing aren't going to like this. No one else is doing this kind of questioning and testing. Doing what pet owners would do themselves if they had the resources! Keep up the hard questions CPS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more resources, so they could test more products. I am really anxious to see results form crate testing!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers