Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.877195
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Review by Tom Potter:
The Center for Intercultural Organizing has been providing services to Oregon's refugees, immigrants and communities of color for the last ten years. Their strength lies in bringing together different communities and providing them with the tools to expand their internal
leadership, build community capacity, and influence public policies that effect their communities.
As Mayor of Portland from 2005-2009, I had the opportunity to work with the CIO and watch them interact with Portland's various communities to empower and engage them in making government work for them. Their efforts have made the Portland Metro area and our state of Oregon a better place for everyone, especially our recent arrivals and the communities of color. These groups have not always been part of the governance process and it is heart-warming to see the transition with individuals who were formerly afraid of government to come forward and work with government to improve the lives of their families and communities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Center for Intercultural Organizing (CIO) builds capacity within immigrant and refugee communities so that they may begin to get involved in the civic life of our City. This involvement connects the new-comer to her/his new home and helps to create a feeling of belonging, reducing isolation. It also brings new, creative voices to local government processes resulting in sounder investments and better outcomes for all. CIO does a fantastic job of this with very limited resources. Portland is a much better City for the work of CIO and the involvement of the community leaders it supports!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...give it better funding

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 14, 2011

more

July 14, 2011

This nonprofit started with an idea after 9/11. How do immigrants integrate into our community for the positive. I have watched CIO mature into a wonderful organization for immigrants, helping them to become confident, needed, and understood. It gives them a place where they can feel welcomed, helped, and gives them the confidence and training to go out into their communities to serve others. It is quite a unique organization. It is one that I can totally support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have attended many events at CIO. Their last fund raising/celebration event was truly wonderful. There were some 450+ people in attendance from many countries, ethnicities, faiths, and educational backgrounds. I said to myself, "This is the way the world should be". Everyone was sharing in conversation, eating together, being entertained, and giving to an organization in which we all believe deeply.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know what changes I would make. From what I have seen, it functions pretty well as an organization. I am sure like with any organization, there are times folks bump heads, but they all seem to work it out. I don't live close enough to see their day-to-day dealings.

February 28, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2011

The Center for Intercultural Organizing is one of the most progressive immigrant rights organization that I personally know of.
The determination to create unity with immigrant groups and other local organization for a larger movement of equity is uncanny.
I have been involved as a
volunteer, staff and now support from another city as a donor. I greatly believe in the work that CIO does and I know how hard the staff and volunteers work to ensure community progress.
CIO empowers people and creates future leaders.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have gain leadership skills, insight on the workings of city government. Eventually this helped me make the decision t persuade my MA in Public Administration

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Admin staff. The work occuring at CIO is extremely valuable. It would be great if more staff could be hired to focus on admin stuff so that the program managers can focus on campaigns/programs and services

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers