Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.885715
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

The Center for Intercultural Organizing is an incredible force for community organizing and advocacy in our region. Their breadth is very wide across communities of color, especially immigrant and refugee communities and is evident at any of the events they host. The relevancy and urgency of their mission is strong and their ability to bring communities together impressive. This is a truly unique organization, one that is a consistent leader and stands in solidarity with others on priority issues for the community. CIO has been a key partner for the City of Beaverton in providing leadership training and civic engagement opportunities for underrepresented communities, in helping to increase dialogue between government and community, and in shaping the conversation on equity and inclusion.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Center for Intercultural Organizing have a great staff culturally savvy to integrate diverse under represent communities to build up leadership, participation and communication.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I am a consultant who works with a range of non-profit organizations in Oregon & Washington. I have worked with CIO's organizing, advocacy & development staff. CIO's staff stands out as being remarkably committed and dedicated to their work and the organization's mission. The organization is a tremendous resource for our community.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

The Center for Intercultural Organizing makes me believe institutional change for all refugees and immigrants is possible. Their programs are truly intersectional and this is the kind of space our community must foster. Resilient Connections is one of CIO's newest programs that serves as a support group for Queer/Trans Refugees and Immigrants. CIO is modeling for other refugee organizations of the NW and even some of its immigrant rights organizations with beginning stages of Queer Liberation. The Center, including Staff, Board and family- is genuinely contributing to the empowerment and leadership development of its constituents with a post-modern multicultural lens.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

CIO is one of the most important social justice organizations in Oregon, and the only one that serves the immigrant and refugee communities well beyond the city limits of Portland. Their commitment to creating an organization that empowers and develops the communties they serve plays a critical role in our state. Their PILOT program alone should be replicated across the country. CIO continues to be a leader in Oregon through their civic engagement, leadership development, public policy advocacy and grassroots organizing. Whether the issue is to end profiling, address health disparities, ensure fair housing, or the myriad of other great social justice advocacy work they do, CIO is advancing a platform that every day makes Oregon a more equitable and just state.
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

CIO is committed to creating a more just and equitable communities in the Portland area. The staff is exceptionally smart, committed, and forward thinking. They are especially concerned about making sure those who are traditionally excluded from city/county policy making (i.e., immigrants, people of color) have a voice at the table.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

figure out a way to bring more resources, so that more staff could be hired.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been watching and witnessing the birth, growth and important anchoring leadership of Center for Intercultural Organizing (CIO), not only in specific immigrant communities, but in the larger communities of Portland and Oregon. The organization's careful and deliberate work has ensured that the voices of immigrants were heard at all levels of government, within social services settings, and in the places that policy and procedures are developed. They bring a strong, unified and powerful voice for immigrant communities and, as a result, we are all better informed and able to understand the plight of immigrants from all countries. CIO does not stop with only raising the issues of inequality, lack of cultural competence among providers, or what's lacking, they bring trained and skilled constituents with skills, abilities, talents and dreams, as newly-arrived residents of our city, counties, and state, who have much to contribute to the larger community.

CIO has made its compelling presence known through the state, has been particularly adept at moving their leadership effectively in a number of circles, local government, at the city and county level, and in working collaboratively to achieve major successes in our Legislature. CIO has also ensure that its membership is diverse and representative of immigrant communities in ways that heretofore have not proven successful.

The organization's model encourages members to come together regularly, to develop their strengths, and cultivates diverse leadership that pushes other organizations to recognize the power and benefit of more diverse representation on issues that affect all of us - whether housing affordability and quality, school improvements and teacher humility and cultural competence. CIO doesn't preach, it shows the stories of individual lives before us, and allows communities within its organization to hold their uniqueness whiile working for collective benefit.

CIO is a strategic, well focused organization that has strong leadership connections and credible relationships throughout the larger community, starting with its constituentis. This is an effective and important point to ensure effective organizing and mobilizing among members and to engage supporters in solidarity ith them - on immigration reform, school reform and quality education for all, housing, health issues, economic opportunity and equity, among others.

It has been my pleasure to watch them grow while staying rooted to their original principles of equal access, justice, diversity and equity to the immigrant voices that emerge in their own organization as well as with those they interact with.

CIO is one of the best examples of a grassroots organization that has not forgotten its roots, but has built the core components needed for long-term success: bringing leadership up from within, setting a vision and mission and not wavering, having enviable results that bring real return on investment, and increasing the diversity of voices that speak in Oregon, and for all of us.

It has been and continues to be my pleasure, as a funder, a community resident and as a social justice leader to wholeheartedly support CIO; one of the best at doing what they do and delivering real change for their communities and mine.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help create numerous satellite CIO's to ensure their presence and work encompasses all of Oregon. I'm sure they've heard that repeatedly, but it worth considering, or supporting them in developing more sites, one by one, by one, by one....

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

CIO president and staff go beyond just meeting people; they learn their story, connect and support them in anyway they can. As an organizer I try to net work with as many organizations as I can to make sure people are getting help when they needed. Net working with CIO is one of the best rewards I have as an organizer. CIO made me realized that when you see and treat people as your own family member regardless their immigration status, religion or the Country they come from is when you really start building real communities.

CIO really believes and works to make sure Justice is for all!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Center for Intercultural Organizing is among the leading edge of organizations in Portland, Oregon, doing multiracial, multiethnic, multilingual organizing that incorporates cultural work and creative expression with the hard-nosed strategic thinking to raise the power of immigrant and refugee voices for racial and economic justice. I LOVE CIO!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

Since August 2008, I have been committed to working for the Latino community in Multnomah County. I feel that I am a professional advocate for my clients and I am able to understand their needs and struggles as they try to raise their children well. I often empathize with their young daughters as we share in feelings of vulnerability often experienced by young women, particularly during puberty, adolescence, and youth. I believe it is very important to help create connections between parents and their children so that parents can understand and help their sons and daughters. For me, the most important part of my work is supporting parents as they help their children achieve success despite the many obstacles they face.
I also identify as a student, and I always will because I believe that knowledge is what makes us who we are and what helps us succeed in the workplace. Through continued education and professional research, we can help one another reach our goals and objectives. I believe it is very important to share my knowledge when clients ask me something because it is never too late to learn. I invite them to share their knowledge with me as classmates.
I also identify as a teacher, particularly when teaching my clients new life skills. I love my work because my clients not only receive information, but learn different ways to use educational tools. Over time, these skills will help them in various situations so that they are able to take advantage of opportunities and be successful academically and professionally in our competitive society. It is important for me to remember the importance of education, which helps us achieve our goals.
As a parent and social worker, my goal is to help, advocate for, and educate our Latino community; in addition, I offer them a number of tools that they can use as they navigate the American education system. Working toward improvement for my clients and engaging our community is of the utmost importance to me in my career. We search for and find leaders that actively work to be present in our schools as volunteers, doing whatever is requested of them to better serve our community.
My work is greatly enriched by the simple fact that I work with the Latino community. I work hard to make a big impact within our society and offer intellectual, emotional, and psychological support in the workshops I lead. It is important that parents and students truly grasp the concepts we discuss so they can practice them in their daily interactions. One of my favorite phrases is “Querer es Poder,” which means “desire is power”. I have implemented this philosophy into my everyday life and I believe that if you want something, you can look for ways to achieve your goals in ways that are not harmful but rather build up others. I am on a mission to seek paths of success for my clients. I trust myself and my internal compass, express my feelings, and continue to seek help and knowledge to realize my own goals. I continue to desire and fight for the success of myself and others.


Sara V. Garcia Gonzalez

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers