Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.885715
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

CIO is an amazing Non-profit. They make leaders out of everyone; people of different races, sexual orientation, beliefs, backgrounds and many others. These communities are the ones that I can call Centre for Intercultural Organizing because power is so completely handed over to the people. I have communities standing up and working with the Counties, City Councils and others just to see to it there is human dignity in development around Oregon. Their members are all-over working hard to bring change to society and thanks to their capacity building approach which exposes communities to leadership and advocating. My organisation will implement their leadership approach in my country, Malawi (in Southern Africa) when I return in December this year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would encourage community leaders to be meeting quarterly and plan on their quarterly engagements and these leaders to also establish community centres where they can meet periodically to brainstorm ideas and how to progress.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 12, 2012

CIO is one of the most awesome organization in the NW. The mission is about intercultural organizing. Something that is unique within itself. They bring together immigrant and refugee communities to e... more

October 4, 2013

CIO, the hub for people from all over the world to come together to elevate and empower our communities, through leadership development, advocacy, and grassroots organizing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2012

CIO is one of the most awesome organization in the NW. The mission is about intercultural organizing. Something that is unique within itself. They bring together immigrant and refugee communities to empower them, give them a voice in their community, and develop as leaders. On top of that, they have the most dedicated staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

Center for Intercultural Organizing ( CIO) has been working with with the Immigrant and refugee communities ( IR)in Oregon to empower and build a multi-ethnic/racial movement. for the last three years I have know CIO since the work in Washington County in Oregon started. CIO had reached out to all the IR communities to invite them to the Beaverton CIty Hall, in order to build a strong representation for IR and people of color in civic life in the City. Now in Beaverton there are IR leaders that are parts of boards and commissions because of the training and the advocacy work that CIO had done to engage the IR leaders . I'm honored that to be a part of such and organization that not only work with the communities for building capacity. But the policy work on state, Counties and Cities level to review and recommend inclusive policies for all Oregonians in Oregon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

When I first came to CIO, I met highly diverse group of people. I was new to Portland, and Cio gve me both a course and orientatin to the city.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

I am inturning at the Center for Intercultural Organizing this summer, and so far I've had an amazing experience. I have been apart of so many projects and feel like I've really done good. I have helped raise money and awareness for projects that are important, I have done bill research, I have registered voters, and I have organized events. All of it was a pleasure to do, and I felt that I was making a real difference. It doesn't take long to see how hard everyone there works, and how much they all care. Everyone who is there genuinely wants to be there. The whole environnent is one of productivity, creativity, and friendship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

As student want to learn about becoming a leader in community. Ran across many organization and to reach my goal. Most had plan that did not fit me and saw they had different goal. but i had to look back in 5th grade and remember a person name by Kayse Jama that was help Somali youth in Portland through summer camp so many of stay out trouble and help remember what we learn in school. His start pop out by how is a good guy. and ran to someone that was start nonprofit to help Somali youth in Oregon to become leaders in the community so i went some of the meeting and start to get involve. That we was getting help by center for intercultural Organizing with advice and how to run a great non profit and giving us a space to hold our meeting and much more. Help our first fundraising event. so i was like people are life savers and then i want to do more in social Justice and i tag on with them on there lobbying day and alot about my rights and saw how that we need to do more in social justice and i volunteer and sign up for (Pilot) - Pan- Immigrant Leadership and Organizing Training and become graduate of 2011-2012 programs and Oregon is growing with immigrant and center for intercultural organizing is helping change to share voice of rights and social Justice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

I really enjoy working at CIO because I feel that I am able to apply my theoretical knowledge and education in an meaningful way, impacting individuals and groups who need support and advocacy. I am amazed at CIO's connectivity to the immigrant and refugee population in Portland, as well as its connections to other social justice organizations in the area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

I am a high schooler interested in social justice and public policy. Volunteering for CIO allowed me to reach out and help my community in fun and interesting ways. It was an incredible experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
March 18, 2011

As a person who believes in a multicultural society that benefits and includes all, I have found the Center for Intercultural Organizing to be a place where I can act on that belief. As a US-born American, I feel it is my job to help welcome the newcomers to the United States by ensuring our laws, policies and community are fair and just. The CIO gives allies like me ways in which we can be effective in advocating for justice. Through trainings like Refugee and Immigrant Solidarity Education (RISE), I learned the issues and challenges immigrants face and was able to put this information into change through activites at CIO. I recommend everyone in Oregon who cares about racial equity and immigrant rights to join this organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being part of a cadre of allies trained through workshops to make a difference in the lives of our newest neighbors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Endow it with funds to sustain CIO for the long haul.

February 28, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2011

I love this place , the CIO. We need more people and groups who actually care about the little guy or gal no matter what they do or where they're from. People who volunteer for CIO are sincerely trying to make the world a better place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching the Somali Youth Organization flower is rewarding because of their newfound involvement and empowerment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them get higher visibility on local TV and encourage more resources for acquiring jobs.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers