Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.877195
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

I am inturning at the Center for Intercultural Organizing this summer, and so far I've had an amazing experience. I have been apart of so many projects and feel like I've really done good. I have helped raise money and awareness for projects that are important, I have done bill research, I have registered voters, and I have organized events. All of it was a pleasure to do, and I felt that I was making a real difference. It doesn't take long to see how hard everyone there works, and how much they all care. Everyone who is there genuinely wants to be there. The whole environnent is one of productivity, creativity, and friendship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

As student want to learn about becoming a leader in community. Ran across many organization and to reach my goal. Most had plan that did not fit me and saw they had different goal. but i had to look back in 5th grade and remember a person name by Kayse Jama that was help Somali youth in Portland through summer camp so many of stay out trouble and help remember what we learn in school. His start pop out by how is a good guy. and ran to someone that was start nonprofit to help Somali youth in Oregon to become leaders in the community so i went some of the meeting and start to get involve. That we was getting help by center for intercultural Organizing with advice and how to run a great non profit and giving us a space to hold our meeting and much more. Help our first fundraising event. so i was like people are life savers and then i want to do more in social Justice and i tag on with them on there lobbying day and alot about my rights and saw how that we need to do more in social justice and i volunteer and sign up for (Pilot) - Pan- Immigrant Leadership and Organizing Training and become graduate of 2011-2012 programs and Oregon is growing with immigrant and center for intercultural organizing is helping change to share voice of rights and social Justice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

I really enjoy working at CIO because I feel that I am able to apply my theoretical knowledge and education in an meaningful way, impacting individuals and groups who need support and advocacy. I am amazed at CIO's connectivity to the immigrant and refugee population in Portland, as well as its connections to other social justice organizations in the area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

I am a high schooler interested in social justice and public policy. Volunteering for CIO allowed me to reach out and help my community in fun and interesting ways. It was an incredible experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

Since August 2008, I have been committed to working for the Latino community in Multnomah County. I feel that I am a professional advocate for my clients and I am able to understand their needs and struggles as they try to raise their children well. I often empathize with their young daughters as we share in feelings of vulnerability often experienced by young women, particularly during puberty, adolescence, and youth. I believe it is very important to help create connections between parents and their children so that parents can understand and help their sons and daughters. For me, the most important part of my work is supporting parents as they help their children achieve success despite the many obstacles they face.
I also identify as a student, and I always will because I believe that knowledge is what makes us who we are and what helps us succeed in the workplace. Through continued education and professional research, we can help one another reach our goals and objectives. I believe it is very important to share my knowledge when clients ask me something because it is never too late to learn. I invite them to share their knowledge with me as classmates.
I also identify as a teacher, particularly when teaching my clients new life skills. I love my work because my clients not only receive information, but learn different ways to use educational tools. Over time, these skills will help them in various situations so that they are able to take advantage of opportunities and be successful academically and professionally in our competitive society. It is important for me to remember the importance of education, which helps us achieve our goals.
As a parent and social worker, my goal is to help, advocate for, and educate our Latino community; in addition, I offer them a number of tools that they can use as they navigate the American education system. Working toward improvement for my clients and engaging our community is of the utmost importance to me in my career. We search for and find leaders that actively work to be present in our schools as volunteers, doing whatever is requested of them to better serve our community.
My work is greatly enriched by the simple fact that I work with the Latino community. I work hard to make a big impact within our society and offer intellectual, emotional, and psychological support in the workshops I lead. It is important that parents and students truly grasp the concepts we discuss so they can practice them in their daily interactions. One of my favorite phrases is “Querer es Poder,” which means “desire is power”. I have implemented this philosophy into my everyday life and I believe that if you want something, you can look for ways to achieve your goals in ways that are not harmful but rather build up others. I am on a mission to seek paths of success for my clients. I trust myself and my internal compass, express my feelings, and continue to seek help and knowledge to realize my own goals. I continue to desire and fight for the success of myself and others.


Sara V. Garcia Gonzalez

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered to this organization, participated in programs it has lead, and have been to its community events. The Center for Intercultural Organizing is a place where people who have left their home country feel at home. This organization puts every dollar it gets to help the community it represents and its partners. It has been in the forefront in getting the immigrant and refugee community visible and involved in the greater community. Unlike most organization in this field CIO doesn't represent one ethnic group, it represents every immigrant/refugee. It helps those who comes in and who need it. CIO also doesn't pay a whole lot to overhead like some other organizations. So a donation to them really goes to help the community that often goes unrepresented and silenced.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2011

more

July 17, 2011

CIO advocates powerfully and effectively for communities of color in Oregon. It has been very effective in bringing the needs of people forward in Beaverton - which has continued a discourse of tokenistic and paternal responses to issues of institutional racis. A powerful, accountable and poignant voice for a wide array of community members.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The advocacy voice they had with the Somali community after the enticed bombing plot in Portland. The advocacy activities of the organization in advancing the Tuition Equity bill.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more stable funding!

July 15, 2011

more

July 15, 2011

The Center for Intercultural Organizing is the only group I know that is consciously working for the integration of all ethnic diversity in the community. It provides a model of what an inclusive society looks like when diversity takes the lead. There are many organizations that seek to "help" various groups assimilate and integrate on the terms of the mainstream society - and there are organizations who help newcomers, whatever their background, to get settled in their new home. But CIO is the one that's trying to actually break down the civic barriers that exist so we can all be in the same room together - without diluting our identities.

I've been trying to work with CIO since the director and his wife founded the Community Language and Culture Bank in the early part of this century. Their multicultural festival in the park to reframe the dialogue after Sept 11 was a major achievement.

Over the years, we have had cause to come together, and I anticipate, with my organization People-Places-Things to work with them by doing direct service organizing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the effectiveness of their legislative campaigns, their workshops, and the personal interactions with their staff and and the graduates of their pilot program. They've also let us use their office for events I've held with other groups.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve internal/external communication!

July 14, 2011

more

July 14, 2011

This nonprofit started with an idea after 9/11. How do immigrants integrate into our community for the positive. I have watched CIO mature into a wonderful organization for immigrants, helping them to become confident, needed, and understood. It gives them a place where they can feel welcomed, helped, and gives them the confidence and training to go out into their communities to serve others. It is quite a unique organization. It is one that I can totally support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have attended many events at CIO. Their last fund raising/celebration event was truly wonderful. There were some 450+ people in attendance from many countries, ethnicities, faiths, and educational backgrounds. I said to myself, "This is the way the world should be". Everyone was sharing in conversation, eating together, being entertained, and giving to an organization in which we all believe deeply.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know what changes I would make. From what I have seen, it functions pretty well as an organization. I am sure like with any organization, there are times folks bump heads, but they all seem to work it out. I don't live close enough to see their day-to-day dealings.

March 20, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
March 20, 2011

I came here as a refugee and wanted to make a difference for my community that was suffering from poverty, isolation and war trauma. In the CIO, I found the training that has helped me not only help my community but connect to leaders of other immigrant and refugee communities and also people of color in the United States. The skills I learned are so valuable, but the relationships are even more. Thank you, CIO!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Graduate of the Pan Immigrant Leadership and Organizing Training (PILOT) Program

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the donors and supporters

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers