Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.877195
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Center for Intercultural Organizing (CIO) builds capacity within immigrant and refugee communities so that they may begin to get involved in the civic life of our City. This involvement connects the new-comer to her/his new home and helps to create a feeling of belonging, reducing isolation. It also brings new, creative voices to local government processes resulting in sounder investments and better outcomes for all. CIO does a fantastic job of this with very limited resources. Portland is a much better City for the work of CIO and the involvement of the community leaders it supports!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...give it better funding

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

CIO president and staff go beyond just meeting people; they learn their story, connect and support them in anyway they can. As an organizer I try to net work with as many organizations as I can to make sure people are getting help when they needed. Net working with CIO is one of the best rewards I have as an organizer. CIO made me realized that when you see and treat people as your own family member regardless their immigration status, religion or the Country they come from is when you really start building real communities.

CIO really believes and works to make sure Justice is for all!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

CIO is an organization filled with people who wear hearts on their sleeves. Everyone I had a pleasure to meet, is commited to serve and help where the help is needed most, actively looking for creative ways and programs to make the most impact. CIO provides immigrants and refugees with necessary tools to make significant changes in their lives but it also emphasizes the great role we play in receiving them in our communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to reach wider range of people

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Center for Intercultural Organizing is among the leading edge of organizations in Portland, Oregon, doing multiracial, multiethnic, multilingual organizing that incorporates cultural work and creative expression with the hard-nosed strategic thinking to raise the power of immigrant and refugee voices for racial and economic justice. I LOVE CIO!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

CIO is an amazing Non-profit. They make leaders out of everyone; people of different races, sexual orientation, beliefs, backgrounds and many others. These communities are the ones that I can call Centre for Intercultural Organizing because power is so completely handed over to the people. I have communities standing up and working with the Counties, City Councils and others just to see to it there is human dignity in development around Oregon. Their members are all-over working hard to bring change to society and thanks to their capacity building approach which exposes communities to leadership and advocating. My organisation will implement their leadership approach in my country, Malawi (in Southern Africa) when I return in December this year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would encourage community leaders to be meeting quarterly and plan on their quarterly engagements and these leaders to also establish community centres where they can meet periodically to brainstorm ideas and how to progress.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 12, 2012

CIO is one of the most awesome organization in the NW. The mission is about intercultural organizing. Something that is unique within itself. They bring together immigrant and refugee communities to e... more

October 4, 2013

CIO, the hub for people from all over the world to come together to elevate and empower our communities, through leadership development, advocacy, and grassroots organizing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2012

CIO is one of the most awesome organization in the NW. The mission is about intercultural organizing. Something that is unique within itself. They bring together immigrant and refugee communities to empower them, give them a voice in their community, and develop as leaders. On top of that, they have the most dedicated staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

The Center for Intercultural Organizing (CIO) is an amazing organization that touches the lives of immigrants and refugees. The close-knit intercultural relationships created and fostered through this organization by bringing together so many different cultures (many with long-time historical conflicts) are creating long-term change locally and state-wide; creating a positive ripple effect for American born residents, and maybe even worldwide. According to the National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy, every dollar invested in CIO's advocacy, organizing and civic engagement garnered $150 in benefits for their communities. You can read it for yourself here: http://www.ncrp.org/files/publications/GCIP-NW_Report_low_res.pdf

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

Center for Intercultural Organizing ( CIO) has been working with with the Immigrant and refugee communities ( IR)in Oregon to empower and build a multi-ethnic/racial movement. for the last three years I have know CIO since the work in Washington County in Oregon started. CIO had reached out to all the IR communities to invite them to the Beaverton CIty Hall, in order to build a strong representation for IR and people of color in civic life in the City. Now in Beaverton there are IR leaders that are parts of boards and commissions because of the training and the advocacy work that CIO had done to engage the IR leaders . I'm honored that to be a part of such and organization that not only work with the communities for building capacity. But the policy work on state, Counties and Cities level to review and recommend inclusive policies for all Oregonians in Oregon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

As an original co-founder of the Center for Intercultural Organizing in 2003, I can attest to its ability to make a significant contribution to the lives of immigrants, refugees, people of color, and Oregonians over time. Its leadership development program, policy advocacy campaigns, educational forums, and community organizing and mobilization efforts have increased the visibility of newcomers to the Northwest and made real strides toward equity for newcomer communities. I invite all immigrants, refugees, people of color and allies to join this important movement for justice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

When I first came to CIO, I met highly diverse group of people. I was new to Portland, and Cio gve me both a course and orientatin to the city.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers