Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.877195
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

CIO is committed to creating a more just and equitable communities in the Portland area. The staff is exceptionally smart, committed, and forward thinking. They are especially concerned about making sure those who are traditionally excluded from city/county policy making (i.e., immigrants, people of color) have a voice at the table.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

figure out a way to bring more resources, so that more staff could be hired.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been watching and witnessing the birth, growth and important anchoring leadership of Center for Intercultural Organizing (CIO), not only in specific immigrant communities, but in the larger communities of Portland and Oregon. The organization's careful and deliberate work has ensured that the voices of immigrants were heard at all levels of government, within social services settings, and in the places that policy and procedures are developed. They bring a strong, unified and powerful voice for immigrant communities and, as a result, we are all better informed and able to understand the plight of immigrants from all countries. CIO does not stop with only raising the issues of inequality, lack of cultural competence among providers, or what's lacking, they bring trained and skilled constituents with skills, abilities, talents and dreams, as newly-arrived residents of our city, counties, and state, who have much to contribute to the larger community.

CIO has made its compelling presence known through the state, has been particularly adept at moving their leadership effectively in a number of circles, local government, at the city and county level, and in working collaboratively to achieve major successes in our Legislature. CIO has also ensure that its membership is diverse and representative of immigrant communities in ways that heretofore have not proven successful.

The organization's model encourages members to come together regularly, to develop their strengths, and cultivates diverse leadership that pushes other organizations to recognize the power and benefit of more diverse representation on issues that affect all of us - whether housing affordability and quality, school improvements and teacher humility and cultural competence. CIO doesn't preach, it shows the stories of individual lives before us, and allows communities within its organization to hold their uniqueness whiile working for collective benefit.

CIO is a strategic, well focused organization that has strong leadership connections and credible relationships throughout the larger community, starting with its constituentis. This is an effective and important point to ensure effective organizing and mobilizing among members and to engage supporters in solidarity ith them - on immigration reform, school reform and quality education for all, housing, health issues, economic opportunity and equity, among others.

It has been my pleasure to watch them grow while staying rooted to their original principles of equal access, justice, diversity and equity to the immigrant voices that emerge in their own organization as well as with those they interact with.

CIO is one of the best examples of a grassroots organization that has not forgotten its roots, but has built the core components needed for long-term success: bringing leadership up from within, setting a vision and mission and not wavering, having enviable results that bring real return on investment, and increasing the diversity of voices that speak in Oregon, and for all of us.

It has been and continues to be my pleasure, as a funder, a community resident and as a social justice leader to wholeheartedly support CIO; one of the best at doing what they do and delivering real change for their communities and mine.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help create numerous satellite CIO's to ensure their presence and work encompasses all of Oregon. I'm sure they've heard that repeatedly, but it worth considering, or supporting them in developing more sites, one by one, by one, by one....

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I am a new member of the Pan-immigrant Leadership and Organizing Training at CIO. Therefore, I have had the opportunity to witness the great work CIO does to support and empower multi-ethnic communities. CIO provides an space to meet people from all over the world to join efforts to fight against injustice and social change. I don't feel alone anymore!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I am currently in the PILOT program through CIO. I have met many people from all over the world, and everyone is so inspiring. I truly appreciate the work the CIO does, and the PILOT program is a great way to train tomorrow's leaders. The staff, volunteers, and participants are all warm and welcoming. We may all have different stories and journeys, but in the end we all have the same vision.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I witnessed the development of the Center for Intercultural Organizing from seed to the thriving organization it is today. I myself am an immigrant and the challenges facing this population are close to my heart. The sense of loneliness, isolation and discouragement are real. There are very few venues for the immigrant and refugee to deal with the confusion and anxiety created by the clash with a foreign culture. CIO offers a space where multilingual and multicultural people are learning and engaging in their communal challenges. CIO believes that the people most affected by an issue should be the individuals and communities leading and advocating for solutions.
CIO is the catalyst of changes for these individuals from helplessness and confusion to integration and leadership in the struggle for social economic justice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CIO has discovered a unique mode of multicultural integration that could be useful for so many other organizations. I think these knowledge needs to be harnessed in a method that can be made available for others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

CIO has shown me how a multicultural community can come together and for each others causes. They are a safe place for dialogue and education between communities

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more funding available to expand the program

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I had the chance to participate in the PILOT training program conducted by the Center for Intercultural Organizing (CIO). During the training I noticed how the CIO staff members were very professional, well trained, organized, and committed. Moreover, I was amazed how the CIO successfully represents the diverse community, were members from various backgrounds and ethnicities embraced to form a strong non-profit organization that advocate the rights of immigrants and refugees.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

Center for Intercultural Organizing ( CIO) has been working with the Immigrant and refugee communities to empower and build a multi-ethnic/racial movement. I'm honored and proud to be a part of such and organization that not only work with the communities for building capacity. But the policy work on state, Counties and Cities level to review and recommend inclusive policies for all Oregonians.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would implement and restructure some programs such as ESL, Citizenship class, workforce, help with resume and etc. to better serve it community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I've just joined the PILOT program of CIO and had our FIRST RETREAT for 2 days and a half. Learned a lot about things that I never imagine. The freedom of speech as a tool to inform and educate people in order to have a consensus to find solutions for different public and social issues. Yes, I loved it and will continue learning to help and be part of the solutions!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think its too early for me to do this now, but hopefully will know in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Review by Tom Potter:
The Center for Intercultural Organizing has been providing services to Oregon's refugees, immigrants and communities of color for the last ten years. Their strength lies in bringing together different communities and providing them with the tools to expand their internal
leadership, build community capacity, and influence public policies that effect their communities.
As Mayor of Portland from 2005-2009, I had the opportunity to work with the CIO and watch them interact with Portland's various communities to empower and engage them in making government work for them. Their efforts have made the Portland Metro area and our state of Oregon a better place for everyone, especially our recent arrivals and the communities of color. These groups have not always been part of the governance process and it is heart-warming to see the transition with individuals who were formerly afraid of government to come forward and work with government to improve the lives of their families and communities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers