Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.984625
Write A Review
November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 28, 2013

I have been visiting the center for several years at their annual member open-houses. It is one of the most moving, wondrful places I have encountered for rescued animals. Their level of care and comp... more

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been visiting The Center for about five years. Each time I visit I feel like I am going home to visit old friends. It is a fabulous sanctuary. The ape lives' they have saved, the stories. I promise, if you visit, you will be moved to tears. But its all good. The apes have forever, wonderful homes with wonderful volunteers caring for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been visiting the center for several years at their annual member open-houses. It is one of the most moving, wondrful places I have encountered for rescued animals. Their level of care and compassion for the chimps and orangatangs is amazing.The stories of these animals is most heart-renching. But, when you are able to look into their eyes and know that they have finally found a safe haven, it gives one hope. It is truly an amazing place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

can't think of one

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

After volunteering for several years at the Center for Orangutan & Chimpanzee Conservation (aka Center for Great Apes; CGA) I was elected to the board. What an incredible group of selfless people. T... more

October 18, 2013

The Center for Great Apes is truly a sanctuary....not open to the public (although they have a robust education/intern program & are open to visits from school/university/church/senior groups), does not breed or sell great apes, provides large living spaces, good nutrition and enrichment. This past summer there was a critical health issue with one of the adult male orangutans and 24 hour care was required to ensure his post surgical recovery - this went on for many weeks. The volunteers who drove many miles and stayed for hours on end at his side are a testament to the compassion the Center inspires. Patti Ragan, the founder and executive director walks the walk and spent most nights in the clinic just outside the orangutan's enclosure. Thankfully, the orangutan is doing well and is expected to make a full recovery. I am honored to serve on the Center's board and look forward to many years of service to a truly worthwhile organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase our donor base to provide more funds for operations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After volunteering for several years at the Center for Orangutan & Chimpanzee Conservation (aka Center for Great Apes; CGA) I was elected to the board. What an incredible group of selfless people. The apes are always first -- donations are put to work immediately in improving the lives of our residents, many of whom have come from abusive situations. It is heartwarming to watch the apes blossom from cowed and cowardly apes into proud & loud orangutans & chimpanzees! While not open to the public (it really is a sanctuary), those who join at www.centerforgreatapes.org may come to see the apes twice a year at Member Events. And the apes remember our visitors from year to year & greet returning friends with pant hoots & long calls of joy!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I was totally amazed when I visited the Center for Great Apes two years ago. The facilities for these animals, which mostly did not have happy lives before going there, are incredible. They have space to play, get to know each other, and walk around to explore. Some arrived in terrible condition, but they were nurtured and nursed back to health and happiness. Patti Ragan, her staff, and their volunteers are to be commended for their steadfast efforts to make the lives of these primates the best they can possibly be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase donations so they could continue to enlarge their facilities and take on new primates.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Wow! When I was invited to visit the Center I knew I was in for a special day but my expectations were far exceeded. As an animal lover I was excited to see beautiful creatures in a loving environment. It is a home filled with boundless love, heartfelt care, the sincere effort in keeping the animals interested and entertained while maintaining the health and safety of all involved, animals and humans alike. Volunteering here is a privilege and an honor. Supporting the Center for Great Apes is a act of love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Amazing group! Animals are we all and life is an art form. These understand this and live it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Great organization comprising of a wonderful group of individuals that try their best to rescue primates and ensure that they have a happy and fulfilling life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Simply reading of the dedication of so many professionals and volunteers, ( especially in the recent health emergencies, and long recovery time of BamBam ), tells me that the Center For Great Apes is well deserving of a title of "A Great Non- Profit Charity".
I only wish, that those destroying
the lives and habitats of these magnificent creatures, would suddenly realise how much damage they are doing to every one's future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it Government funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

I have visited Center Fro Great Apes numerous times. The habitats for the animals are amazing. The animals appear to be very happy and healthy. It is obvious that the needs of the animals comes first. As a guide takes you around to see the animals they educate the guests on the plight of these animals both in the wild and in captivity. They show you ways that you can help. To sum it up this is a wonderful sanctuary that is promoting conservation as well as compassion for animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

Spent a day volunteering and signed up to receive emails after. The mission fills a gap in the non-profit community. The facilities are wonderful; they provide a beautiful home with lots of space for the great apes and continue to build. On top of it they are efficient with volunteers and make sure they communicate with them so awareness for their cause continues to spread. I'm always impressed with their monthly newsletters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

I was lucky enough to spend a day volunteering on the grounds with Animal Warriors recently.
I was very impressed with the dedication of volunteers and staff, as well as by the amazing enclosures, their safety procedures, and amazing care of the apes.

This organization is wonderful and
I follow then on Facebook, watching their enrichment and celebration of the apes in their care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

-

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Locally, member volunteers: cut browse, make enrichment activities, serve at our two annual member open house events, provide office support and do gardening. National volunteers: raise funds, raise awareness, send "wish list" items and help make connections with people who are interested in the plight of captive great apes. Volunteer