Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.755
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I volunteered to pack meals for the CFA. The mission of this organization is top notch and they help many many people in NJ. However, staff of the organization have yet to understand the potential value of a volunteer. One bad volunteer experience is a loss of a potential donor for an organization. I had a bad experience with executive staff during my first volunteering and it turned me (and my future donor dollars) off entirely. I was not alone in my assessment, I got the same feedback on the volunteering experience from several people that day. Rude, dismissive, unfriendly. Opportunity lost for the CFA.
September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

The Center for Food Action has always been on the front lines combating hunger and homelessness in our local communities. CFA provides nutritious emergency food packages, rent and utility assistance, counseling and advocacy to many of our hard working neighbors who have fallen on hard times and may not qualify for other services. Our wonderful CFA staff members treat clients with dignity and respect and our volunteers provide countless hours of essential community service. They work day in and out to make a difference in the lives of thousands of people each year. CFA has also been in the forefront of helping those in our community who remain affected by Super Storm Sandy. They have coordinated with several other local charities to make sure these people continue to receive the help they need. I am very proud to sit on the Board of Directors at CFA and encourage everyone to go out and make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to encourage everyone I know to get involved with CFA. If everyone does just a little, it will make a world of good.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2013

more

August 17, 2013

The Center for Food Action is, and has been for many years, providing vital food and other services to the communities of Bergen County, New Jersey. CFA's work is both practical and compassionate, and improves the quality of life for all in our communities.
We have been active supporters - as
volunteers, contributors, and Board members - for the past 25 years. It has been a wonderful experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I love what CFA is doing for the community - keep up the good work guys!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

Center for Food Action is a non profit that helps NJ families. The organization provides food and other basic needs during difficult times. The people who run and work for CFA are devoted to this organization. They have years of experience knowing how to reach the people who need their help the most. They have tremendous respect for their clients and have a large group of long–term volunteers who continue to work for CFA because they see the good it does and how grateful the recipients are. I am proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2013

more

August 1, 2013

In the 30 plus years that I've supported the Center in Mahwah, I've learned that even more important than the outstanding efficiency and integrity of the people who run CFA is the dignity accorded to the people they serve. There is a seamless flow from donor to recipient, and all are treated with respect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

This is a fantastic organization run by a hard working and caring group. I really enjoy helping give back through this program. They help a very large amount of people and their contribution is immeasurable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them get the word out about CFA to help promote donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

CFA provides food packages for people that are struggling to make ends meet. Every year, demand increases, but somehow CFA manages to service ever increasing numbers. I can't imagine anything better than helping a mother feed her family or helping a senior get nutritious food. CFA provides a critical service to our area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them more funding!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

We are so lucky to have the Center for Food Action helping so many in our community. My organization, Companion Animal Advocates, provides monthly pet food deliveries to the CFA in Mahwah and Saddle Brook.

They are consistently a pleasure to work with - great partners. Their staff and
volunteers are always happy to see us and know that by helping their client's pets, we are also helping their clients.

Keep up the good work CFA!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more money so they can help more people

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

I am the director of a subsidized housing apartment building in Paterson, for low-income seniors. CFA has come twice to visit us, bringing wonderful fresh produce to our tenants. The volunteers are extremely helpful and hard-working, the organization is organized and efficient and the produce is top-notch! The tenants are all thrilled to hear they are coming and enjoy nutritious meals for days.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add fresh fruits.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Organize a food drive at their school, place of worship or work, to collect the much-needed food items that will improve the lives of their neighbors in need. Volunteer