Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.947375
Write A Review
September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Center for Faith Justice is an outstanding organization which provides opportunities to experience authentic encounters in serving others. This is my third summer working as an adult volunteer. I drove middle school aged students to, and helped them at various work sites. (I have participated for one week each summer.)

Each week we spend our mornings fully engaged in working at one of 4 or 5 different locations serving others. For example, one morning we may go to a nursing home talking, playing games or doing crafts with aged people. Another we serve at a day camp for underprivileged students (K-8), or a pre-K program. Another we might serve at a home for disabled adults, a food bank, or weed a co-op garden which donates to local food banks. As a volunteer, I get to experience the same. Seeing young middle school students getting the feeling of what it is like to help others who are in need is quite satisfying.

In the afternoons, the students learn about the value of their morning experiences through intellectual and kinesthetic learning activities based on well designed lesson plans. As a Christian, I am able to participate in the most important of human endeavors. That is, in helping others.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

The Center for FaithJustice continues to inspire young and old to service and social justice. This small organization has profoundly impacted and changed my life. They are more than just a nonprofit organization, but rather, are a community of committed individuals dedicated to making the world a better place. I can't be more proud to be a part of this amazing community.
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

The Center for FaithJustice is a caring, passionate, and enjoyable organization and staff. As part of their LeaderWorX staff, I grew closer to God, my fellow staff members, the community, understanding of solidarity and encounter, and was able to meet some incredible teen and middle schoolers. I would highly suggest that if you have an opportunity to go on a retreat, volunteer, or be on the LeaderWorX staff...take it! It was definitely one of the best summers of my life, and there are many times I wished I lived closer to be apart of such a vibrant and amazing community!
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

CFJ undertakes a bold task in its mission to educate students about both faith and justice and far exceeded all expectations I had for a summer mission trip.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

The Center for FaithJustice is determined to plant the message of the Gospel by word and action into the hearts, minds, and souls of young people.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

I participated as a volunteer for LeaderworX while in college and had an amazing experience! The CFJ creates amazing opportunities for people to fellowship and engage issues of social justice. They provided me with the tools to educate younger students while learning myself. Everyone should know and recognize this nonprofit organization!
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I was a member of LeaderworX in the summer of 2013 and I came back for a week in the summer of 2014. The sense of community that is built is amazing, that is the only word for it. Every summer, the LeaderworX community is welcomed by CFJ staff members and volunteers and by the end of the summer, no one wants to go home back to real life. We all became very close and I believe that is because CFJ does a great job of providing a fun and safe space to live (the Casa) and also opportunities for us to serve together and build relationships. I want to do LeaderworX every summer.
On the other end, CFJ also does a great job with their programs run by LeaderworX, JusticeworX and ServiceworX. Every week with different kids always has the same result, close-knit groups, inside jokes, loving relationships, and most importantly, an experience based on social justice and service. We give the kids every opportunity to get fired up about social justice and the tools they need to continue service. I also love how many groups come back every year.
In short, CFJ is a unique organization that fills a need in the community for social justice and service opportunities. Secondly, the people they choose to lead these opportunities (LeaderworX) have a great time and build lasting memories and relationships.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I'm a Leaderworx 2014 alum, and the Center for FaithJustice is truly an amazing organization! I cannot put into words how grateful I am for this past summer. I have grown in my own faith, and watched middle school and high school students grow in their faith and love of service. An amazing organization!
September 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 8, 2012

We live in very trying times. So many people around the world are struggling to survive: the poor, the marginalized, the elderly, the disabled, the politically oppressed. These people cry out for just... more

September 11, 2014

The Center for FaithJustice describes its programming as "transformative". After volunteering as an adult chaperone this summer on a week-long service immersion trip to West Virginia I can say that I, the other adults, and the high school students were transformed by the experience. It is one thing to be of service to the poor and marginalized. It is another to be in dialogue with them, to eat with them, to share each other's life experiences. That creates a true sense of solidarity. Yes I was transformed for the better thanks to CFJ!
June 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We live in very trying times. So many people around the world are struggling to survive: the poor, the marginalized, the elderly, the disabled, the politically oppressed. These people cry out for justice. Who will hear them?
People of faith are called upon to love one another and serve one
another. People of faith are called upon to promote justice in a world where we see injustice all around us.
This is a lesson that we all must learn. Our young people are our hope and our future. We must pass on this legacy to our young people before it is too late; the legacy is a simple but profound truth of all people of faith: there can be no faith without justice; the two are inextricably linked.
The Center for FaithJustice has made it its mission to bring young people to an understanding of this truth by offering young people opportunities to integrate a deeper understanding of their faith as Catholic Christians with experiences of community service and social justice. Whether in hospices, nursing homes, soup kitchens, community construction projects, mentoring other young people, or in countless other service settings, the Center for FaithJustice brings young people to a deeper understanding and desire to embrace the gospel message to love and serve one another. I have seen first-hand the profound impact that these programs have on young people and how the Center is able to change the lives of young people for their good and the good of all.
The Center for FaithJustice has had an impact on my own life and I am blessed to have been touched by their wonderful ministry and am grateful for the opportunity to, in my own modest way, give something back in return. There are so many ways to become involved in the work of the Center for FaithJustice. Learn more about them at: http://www.faithjustice.org. Tom Bartolomei, Hamilton NJ.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I did the Leaderworx program for the summer of 2012, and it was the best summer of my life!!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers