Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.947375
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 8, 2012

We live in very trying times. So many people around the world are struggling to survive: the poor, the marginalized, the elderly, the disabled, the politically oppressed. These people cry out for just... more

September 11, 2014

The Center for FaithJustice describes its programming as "transformative". After volunteering as an adult chaperone this summer on a week-long service immersion trip to West Virginia I can say that I, the other adults, and the high school students were transformed by the experience. It is one thing to be of service to the poor and marginalized. It is another to be in dialogue with them, to eat with them, to share each other's life experiences. That creates a true sense of solidarity. Yes I was transformed for the better thanks to CFJ!
June 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We live in very trying times. So many people around the world are struggling to survive: the poor, the marginalized, the elderly, the disabled, the politically oppressed. These people cry out for justice. Who will hear them?
People of faith are called upon to love one another and serve one
another. People of faith are called upon to promote justice in a world where we see injustice all around us.
This is a lesson that we all must learn. Our young people are our hope and our future. We must pass on this legacy to our young people before it is too late; the legacy is a simple but profound truth of all people of faith: there can be no faith without justice; the two are inextricably linked.
The Center for FaithJustice has made it its mission to bring young people to an understanding of this truth by offering young people opportunities to integrate a deeper understanding of their faith as Catholic Christians with experiences of community service and social justice. Whether in hospices, nursing homes, soup kitchens, community construction projects, mentoring other young people, or in countless other service settings, the Center for FaithJustice brings young people to a deeper understanding and desire to embrace the gospel message to love and serve one another. I have seen first-hand the profound impact that these programs have on young people and how the Center is able to change the lives of young people for their good and the good of all.
The Center for FaithJustice has had an impact on my own life and I am blessed to have been touched by their wonderful ministry and am grateful for the opportunity to, in my own modest way, give something back in return. There are so many ways to become involved in the work of the Center for FaithJustice. Learn more about them at: http://www.faithjustice.org. Tom Bartolomei, Hamilton NJ.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I did the Leaderworx program for the summer of 2012, and it was the best summer of my life!!
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

This organization educates middle school and high school students about global social justice issues through service-immersion trips. The trips have been life-changing for students (I was once one of them) because their service experiences are rooted in the importance of relationship, social change, and God. I loved working with the Center for Faithjustice! They were organized, spirited, and always looking for new opportunities to grow and evolve.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I was first introduced to the Center for FaithJustice as a participant on an alternative spring break trip through my college. I absolutely fell in love with the Center's mission and its dedication to the intersection between faith and social justice. I heard about the LeaderworX program on that spring break trip and returned that summer to be a part of the 2013 LeaderworX Community where I helped to run the JusticeworX and ServiceworX weeks. My experience as a LeaderworX member challenged me in all of the best ways and showed me how much I love service and community. It was that experience that confirmed that I wanted to do a year of service following college and I am currently in my first month as a Lutheran Volunteer Corps (LVC) member. I can honestly say that the Center for FaithJustice changed my life and it will always be an integral part of my faith and service journey. Another aspect of CFJ that really touched me were the middle and high schoolers I got to meet while leading the JusticeworX and ServiceworX trips. It is amazing to see young people so dedicated to faith and service and I learned a lot from their devotion to helping their communities. CFJ is an amazing organization and I am so blessed to be a part of it :)
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

2004 was the first time I stepped through the doors of what then was called New Jersey Service Project. That week changed my life and allowed me to find my passion for serving others. I was a participant in JusticeworX for three years before I became a volunteer counselor for a few years, eventually being hired by The Center for FaithJustice to help run the programs. The Center for FaithJustice has shaped me in to who I am today and I am so honored to now watch my students experience the wonderful trips that I was able to go on at their age.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

The Center For FaithJustice believes strongly in the importance of social justice. It's dedicated staff and volunteers work in a dedicated and constant fashion which allows hundreds of people each year to learn about social justice as well partake in hands on serving experience in a variety of settings. CFJ works to educate and empower people about social justice issues so they may be active and helpful members in their community and this world.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I participated in LeaderworX during the summer of 2010. I was very impressed by their mission and by the programs they offer young people.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

Excellent organization with a powerful mission & equally powerful experiences of cultural immersion & faith in action!
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I am the Social Action coordinator for a Catholic High School in Central Jersey. I had the privilege this year to participate with my students at a JusticeworX site in West Virigina run by The Center of Faith Justice. The enthusiasm, care and concern of the staff for the volunteers and those who are assisted creates memories for those involved to carry with them forever. Wonderful job every time!
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I am a retired educator and a CCD teacher at Nativity of Our Lord Church in Monroe Twp., NJ. As an 8th instructor, our students need reminders about serving those less fortunate and three years ago, while looking for some different "mission" programs to share with them, I came across The Center for FaithJustice. I was immediately smitten! So much so, that I approached my parish priest and asked him if he would approve and endorse the programs in our church and i would supervise them. He immediately complied as he was familiar with the organization through another parish. Two summers ago, we had our first SERVICEWORX program with 24 middles schoolers participating and we sent five high schoolers on two different JUSTICEWORX programs to Trenton and Appalachia. This past summer, we hosted a second SERVICEWORX mission week at our parish and we sent four high schoolers off for a week in Trenton. Our experience with The Center for FaithJustice has been wonderful. They are always available, always present, supportive and helpful. They are kind and fair and work with all aspects of the programs. They are always available for parent meetings, phone calls, emails, etc. Their programs are educational, yet provide the necessary channels for all students involved to walk away with important and valuable tools to strengthen their faith. Although this is the most expensive program around, it is by far the best. You get what you pay for!!! Please feel free to contact me.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers