Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 1, 2013

I been volunteering with CEP for their free tax sites around Chicagoland. Their service, training to volunteers and helping low income families to get their taxes done are awesome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

The Center for Economic Progress is fabulous! The staff is dedicated to their mission and is thoughtful, respectful and conscientious toward one another, the volunteers and most importantly the clients that receive their services. I learned how to prepare taxes, a skill I thought I’d never learn. I would highly encourage anyone to volunteer; no tax experience is necessary!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

CEP's tax project is a great program that helps low income families get tax assistance - it's an extremely rewarding volunteer experience in that you can see the impact that your time has on the families that you're working with. The folks running the program believe in their mission and are passionate about their roles. As a whole, clients are very appreciative of the service and are a pleasure to work with. The other volunteers and staff are incredible and strive to make sure every volunteer has a positive experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

Great volunteer experience. I was trained in very little time to be proficient in tax software and knowledge of tax refunds and deductions, as a hither fore tax-illiterate person myself. Not only did I feel empowered to help others get money back that they needed, but I also felt far more tax literate myself. It's a great project to be a part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

i'm a volunteer here. We help individuals and families who work hard and have low income. It's my pleasure to work for them. And the CEP provide almost everything they can to help those people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2012

more

March 11, 2012

The Center for Economic Progress provides real solutions to helping families achieve financial security through both their tax clinics and opportunities to promote financial literacy. The organization gives opportunities for volunteers to get involved and really make a difference through direct interaction and tax prep in the communities they serve. The staff is passionate and works hard to provide a meaningful experience for all involved in the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012

more

March 8, 2012

From my experience with CEP, I've encountered some of the most passionate, driven people in any industry. The organization has such tangible and effective impact that rivals few. They understand the importance of keeping track of their efforts so that they can properly communicate their message to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012

more

March 8, 2012

I learned so much volunteering as a tax preparer, and it was a really great experience to talk with clients and help them directly. I would recommend the volunteer experience to others that are interested in making an impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 24, 2011

To know this organization is to rate it five stars. The dedication of the poeple who make the Center the successful is due to sharing the vision and the staff truly cares.

CEP provides services and information that community members otherwise could miss like opportunitiies banking, savings
accounts and money management.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I started to volunteer after having my taxes filed at the Center. I was able to inform others about CEP through my personal, positive, experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Year after year, the Center has proven to have great impact, and makes changes when and where necessary. Just keep doing what you are doing!

February 11, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 11, 2011

I love that this organization puts money back into the hands of low income families. Preparing income taxes for these families gives me tremendous satisfaction, and a greater insight into the lives of those who live in poverty. Knowing that I am saving these families hundreds, and sometimes thousands of dollars is a great feeling. The organization provides good training and solid backup while on site. I find that I miss doing tax returns after the tax season ends...something I never thought I would say!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the eyes of our clients. They appreciate our time, and they know that we give them an alternative to paying lots of money to businesses to prepare their returns.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enhance the bank offerings downstate. It seems like many more services are available to clients in the Chicago area, but here in Central IL, we really are more limited in what we can offer besides the actual tax preparation. I would like to help with FAFSA's and/or receive specialized training in educational tax issues and Schedule C's, but these are only being offered in Chicago.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers