Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
787 Reviews
1234.844985
Previous | 1 2 3...24 |
Write A Review
September 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This outfit is doing exactly what I would do if I had a huge trust fund behind me. They are a bunch of attorneys educated in the biological sciences who sue to ensure that existing environmental laws are followed. They litigate against states, the federal government, and corporations and they win. Thanks to them, a whole lot of acres are saved from damage, ocean dwellers are protected from careless or excessive harvest, and pollution is curtailed. They are as committed to obscure little beings as they are to charismatic mega fauna--from Bartram's scrub hair-streak butterfly to wolves.

Humans are trashing the planet at quite a clip. CBD is effective in slowing down the damage. In addition, they do a great job of communicating with their donors or anyone else on their mailing list.

I've met some of these people and they are dedicated, competent folks. Your donation to CBD won't be wasted.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Quadruple their funding and send them out.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have supported the Center for quite awhile now - the reason is because these guys are effective - I can see my money working in lawsuits against the feds, etc. The Center considers all creatures great and small to be important - everybody cares about polar bears, but who cares about frogs? The Center cares, and wants to make sure everyone is aware of how humans are driving them to extinction. Kudos to Kieran for the quarterly briefings, and the way the staff makes donors feel cherished and special.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013

more

August 25, 2013

The environment is my top priority and has been for many years. Over the years, the Center for Biological Diversity has earned my respect and is the environmental group I support the most, with monthly donations and responses to their requests for email activism.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

A very effective environmental organization working overtime to protect the wild world and all it's creatures.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

The Center for Biological Diversity is an organization promotes a sophisticated look at the thin skin of life on this planet. Human hubris steadily depletes this world of the wild and wonderful. The ... more

August 24, 2013

The Center for Biological Diversity brings together everything I love - connecting all life on the planet. I am so impressed that they fight to protect habitat, force climate change to be part of the plan, and are one of the few organizations talking about over-population and its effect on the biota.

I have participated for many years in their condom distribution program of condoms in quirky endangered species packaging.

I am so impressed with their successes that I have been inspired to study a field which holds little interest (and often repugnance) for me -- law, but focusing on environmental law. They convinced me that the only good things that happen for wildlife protection are adjudicated. And there's much work to be done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Quadruple its size. If I had the funding, it would go toward developing a satellite in every state.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

The Center for Biological Diversity is an organization promotes a sophisticated look at the thin skin of life on this planet. Human hubris steadily depletes this world of the wild and wonderful. The Center was among the first to focus on the horrific effects of climate change on life, and attempted to integrate species protection plans with this topic. Furthermore, they understand that women controlling their reproductive lives goes hand in hand with protecting life on this planet. There is a parallel between women's lack of power and a culture of annihilating weaker forms of life. This organization bravely addresses both, and together, hopefully improves each. Also, their legal successes have inspired me to go to law school, focusing on environmental law. This organization has literally change my life and understanding of fighting the good fight.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 21, 2010

The Center for Biological Diversity gets results. Many just talk. These guys rock! more

August 23, 2013

The Center for Biological Diversity actually DOES something to protect our planet!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No need to change. Just keep doing the same thing and actions

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2010

The Center for Biological Diversity gets results. Many just talk. These guys rock!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Saving the wolf and condor in the Southwest.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing!!

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

The CBD became known to me several years ago. When I entered my fifties, I had all but given up the fight against the tyranny of developers, oil companies, ignorant politicians, and our impotent government. But like a caped crusader of courtroom justice, the CBD appeared to save the day and my hope. Since my introduction to this organization, joining as a member and ongoing supporter I am always learning, signing, petitioning. I even added my personal affidavit to the CBD case to hold BP Oil responsible for all that occurred from their negligence which affected my life as a resident in the Gulf (I live on one of the FL Keys). The newsletter is presented in an enlightening manner with GOOD NEWS to prevent those of us in a constant state of depression over the decline of the natural world from being suicidal. I am especially fond of Kieran's WILD & WEIRD section at the end of each brief which leaves you with a smile. Some days it is the only moment of my day that merits a smile. Thank you CBD for every effort you put forth!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

The Center for Biological Diversity has never disappointed us. No matter what the issue, they are the ones in Court or in the field, doing the work that makes the difference. They have so many issues that they handle and work on that we can't tell you which ones we are the most proud of. I guess if we had to choose it would be their long standing support of the wolves who have been kicked off the Endangered Species list. But not one of the other environmental organizations has done as much in court or in the field to help these wonderful apex predators.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change nothing except to move to where there was an office so I could get hands on experience.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

The Center for Biological Diversity does an astounding amount of work in all areas of wildlife and environmental protection. They are working to protect the Earth, realizing that a healthy world teeming with wildlife diversity is the most healthy environment for people too. Without people like those at the Center the world would be destroyed by those who let the almighty dollar rule their thinking. It is inspiring and gratifying to see the commitment and results that the Center achieves.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

They do an incredible job of monitoring wildlife and plants across the United States and internationally. They make the government agencies aware of species that are on the brink and work with them to get protections. And they never give up until they succeed. I give almost exclusively to wildlife and environmental organizations and this one accomplishes the most and is my favorite. They also are the only one which works to save amphibians, reptiles, and plants. They are courageous too, being the only environmental group willing to tackle the issue of overpopulation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...24 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers