Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
888 Reviews
1234.859235
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

Not only are they doing great work but their emails to the general public are very helpful, encouraging and informative.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

My recent experience with this group was very troubling. They seemed more interested in having petitions accepted than protecting the environment. When invited to help protect fish "on the ground", our local community was told that the CBD had "no responsibility" to act at the local level. I personally found their local rep to be rude, vulgar, and very unprofessional. Local environmental groups have distanced themselves from them now and they have few local allies. My personal opinion is that this group is more of a lawsuit factory than a protector of the environment. I hope this changes in the future, as those of us interested in protecting the environment rather than making headlines could use all the help we can get.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allocate more resources to habitat restoration and less resources to attorneys.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

Many nonprofits are fighting for the big famous species: the whales, lions, tigers, wolves, elephants, rhinos, and so on. Very few conservation groups give such a high profile and spend so many of their scarce resources on the little guys, the rodents and reptiles and amphibians and fish and invertebrates and plants. Every time I receive an e-mail from the Center for Biological Diversity, I read about their fights on behalf of critters like the Indiana Bat, Smallnose Shiner, Jollyville Plateau Salamander, Lange's Metalmark, Phantom Springsnail, Fuzzy Pigtoe, Pecos Amphipod, Obey Crayfish, Fickelson Plains Cactus, Coleman's Coralroot... The list goes on through hundreds of species! As a biologist who studies and has taught biodiversity, I greatly appreciate the fact that this group is pushing to conserve species that even I have not heard of before, and that most US citizens have no clue exist.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tone down their rhetoric a bit. Their fundraising appeals sometimes stretch the facts beyond what is really conclusive, in terms of the threats to certain species, in order to make the issues seem more urgent and deserving of support. The threats are urgent enough on their own; they do not need any hyperbole to magnify their imminence.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2010

The Center for Biological Diversity doesn't compromise itself by taking donations from polluters like many other environmental organizations do. They are an on-the-ball organization doing great work ... more

August 22, 2013

After eleven years of daily online activism I have to say that the Center for Biological Diversity is my favorite environmental non-profit. Everything they do is highly professional, from their various campaigns to their website and emails. They've never bombarded me with endless requests for donations and I know I can trust them to have their facts and figures right.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2010

The Center for Biological Diversity doesn't compromise itself by taking donations from polluters like many other environmental organizations do. They are an on-the-ball organization doing great work at both the legal and practical levels in species preservation and fighting pollution whose newsletter and web site are top-notch.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing its many legal victories.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't have any changes to suggest.

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

When I was writing my policy paper on endangered species for the Animals and Society Institute, I found the Center for Biological Diversity a valuable resource. For depth of information and shrewd choices in strategy, I think CBD is priceless.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

Egotistical and lacking in professional cooperation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let them understand that they are not the center of the universe.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Horrible organization. Rather than put their feet on the ground protecting the environment and cleaning up their own backyards they spend all their time hiring lawyers, using government funds through the Equal Access to Justice Act to sue the government over species. The government usually settles with them and just gives them money and their way regardless the destruction to private citizens without access to this kind of cushy deal. They put hundreds of thousands of people out of business each year. Do they protect species and environment no, they enrich themselves and their organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Over the last 5 years that I have followed the Centre for Biological Diversity, I have been most impressed with how seriously it does its research, how well it communicates with interested parties and how successful it has been in defending difficult causes. Whenever I can afford it, this is one of the first causes I financially contribute to.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working in biodiversity conservation for nearly 25 years working in natural history museums and with the global conservation community -- and before that workeing for the US Dept of the Interior and the US Forest Service. CBD is exceptional in the scope, focus and effectiveness of their efforts. It is not clear to me who could possibly fill their role -- both as public-educators and as litigators -- were they not active. One recent example has been their focus on the re-entry of jaguars into the SW U.S. -- they have carefully monitored the (too) rare instances of jaguar sightings -- the malfeasance of the Arizona Game & Fish Dept in killing a jaguar in Arizona -- and have been preparing the way for possible protection of jaguars in Arizona and New Mexico by carefully considering the requirements for protection... Thank you CBD for this and your many many other efforts!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Great work and great job in saving endangered frogs in the United States! Keep up the good work we need you!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers