Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
787 Reviews
1234.844985
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am deeply impressed by the Center for Biological Diversity's excellent, dedicated environmental work. As an environmental advocacy organization, it educates about a diverse variety of issues, offers expert advice on ways to reduce negative impact on the earth and action alerts, and firsthand experiences from the front lines of environmental crusading. I highly recommend supporting this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

The Center For Biological Diversity is at the forefront of any major issue affecting our wildlife or environment. If you sincerely care about animals, the environment, conservation, and all things
inter-related, than the Center For Biological Diversity is your best source of
knowledge.

They are definitely on top of their game and any breaking news or important issues, is immediately
addressed and dispersed to members. Why is this so important? Because the faster we are informed
of issues, the quicker we respond and it vastly increases our ability to resolve them.

If you really care about our environment and wildlife and have a thirst for knowledge, then you have to
be a part of the Center For Biological Diversity. They are simply the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No need for changes, the Center For Biological Diversity is at the top of their game.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

As a Biology professor I have admired the work of the Center for Biological Diversity since I learned about them several years ago. They are down in the trenches doing the hard legal work that needs to be done to protect our environment. They also do a great job of getting the word out as to what the problems are and how you can help. Their recent landmark victory to speed up the evaluation of hundreds of candidate endangered species that had been lying in administrative limbo for decades was just one of their important victories. I strongly support the work they do and wish I could do more.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

Not only are they doing great work but their emails to the general public are very helpful, encouraging and informative.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

My recent experience with this group was very troubling. They seemed more interested in having petitions accepted than protecting the environment. When invited to help protect fish "on the ground", our local community was told that the CBD had "no responsibility" to act at the local level. I personally found their local rep to be rude, vulgar, and very unprofessional. Local environmental groups have distanced themselves from them now and they have few local allies. My personal opinion is that this group is more of a lawsuit factory than a protector of the environment. I hope this changes in the future, as those of us interested in protecting the environment rather than making headlines could use all the help we can get.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allocate more resources to habitat restoration and less resources to attorneys.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

Many nonprofits are fighting for the big famous species: the whales, lions, tigers, wolves, elephants, rhinos, and so on. Very few conservation groups give such a high profile and spend so many of their scarce resources on the little guys, the rodents and reptiles and amphibians and fish and invertebrates and plants. Every time I receive an e-mail from the Center for Biological Diversity, I read about their fights on behalf of critters like the Indiana Bat, Smallnose Shiner, Jollyville Plateau Salamander, Lange's Metalmark, Phantom Springsnail, Fuzzy Pigtoe, Pecos Amphipod, Obey Crayfish, Fickelson Plains Cactus, Coleman's Coralroot... The list goes on through hundreds of species! As a biologist who studies and has taught biodiversity, I greatly appreciate the fact that this group is pushing to conserve species that even I have not heard of before, and that most US citizens have no clue exist.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tone down their rhetoric a bit. Their fundraising appeals sometimes stretch the facts beyond what is really conclusive, in terms of the threats to certain species, in order to make the issues seem more urgent and deserving of support. The threats are urgent enough on their own; they do not need any hyperbole to magnify their imminence.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2010

The Center for Biological Diversity doesn't compromise itself by taking donations from polluters like many other environmental organizations do. They are an on-the-ball organization doing great work ... more

August 22, 2013

After eleven years of daily online activism I have to say that the Center for Biological Diversity is my favorite environmental non-profit. Everything they do is highly professional, from their various campaigns to their website and emails. They've never bombarded me with endless requests for donations and I know I can trust them to have their facts and figures right.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2010

The Center for Biological Diversity doesn't compromise itself by taking donations from polluters like many other environmental organizations do. They are an on-the-ball organization doing great work at both the legal and practical levels in species preservation and fighting pollution whose newsletter and web site are top-notch.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing its many legal victories.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't have any changes to suggest.

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

When I was writing my policy paper on endangered species for the Animals and Society Institute, I found the Center for Biological Diversity a valuable resource. For depth of information and shrewd choices in strategy, I think CBD is priceless.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

Egotistical and lacking in professional cooperation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let them understand that they are not the center of the universe.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Horrible organization. Rather than put their feet on the ground protecting the environment and cleaning up their own backyards they spend all their time hiring lawyers, using government funds through the Equal Access to Justice Act to sue the government over species. The government usually settles with them and just gives them money and their way regardless the destruction to private citizens without access to this kind of cushy deal. They put hundreds of thousands of people out of business each year. Do they protect species and environment no, they enrich themselves and their organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers