Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
891 Reviews
1234.859715
Write A Review
June 24, 2014

more

June 24, 2014

I am a retired biologist who volunteered last year to help compile research for presentation in the historic 757 settlement, which made huge advances in Endangered Species protection. I do intend to volunteer again in the future, as I have never seen an organization as knowledgeable, dedicated and effective as this one in the area of wildlife conservation. The issue of mass extinctions brought on by humans is the closest to my heart of any current problem. Please support the work of this excellent group in its efforts to protect all animals and plants from us!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe more ways to integrate a greater variety of volunteers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2014

more

June 22, 2014

For nearly 40 years I have been a land use and environmental planner, and have been a member of the Center for several years, but have been working with the center to navigate development and conservation projects for about two decades. I also support a wide range of other conservation groups, including The Nature Conservancy, Rainforest Alliance, Greenpeace, World Wildlife Fund, Natural Resources Defense Council and others.

But the Center gives me the greatest satisfaction that something concrete, litigious when necessary but certainly always concrete, is being done by this very fine organization. My direct work with Center staff has also demonstrated a level of professionalism and practicality that wins adherents even in the development community.

This one is my very top favorite conservation-oriented nonprofit!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

This is an organization that actually makes a difference in getting the public's -- and lawmakers and industry's -- attention to environmental issues and wildlife concerns without the drama and hyperbole used by other nonprofits. The Center for Biological Diversity often is favorably mentioned in mainstream media as having been responsible for spearheading efforts to effect positive change to major, high-profile government or industry programs/projects that challenge the viability of the environment and stressed/threatened wildlife.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....explore the possibility of getting more media exposure (print, digital, TV, etc.) I also would try to team up with up-and-coming producers of enviro-documentary films.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I am a retired US Forest Service Wildlife Biologist who had a 32 year career with the Agency and land management issues. Sometime during that career the Center came into focus taking the lead on many critical wildlife habitat controversies and all I can say is...Thank the Universe for their presence! Often when I feared the worse for the fate of key habitats and species protection, the Center was and still is there to serve as one of the most effective stalwharts to force, and sadly I do say force the Land Management Agencies to do the right thing for the land and its creatures and obey the land management plans, laws, regulations and policies the Agencies are directed by. The Center is a skilled reviewer of Agency plans and land management proposals, knows how to comment effectively, and develop and argument that time and time again wins when the issue has to go before a judge. Without the Center I dare say alot more critters and habitat would be on their way out, degraded or placed in extinction jeopardy even further. The Center effectively keeps our Land Management Agencies honest . Its one of the best right along with Defenders of Wildlife, Audubon and Earth Justice League.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot comment on this because I do not know the Centers operations. My personal experience is I wish they had more staff and time to engage in other issues that are brought to them by members of the public but are not high on their priority list because of staff and funding limitations, but I understand the need to be focused on using resources most effectively.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

My career has been in research to conserve the nation's natural resources, so I know what is needed to do so. The Center for Biological Diversity is a highly effective NGO that does what it takes to protect vulnerable wild animals and plants and their required habitat. So effective my congressman once stated that this organization is his greatest nemesis in promoting logging and other development on public lands. The CBD holds quarterly phone briefings on their progress and listens to what members have to say. I have made this .org the principal beneficiary of my estate because of their work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be more open in explaining the rationale of other parties (particularly government agencies) in lawsuits filed

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

This request for a review comes at an interesting moment for me. I am a professional in the sense that I am a writer and teacher who is devoted to earth based consciousness. http://deenametzger.net. And so always attuned to what we might really do and become on behalf of restoring creation before the earth and all its beings are doomed by human activity. [Perhaps also known in a small way as an elephant whisperer.] Last week, before a workshop back east, i began thinking about the Center, your newsletter and activities, and noticing how much attention I pay when i see Karen Suckling's name and so I decided to go on line and see who you each are. I was deeply taken by the list of younger, for the most part, passionate, devoted, skilled, ethical human beings working in individual ways on behalf of the earth. i am grateful for your devotion to the large and the small,. Your sense of connection to the local particular as well as global need. Though I am not financially able to support you in the ways I wish i could, or rather support the work in the ways I would if i had the means, i do feel that we are in profound alliance. My hope is that our gifts and mandates will find ways to collaborate on behalf of the future and all beings. Deena Metzger

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

I would like to thank the important efforts by the Center for Biological Diversity particularly with raising concerns about the antiquated and outdated slaughter practices of the Wildlife Service, fighting for numerous species protections from corporate and developing interests and the pawns within government itself and lastly the most challenging of issues - the human population explosion!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Call it Wildlife Services and replace it as a government agency!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am deeply impressed by the Center for Biological Diversity's excellent, dedicated environmental work. As an environmental advocacy organization, it educates about a diverse variety of issues, offers expert advice on ways to reduce negative impact on the earth and action alerts, and firsthand experiences from the front lines of environmental crusading. I highly recommend supporting this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

The Center For Biological Diversity is at the forefront of any major issue affecting our wildlife or environment. If you sincerely care about animals, the environment, conservation, and all things
inter-related, than the Center For Biological Diversity is your best source of
knowledge.

They are definitely on top of their game and any breaking news or important issues, is immediately
addressed and dispersed to members. Why is this so important? Because the faster we are informed
of issues, the quicker we respond and it vastly increases our ability to resolve them.

If you really care about our environment and wildlife and have a thirst for knowledge, then you have to
be a part of the Center For Biological Diversity. They are simply the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No need for changes, the Center For Biological Diversity is at the top of their game.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

As a Biology professor I have admired the work of the Center for Biological Diversity since I learned about them several years ago. They are down in the trenches doing the hard legal work that needs to be done to protect our environment. They also do a great job of getting the word out as to what the problems are and how you can help. Their recent landmark victory to speed up the evaluation of hundreds of candidate endangered species that had been lying in administrative limbo for decades was just one of their important victories. I strongly support the work they do and wish I could do more.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers