Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
888 Reviews
1234.859235
| 1 ... 3 4 5...82 |
Write A Review
June 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

They are on top of the issues. They do great work in multiple fields and they seem to be the only group with the courage to come out and tackle human over-population of the planet! more

June 13, 2014

I love this organization. They are one of the few "environmental groups" brave enough to address the crisis of human over-population. Unless we deal with this problem, the planet is doomed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2012

They are on top of the issues. They do great work in multiple fields and they seem to be the only group with the courage to come out and tackle human over-population of the planet!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

Center for Biological Diversuty works tiredlessly and passionately to protect and preserve our environment, wildlife and the planet that sustains us. They also make aware that harm (and good) being done to it. I am a longtime supporter, and will continue to be because of their dedication and determination to save our world. Thank you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

Well, as a European, I cannot see any comparison - although there are organizations here too no doubt who do comparable work - who is more knowledgeable (get their newsletter and see for yourselves), and honestly involved in the numerous topics relating to the broad term which is biological diversity. (Look at their action list and see for yourselves).

Not only is the Center for Biological Diversity knowledgeable, they put their words into action when needed and will petition or even sue if the Center thinks it is necessary. I haven't seen that happen here. Besides, nothing wrong with organizations here but each has its own "topic" while the Center as I have been reading from afar, is working in so many fields which is only logical because biological diversity does not stop with either trees and shrubs or animals, or clean air. Everything is interconnected and if things are unbalanced the whole ship starts shaking.

I have nothing but awe for all the tough and in depth work the Center for Biological Diversity does. Working independently (it is a charity organization) it does its work with vigor and respect for er. well biological diversity. Which ultimately also means: for you and yours.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Crowdfund and have it done not by outsiders but people who are devoted to that exclusively a few times a year. Online and not. Make more PR in general. Billboards next to highways and/or in busy train and subway stations or on city buses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I love the fact that the Center for Biological Diversity is an organization with a serious group of environmental lawyers. The species they care about range from the charismatic megafauna to the tiniest animals. I love their website that keeps me in touch from a distance with the issues of my beloved Southwest. What's not to like about a environmental group based in Tucson, Arizona that shares a polar bear's view? I especially love their weird videos. It keeps me coming back to their website. I only wish I could do more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

This is an organization that actually makes a difference in getting the public's -- and lawmakers and industry's -- attention to environmental issues and wildlife concerns without the drama and hyperbole used by other nonprofits. The Center for Biological Diversity often is favorably mentioned in mainstream media as having been responsible for spearheading efforts to effect positive change to major, high-profile government or industry programs/projects that challenge the viability of the environment and stressed/threatened wildlife.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....explore the possibility of getting more media exposure (print, digital, TV, etc.) I also would try to team up with up-and-coming producers of enviro-documentary films.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I've been an avid supporter of the Center for Biological Diversity for a number of years now. They do an incredible job of doing what needs to be done, in order to protect and preserve our wildlife and environment. They also do a bang-up job of protecting us from Big Oil, Bad Business, and an Uncooperative Government, both federal and state. I will continue to support them in their efforts to preserve and protect!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I am a retired US Forest Service Wildlife Biologist who had a 32 year career with the Agency and land management issues. Sometime during that career the Center came into focus taking the lead on many critical wildlife habitat controversies and all I can say is...Thank the Universe for their presence! Often when I feared the worse for the fate of key habitats and species protection, the Center was and still is there to serve as one of the most effective stalwharts to force, and sadly I do say force the Land Management Agencies to do the right thing for the land and its creatures and obey the land management plans, laws, regulations and policies the Agencies are directed by. The Center is a skilled reviewer of Agency plans and land management proposals, knows how to comment effectively, and develop and argument that time and time again wins when the issue has to go before a judge. Without the Center I dare say alot more critters and habitat would be on their way out, degraded or placed in extinction jeopardy even further. The Center effectively keeps our Land Management Agencies honest . Its one of the best right along with Defenders of Wildlife, Audubon and Earth Justice League.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot comment on this because I do not know the Centers operations. My personal experience is I wish they had more staff and time to engage in other issues that are brought to them by members of the public but are not high on their priority list because of staff and funding limitations, but I understand the need to be focused on using resources most effectively.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I really depend on the Center to be in the forefront to protect endangered wildlife. i always rely on the email newsletter they put out often to inform me about the epic battles it is waging to defend plants and animals that can't speak for themselves. I know I can turn to them if wildlife in my area is threatened. Highest praise for their work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

They have the best newsletter, easy to read, great news about both victories and new challenges to our wild critters. And their name, it yells "good science" and that we are all a part of a biologically diverse planet that we need to sustain and support. I love their planned email action campaigns and the range of issues from local to international that they address. I always take part in their actions because they do the background work and aim the campaign where it will be most effective.This was one of the first groups in California to partner with other groups and start an anti-fracking strategy. We demonstrated at the Golden Gate Bridge in 2012 when most people hadn't heard of fracking. I had a great sign hand made by one of the Center for Biological Diversity staff members with magazine pictures of animals, endearing. Tourists from all over the world asked me about fracking and why it's bad. I'm usually shy with crowds, better one on one, but this was really fun. It started the ball rolling. They're smart, creative, passionately committed people with good ideas and sustained spark to follow through. A big bang for your monetary or volunteer buck.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I visited their office in downtown SF once and happened to pick a day when there wasn't anyone around who knew much about their projects and campaigns. Good thing they had literature that was easy to read and beautiful so I could get a glimpse of what all this group has been up to over the past several years. Maybe they could use more staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

I live in Australia but I find that their online newsletter gives me information about environmental/wildlife issues in the United States through articles and petitions. It makes me feel connected to causes I cannot directly participate in and the work that they do for the environment is terrific!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers