Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

We have visited the Bridgeport CARE center 3 times. We have always been wowed by the organized and gentle care that is evident at this facility for the rescued lions, tigers, leopards and other wild animals. The cleanliness, the serenity reflected in the cats and overall atmosphere at this center provides an extremely kind environment to give these cats/animals the best possible mode of living. I applaud all of the efforts by the owner and the staff to maintain continuous care and still be able to offer training to professionals and students who work at this center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to help them gain more funding to build more homes and facilities to grow the center.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

I interned for CARE in the fall of 2012. I am a biology major who longs to work with big cats, and this internship changed my life forever. Not only did I fulfill a dream I've had since I was a child, I got to meet the many other people who share this same passion and shed blood, sweat, and tears to ensure that every cat is content and happy. The love they receive is honest and pure, and it is phenomenal to see the cats respond with their own love back towards their CAREtakers. I never saw a single cat (or lemur) being mistreated, and I am positive I never will. They are the number one priority at CARE and every lost hour of sleep, pulled muscle, and days of sweating in the Texas heat were completely worth it. These cats may not be in their "rightful home" in the wild, but I can't imagine any substitute better than CARE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

I didn't really think of myself as a tiger-guy. My wife always had a passion for these great beasts but me ... I just thought they were pretty. It was her thing, not mine.

A couple years ago now my wife found herself in a bit of serendipity. A monk, curious about her bucket list, asked for
further details beyond having a meal with a Buddhist monk. It was then that she mentioned that she always wanted to work with tigers. His response was surprising, "I think I can help you with that."

A few weeks later we pulled up to the front entrance of CARE. We were greeted by the lazy majesty that is Sampson. We took the tour, meeting one great cat after another, getting certain insights into these cats, things you don't hear on wildlife show, things only known by those who live and work regularly with these residents.

Soon after we were volunteering. Both of us. I was there by my wife's side on some weekends sharing in her dream. We cleaned enclosures, filled water bowls, and wired fences. Not exactly the easiest work but definitely rewarding. And with each passing weekend it became apparent that the cats started to recognize us. Being recognized and greeted by a tiger is pretty heartwarming, I gotta say.

These cats are loved. It's not their fault they have found themselves in this country, behind fences, needing to be protected from us humans. As a result they need two things in order to thrive. They require both passion and love, which their caretakers have in abundance. They are treated like royalty, fed a diet that keeps them healthy and vibrant, kept clean and as comfortable as possible all while being allowed some degree of their royal comforts.

It's pretty easy to get swept up in the wave of passion for these big cats. To see the sheer effort it takes to care for them is inspiring considering the love that powers those who serve them.

This is a great place. It's a place to learn, a place to work hard, and a place to see the rewards of all of it in the healthy, shining eyes of CARE's residents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd find ways to increase their income through donations and grants to help with any improvements the caretakers at CARE need to improve the lives of the cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

About 10 years ago, a friend of a friend in California referred me to C.A.R.E. (before it became a non-profit) as a great place to see the big cats (love tigers) and have actual "hands-on" experience at one of their "retreats". I attended one with about a dozen other folks where we had the opportunity to learn about these great animals and work in close proximity with them. Our activities included feeding the babies...(I would put a litter of hungry tiger cubs up against my Harley in a noise contest any day!!) giving medications (disguised as chicken) as well as mucking cages...it was all good.

Heidi's love and devotion to the big cats (and more today) is amazing. These animals are not just "rescues" but truly part of her family. I've had the privilege of watching this organization grow as more and more people have become part of the 'C.A.R.E. Family through their donations of time, materials and money. What's more is she has the love and support of her husband and children who also participate in this great venture.

As a result of that experience some 10 years ago, I 'adopted' one of the big cats and enjoy seeing her when I get to Texas.

There may be bigger facilities out there, but in my estimation, no better! My experience with Heidi & C.A.R.E. has enriched my life greatly...for which I am grateful...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

My friend interned at C.A.R.E. and she more than loved the cats there. I was so fortunate enough to make it down for a tour and it was incredible! They are more than loved at the center and are treated with so much affection and care. Bum dum ching! Honestly though, this is an extraordinary organization. I highly encourage anyone and everyone to come for a visit, make a donation of what you can, and help support taking care of these amazing creatures who really need this protection and appropriate handling.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

During my internship at the Center for Animal Research and Education I have developed many skills that I can use to pursue my career in animal care. It is very obvious that the staff members care deeply about all the animals at C.A.R.E. and it shows in how they maintain the animals' welfare. You can tour the facility on Saturday and Sunday from 11 am to 5 pm as well as schedule a special lemur interaction for a more up close and personal experience with some of the center's residents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

As an intern, C.A.R.E. has not only helped my future career, but it is also the most rewarding and spectacular place to view exotic animals. Not only do the animals receive the best care, the people are great to work with and be around. If you haven't had a chance to stop by for a tour, I would highly recommend coming for the annual fall festival.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I fell in love with C.A.R.E. & Arctic, the snow leopard eight yrs. ago. All the people at C.A.R.E. are wonderful, informative & so caring for these beautiful big cats. The facilities are incredible clean & are geared for the cats happiness & well being. All the volunteers really put their hearts into their work there. I highly recommend tours at C.A.R.E. This educational experience will impact your life forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 1, 2012

I interned at C.A.R.E. for the fall session and have continued to go back every chance I get. Having worked in the animal care field for three years it is clear that C.A.R.E. is without a doubt one of... more

September 26, 2013

I was fortunate enough to have one of my first internships to be done at C.A.R.E. The experience and knowledge I gained while working there was invaluable. To not only learn what it takes to take care of the basic needs of animals to the highest level of safety and standards but to also be taught what it means to make animals happy and what makes not only a good animal caretaker but a great one was one of the best experiences of my life.
I have been able to take the lessons I learned while working at C.A.R.E. and apply them throughout my career. For anyone wanting to have a career in animal care taking, I recommend this educational program above any other.

On a separate note, the animals at C.A.R.E. are by far the happiest and well cared for of any facility I have seen. C.A.R.E. is definitely a sanctuary that got it right.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

build more structures in the enclosures

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2012

I interned at C.A.R.E. for the fall session and have continued to go back every chance I get. Having worked in the animal care field for three years it is clear that C.A.R.E. is without a doubt one of the best places a big cat could hope to go to. It is also clear these cats are happy and not bored or depressed like you see at many zoos or other sanctuaries. These animals receive the best care that can be given. C.A.R.E. is a diamond in the rough for animals needing a home. Any donation given to helping this amazing facility would be money well spent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

CARE has forever impacted and changed my life. Not until later in life did I really grow a desire for big cats. When it seemed like all hopes were lost at really pursuing my dreams, CARE graciously opened their arms and accepted me as an intern with the requirements that "passion matters most". I carry CARE in my heart every day. It not only rejuvenates my own soul, but it restores my hope. These animals all have a story to tell, a unique personality and many life changing moments. I am fortunate enough to be able to interact with these animals and their care givers. This facility provides comfort, rest, and joy to each of it's members, both animal and human. The Board does not selfishly keep the animals hidden and private, but instead embraces volunteers, interns and tourists to take part in the most joyous and personal interactions with a wild big cat in captivity. This nonprofit provides ample opportunity to explore and learn through research, observations and hands on work within the facility. I am blessed beyond means to have served as an intern and continuing my volunteering.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide opportunities for paid positions!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with cleaning enclosures, facility maintenance, office work, leading tours, fund-raising, special events, and much more. Volunteer