Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.96195
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

Dr Shane saved my life. When I started with her we talked weekly and then as I got better we moved to monthly talks. The advice I received was easy to put into use. Dr Shane would always check how I was doing. If I was off track she would give me a stern reminder of why I was doing this. My last MRI report was fantastic. (As usual I framed it)
In June, I started to share what I knew with my sister who has also been diagnosed with cancer.
Life is good. Enjoy every minute

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My mother was diagnosed with an extremely agressive and rare form of brain cancer in 2006. Luckily she was well-versed in Susan's approach as she had been a volunteer at Beat Cancer for many years. My mom flipped roles from support person to client and began her work with Susan and her staff. I believe that without the Susan's knowledge, advice and insight my mom would not be here today. My mother's diagnosis was beyond grim. Chemo, double brain surgery, removal of part of her frontal lobe, a rebuilding of the brain's dura, etc.. This type of cancer had never been successfully treated without surgery.

My mother juiced, meditated, exercised, juiced some more, took supplements, the same ones that her oncologists said were anti-oxidants and therefore would lessen the effects of chemotherapy. Ha!

After the third chemotherapy treatment it was time to meet with the sino-nasal surgeon, the neurosurgeon, the anesthesiologists, etc. There was only a small window of time after chemo to perform the surgery because the cancer bounces back so quickly. This was the last meeting before my mom's 18 hour surgery which would take place within a few days time.

There were a dozen people in the room ready to plan the surgery. My mom's MRI was displayed on the screen. The nurse read the report. It was short. "There is no evidence of cancer." Silence. "I'm sorry. She has SNUC. Please double check that we have the correct image and report."

It was true. The cancer was gone. A mass in her sinus cavity, the size of a plum, was gone.

No surgeries needed. No frontal lobe removal. No rebuilding of the dura. No cutting through her skull and taking bone from her hip. None of it.

Susan's work should be awarded, applauded, funded and spread far and wide.

Life-changing? You bet.

Life-giving? Absolutely.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization itself doesn't need changing. Their work is brilliant.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I love how Susan and team are available to help people navigate through the cancer journey to health! Great resource!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I was diagnosed with DCIS almost two years ago. As you might imagine--it was shocking. I never smoked, didn't drink, didn't live an immoral life. I began my cycle early at age 11 and entered menopause at age 50. I had no children, previously had Ovarian Cysts, Fibrocystic Breast, and twice had Endometriosis , so I knew my risks were high for getting Cancer. When I was diagnosed, I immediately changed my diet and went nearly 95% vegetarian, gave up sweets and started fresh juicing. At some point I hit a low and was depressed and felt out of control since my family was leaning toward Conventional treatments. Finally, in browsing the internet for help after meeting with oncologists, surgeons, etc., Randi (from Beat Cancer.org) came into my life. She was encouraging, uplifting and inspirational. She helped me with diet, exercise, supplements, emotions and confidence. I truly appreciated all her help and knowledge, she was warm and inviting. I've since referred others to this site and hope they will find similar support and delight. I looked forward to my weekly calls with Randi, and she often suggested that I take time for me, and let my other family members (who were adults) care for themselves--I needed this because I have always been a care-giver.

Thanks so very much for being available and offering your services freely (donations accepted). Much of what I learned, I've shared with others. Please keep up the good work. Cut, Burn and Poison is so detrimental to the mind, body and spirit. Cancer involves the entire person and must be treated "Whole-listically".

Respectfully supportive,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer two calls per week for support and encouragement.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2013

more

May 27, 2013

I was diagnosed with breast cancer at the age of 38. I was anxious to learn how to get my body and mind back into balance. The ND that counseled me was instrumental in turning my life around. She provided the encouragement and education I needed to make healthy lifestyle choices.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I hope his review is not too late to be included for 2012 Great NonProfits consideration. My father was diagnosed with advanced pancreatic cancer in 2008. The average lifespan is 5.5 months, and he was not a healthy man due to serious heart disease and diabetes, as well. We have a very close family and we were desperate to fight this disease, and were introduced to CACE by a friend. We had an initial consultation call with a patient support counselor and discussed the situation and what we might be able to do if we were willing to try to make changes immediately. She was an incredible wealth of knowledge on the subject of fighting cancer with nutrition, and made us aware of how diet and nutrition can have an amazingly strong effect on the ability of your immune system to fight both the cancer itself and also stand up to the terrible side effects of chemo and radiation along the way. Not only did she educate us thoroughly, and guide us with extensive recommendations, but she gave us hope, which is of vital significance to a cancer patient when they are fighting this disease. She really became our nutrition coach and a key member of our "team" in the fight. Most importantly, my dad trusted her and stayed strong, and had literally no side effects despite a non-stop series of chemo treatments for two years. We had many consultations, at least one every month via regular update calls for us to discuss my dad's status. She answered countless questions on all aspects of my dad's diet, his symptoms, and discussed any new ideas we may have come across related to the chemo, and the diet. My dad, and our family, came to depend on these calls as the months went by, and looked forward to them as a critical part of the treatment program. My dad lived for more than 2 years with this disease until his body finally gave out in 2011, and our CACE counselor was fully engaged with us every step of the way. I can not tell you how grateful we were for the guidance and support we received. I can not imagine that there is a better source of guidance and support from any organization in this country than what we received from CACE. I can not possibly recommend this organization and our specific counselor any more highly, and would encourage anyone who needs help fighting cancer to contact them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

CACE has changed, and possibly saved, my life. Last February I received a diagnosis of lymphoma from Mayo Clinic. To POSITIVELY confirm this diagnosis they wanted to biopsy an area of my brain that could have left me blind or paralyzed. I did not agree to this and asked if there was ANYTHING else I could do for myself. They said no.....that I would just have to continue having MRIs to check on my "abnormality". What an overwhelming and helpless feeling! Who is there to talk to? From a friend, I found beatcancer.org through CACE and began having weekly hour-long talks with Randi Shayne. Can you believe they do this??!! I felt genuine concern from her and her knowledge of cancer, the body, nutrition, coping, as well as any other topic was amazing. She filled me with information and offered advice without judgement. I completely changed my eating habits, exercise routine, and way of looking at things. What a gift to have an organization that makes it possible to talk to someone like her! This month, after my 6th MRI, they decided that I most likely DO NOT have lymphoma. I TOTALLY BELIEVE that my new lifestyle was instrumental in this. What if I had that biopsy and became handicapped? I tell everyone who is facing the scary world of cancer to contact beatcancer.org. There is truly no other organization like it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

As a woman with breast cancer healing herself naturally I was very fortunate to discover beatcancer.org when I first got diagnosed and didn't know where to turn. Dr. Randi Shyane was devoted to speaking with me every week giving me valuable information, advice and encouragement. It's been over a year now and I feel fabulous. She continues to give me free consultations and I really look forward to speaking with her with each appointment. I feel like she's not only a consultant and doctor but also a friend. This organization is the only resource I know of that gives so freely their precious time and guides those of us who are scared and living with cancer with compassion, knowledge and love.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

While we were only a client for a few calls, CACE was very supportive and informative in helping us make a decision on my husbands possible cancer diagnosis. Thankfully it wasn't Cancer but the resources they provided by phone and literature have helped us and many others that I have recommended. What a wonderful organization! Karen

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 30, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with Stage 4, Non-Hodgkin's B-Cell Lymphoma last year and contacted CACE to support me in combating the effects of Chemo and radiation treatment. I made the decision to do chemo and radiation since the cancer had already overwhelmed my immune system and was the most aggressive level (3). CACE provided me really great support on continuing in a diet rich in fruits and vegetables which I had already been on for 5 years and taking Juice Plus. The doctor was opposed to me taking any antioxidants but with my own research and support from CACE I was able to show him the benefits. Secondly recommendations made by CACE for coenzyme Q10, AHCC and other nutritional supplements allowed me to keep my immune system intact in spite of the effects of chemo and radiation. Many (most) of the people I met in treatment at the same time for various forms of cancer had to stop or curtail treatments as their immune system collapsed. I was always able to bounce back between treatments (every 3 weeks) by following the CACE recommendations as well as maintaining a pristine diet of fruits and vegetables. CACE, i.e. Dr. Susan Silberstien was both knowledgeable and compassionate. I sincerely thank her and CACE for their support. The Lord chose to heal me even though my situation was so dire but He was gracious in leading me to CACE and giving me the knowledge to d omy part in the healing process.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Their guidance was a significant factor in maintaining my immune system and recovery after the treatments ended. My immune system/blood work was normal in only 3 months post chemo and radiation

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with online tasks :-) Volunteer