Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

I have been a supporter of CACE and a fan of Dr.Silbersteins for many years but never expected that I would ever need their services until may of this year when I was diagnosed with colon cancer. I was shocked and confused. Surgery needed to be done quickly because of a blockage and chemotherapy started 4 weeks later. I felt like I was being rushed into everything with no time to think or make any decisions about the treatment. I turned to CACE to help me sort it all out and am presently a client learning so much. I am now a student of juicing and learning to love drinking my green veggies which helps so much with the side effects of the chemotherapy. I am relearning how to eat and deal with the diagnosis. I am so greatful to have someone to talk to who is helping me put my life back in order to embrace life and not to dwell in the negative.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

This former Philadelphian has had the misfortune of being diagnosed with Metastatic Malignant Melanoma more than once. Dr Silberstein has always made herself available to council, comfort and advise. She has been right on each time we have spoken. My husband also has had the fortune to work with her during his Cancer Challenge. Once again she came through with helpful suggestions and comforting words. Working with our Minnesota Physicians and supplementing their treatment with Dr. Silberstein's insights and suggestions has been most helpful to us. Her no pressure tactics have relieved us as we attempt to alter our eating habits and lifestyle.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that more people would contribute financially to enable Dr. Silberstein and her staff to continue their counseling and not have to spend so much time and effort fund raising.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2013

more

June 29, 2013

I had volunteered with organization and when I was diagnosed with sinus cancer I called Dr. Silberstein. She told me: If you aren't vegetarian become one, if you are taking juice plus triple your dose, I you aren't juicing begin and drink a quart a day to include spinach, kale, carrots ,and beet greens. I did all of these and I went through chemo, surgery and 75 treatments with radiation, feeling well the entire time. It's five years out, I still take juice plus, juice and TRY to be vegetarian and I still feel great. The Drs. at U of PA. were quite amazed, they had never seen that tumor disappear after chemo, only reduced. I believe this regimen enhanced the efficacy of the treatments. I continue to support this organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I had the opportunity to attend the Beat Cancer symposium last year, and since that time, I have followed CACE and participated in other events. In March of this year, I had a cancer scare and fortunately, my biopsy was benign. However, I received a wealth of information during a phone consultation with Susan, which I have used to make additional changes to my diet, even though it was pretty healthy to start. It is gratifying to know that such an organization exists not only to empower people to become proactive and make healthy changes, but also to guide individuals through the maze of medical treatments without asking for any payment in return.

I hope this helps you continue your work. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more staff or volunteers available to help with consultations with availability during evening hours. They currently two but one or two more would be helpful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I happen to glance at your website the other day and saw that you offer a health certification, which I am very interested and is what prompted me to write to you. I saw the name Randi Shayne and all sorts of old memories started to come forth. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2004 and was very afraid. I somehow found this place via the internet and was hooked up with Randi. She was there for me to provide support along the way and I will never forget how amazing she was. In fact, I still have all my original notes i took from the many conversations I had with her. I will never forget how fabulous she was. It is because of her that I got on the path of good nutrition and developed my passion for health and wellness. Thank you Randi and thank you CACE for still being there.



More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

The guidance and support Susan Silberstein and her team provided my husband & I after his diagnosis with stage 4 Pancreatic Cancer was amazing. They immediately lead us in the right direction for health care recommendations, eating and drinking preferences, and necessary exercise. Susan even calling him to offer encouragement.
I recommend to anyone diagnosed with cancer make this your first call.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

Despite all kinds of regular checkups by all kinds of doctors ovarian cancer stage three hit me at age 74 with my first indication of a problem a modest pain in my lower abdomen. Within three weeks of diagnosis I had to have major surgery and then chemotherapy. I was weak, scared, overwhelmed and clueless. I finally remembered that there was this amazing resource within a five minute drive of my house and called the Center. I was fortunate enough to be able to arrange a consultation with Susan Silberstein within a matter of several weeks.
She suggested a number of things to consider and how to manage the effects of the chemotherapy and I had two more follow up consultations in that first year. Susan was so knowledgeable, so kind, so practical, and so honest that I knew I gcould trust her and that gave me hope. It has taken time to implement all of her dietary suggestions, which I know are critical, but I do better all the time and I am so grateful for the resources the Center offers. The printed materials are invaluable and reasonably priced. I recommend the Center whenever I learn of someone facing cancer who I think would be willing to be open to r the kind of help the Center offers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wave a magic wand so that they did not have to spend so much energy raising money but could use that time to help even more people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

Dr Shane saved my life. When I started with her we talked weekly and then as I got better we moved to monthly talks. The advice I received was easy to put into use. Dr Shane would always check how I was doing. If I was off track she would give me a stern reminder of why I was doing this. My last MRI report was fantastic. (As usual I framed it)
In June, I started to share what I knew with my sister who has also been diagnosed with cancer.
Life is good. Enjoy every minute

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

My mother was diagnosed with an extremely agressive and rare form of brain cancer in 2006. Luckily she was well-versed in Susan's approach as she had been a volunteer at Beat Cancer for many years. My mom flipped roles from support person to client and began her work with Susan and her staff. I believe that without the Susan's knowledge, advice and insight my mom would not be here today. My mother's diagnosis was beyond grim. Chemo, double brain surgery, removal of part of her frontal lobe, a rebuilding of the brain's dura, etc.. This type of cancer had never been successfully treated without surgery.

My mother juiced, meditated, exercised, juiced some more, took supplements, the same ones that her oncologists said were anti-oxidants and therefore would lessen the effects of chemotherapy. Ha!

After the third chemotherapy treatment it was time to meet with the sino-nasal surgeon, the neurosurgeon, the anesthesiologists, etc. There was only a small window of time after chemo to perform the surgery because the cancer bounces back so quickly. This was the last meeting before my mom's 18 hour surgery which would take place within a few days time.

There were a dozen people in the room ready to plan the surgery. My mom's MRI was displayed on the screen. The nurse read the report. It was short. "There is no evidence of cancer." Silence. "I'm sorry. She has SNUC. Please double check that we have the correct image and report."

It was true. The cancer was gone. A mass in her sinus cavity, the size of a plum, was gone.

No surgeries needed. No frontal lobe removal. No rebuilding of the dura. No cutting through her skull and taking bone from her hip. None of it.

Susan's work should be awarded, applauded, funded and spread far and wide.

Life-changing? You bet.

Life-giving? Absolutely.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization itself doesn't need changing. Their work is brilliant.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I love how Susan and team are available to help people navigate through the cancer journey to health! Great resource!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers