Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.956525
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I love how Susan and team are available to help people navigate through the cancer journey to health! Great resource!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I was diagnosed with DCIS almost two years ago. As you might imagine--it was shocking. I never smoked, didn't drink, didn't live an immoral life. I began my cycle early at age 11 and entered menopause at age 50. I had no children, previously had Ovarian Cysts, Fibrocystic Breast, and twice had Endometriosis , so I knew my risks were high for getting Cancer. When I was diagnosed, I immediately changed my diet and went nearly 95% vegetarian, gave up sweets and started fresh juicing. At some point I hit a low and was depressed and felt out of control since my family was leaning toward Conventional treatments. Finally, in browsing the internet for help after meeting with oncologists, surgeons, etc., Randi (from Beat Cancer.org) came into my life. She was encouraging, uplifting and inspirational. She helped me with diet, exercise, supplements, emotions and confidence. I truly appreciated all her help and knowledge, she was warm and inviting. I've since referred others to this site and hope they will find similar support and delight. I looked forward to my weekly calls with Randi, and she often suggested that I take time for me, and let my other family members (who were adults) care for themselves--I needed this because I have always been a care-giver.

Thanks so very much for being available and offering your services freely (donations accepted). Much of what I learned, I've shared with others. Please keep up the good work. Cut, Burn and Poison is so detrimental to the mind, body and spirit. Cancer involves the entire person and must be treated "Whole-listically".

Respectfully supportive,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer two calls per week for support and encouragement.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I was personally trained by Dr. Susan Silberstein to be a Beat Cancer Support Educator in the fall of 2011. I had met Dr. Susan previously, and was so impressed with her caring and compassion. I learned so much about all aspects of cancer - physical. emotional, and spiritual-- and her generous sharing of knowledge has really helped me in my own practice. The techniques for delving into the emotional causes of disease are especially helpful in my work, and also in maintaining my own health. I always recommend to my clients that if they want more information, they can call the Centre for help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes that need to be made...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

This organization offers both education and counseling to help people with cancer. As they say, the best cure is prevention, which is what the education program promotes. Counseling is top notch and follows closely the principles of the Gerson Institute. I do not have cancer, and I do not ever want to get it. The educator and counselor at Beat Cancer have freely offered me assistance in my own effort to improve my health. Always helpful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow and reach more people!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2013

more

May 27, 2013

I was diagnosed with breast cancer at the age of 38. I was anxious to learn how to get my body and mind back into balance. The ND that counseled me was instrumental in turning my life around. She provided the encouragement and education I needed to make healthy lifestyle choices.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

I'm a RN who has lost two family members with Cancer and have researched many places as to what I can do to prevent Cancer in my life time. I'm a representative for Juice Plus+ and Health Educator and because of the Nutritional Information I was introduced to Dr. Silverstein and BeatCancer.org I have been to lectures and bought material that has helped me make Nutritional changes as well as sharing the information with my customers. I have referred CACE to my customers and friends. They have had nothing but Thanks to me for referring them and because of the monthly calls and information that they received they have had HOPE. This is truly a gift that CASE gives to their clients as they go through the many difficult decisions and possible treatments. It is an organization that does wonderful things to who ever calls no matter what their financial situation. Nancy Moody, RN

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I hope his review is not too late to be included for 2012 Great NonProfits consideration. My father was diagnosed with advanced pancreatic cancer in 2008. The average lifespan is 5.5 months, and he was not a healthy man due to serious heart disease and diabetes, as well. We have a very close family and we were desperate to fight this disease, and were introduced to CACE by a friend. We had an initial consultation call with a patient support counselor and discussed the situation and what we might be able to do if we were willing to try to make changes immediately. She was an incredible wealth of knowledge on the subject of fighting cancer with nutrition, and made us aware of how diet and nutrition can have an amazingly strong effect on the ability of your immune system to fight both the cancer itself and also stand up to the terrible side effects of chemo and radiation along the way. Not only did she educate us thoroughly, and guide us with extensive recommendations, but she gave us hope, which is of vital significance to a cancer patient when they are fighting this disease. She really became our nutrition coach and a key member of our "team" in the fight. Most importantly, my dad trusted her and stayed strong, and had literally no side effects despite a non-stop series of chemo treatments for two years. We had many consultations, at least one every month via regular update calls for us to discuss my dad's status. She answered countless questions on all aspects of my dad's diet, his symptoms, and discussed any new ideas we may have come across related to the chemo, and the diet. My dad, and our family, came to depend on these calls as the months went by, and looked forward to them as a critical part of the treatment program. My dad lived for more than 2 years with this disease until his body finally gave out in 2011, and our CACE counselor was fully engaged with us every step of the way. I can not tell you how grateful we were for the guidance and support we received. I can not imagine that there is a better source of guidance and support from any organization in this country than what we received from CACE. I can not possibly recommend this organization and our specific counselor any more highly, and would encourage anyone who needs help fighting cancer to contact them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

CACE has changed, and possibly saved, my life. Last February I received a diagnosis of lymphoma from Mayo Clinic. To POSITIVELY confirm this diagnosis they wanted to biopsy an area of my brain that could have left me blind or paralyzed. I did not agree to this and asked if there was ANYTHING else I could do for myself. They said no.....that I would just have to continue having MRIs to check on my "abnormality". What an overwhelming and helpless feeling! Who is there to talk to? From a friend, I found beatcancer.org through CACE and began having weekly hour-long talks with Randi Shayne. Can you believe they do this??!! I felt genuine concern from her and her knowledge of cancer, the body, nutrition, coping, as well as any other topic was amazing. She filled me with information and offered advice without judgement. I completely changed my eating habits, exercise routine, and way of looking at things. What a gift to have an organization that makes it possible to talk to someone like her! This month, after my 6th MRI, they decided that I most likely DO NOT have lymphoma. I TOTALLY BELIEVE that my new lifestyle was instrumental in this. What if I had that biopsy and became handicapped? I tell everyone who is facing the scary world of cancer to contact beatcancer.org. There is truly no other organization like it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

As a Healthy Living Coach and someone who has lost both parents to cancer, I was so thrilled to find BeatCancer.org that I may refer those suffering or dealing with friend or family member. Because this organization's mission is key to helping people become educated in cancer prevention or recurrence. They offer lifestyle counseling and the support is like no other organization that I have ever known in my lifetime. After 35 years of operating as a not for profit donation based and still doing the work they do is monumental!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I recently completed my Masters in Nutrition with a focus on the connection between nutrition and cancer. People need to realize that not only is nutrition essential for prevention, the right nutrition is essential during cancer treatment. The Center for Advancement of Cancer Education provides education for professionals as well as providing direct services to cancer patients seeking nutrition alternatives or enhancements to their treatment therapies.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers