Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.860475
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Cenikor is an amazing organization! I was first asked to join the advisory board for the Deer Park, Texas facility in 2004 by a co-worker that was retiring and wanted to fill his position on the board. Since that time I have seen many lives transformed from what would be described as a "no chance of survival" to being a truly productive citizen and functioning extremely well in and contributing to our society.
Cenikor is truly a place for change. If the individual that has made a few bad choices wants to turn their life around, stay out of trouble, make amends with family and friends and live a successful life that no longer includes addiction, Cenikor can and will help them.
One of the things that really amazed me was my first board meeting. As we introduced ourselves, many of the board members, who were currently successful businessmen, were former residents at Cenikor. Many of the employees at Cenikor are former residents, only testifying more that Cenikor is truly a place that can change lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to come up with a plan that would help establish more Cenikor facilities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I stop by the facility at least twice a month to share the joys of good living with the new residents. Although I worked at Cenikor from 2011 through 2013, I never thought of it as a job. It was an honor to be able to touch lives and since I am also a graduate of the program, many of the residents can identify with my story and believe that they can achieve what I have now. It's not so much the material gains Cenikor allowed me to achieve, but the inner peace and confidence I have, because of learning a solid way of living. My wife, who has never needed recovery looked at me the other day because of the positive way I reacted to a potentially bad situation and said, "That place really changed you. Seems like even someone without addiction issues could use this type of change." I smiled and let her know that Cenikor is about more than simple recovery. You don't just recover your life, family, esteem... you gain things you never had.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Cenikor has put together a combination of life-giving, holistic services that really cannot be compared to any other organization that treats addiction recovery. In addition to a gradual and disciplined regimen of results-oriented challenges, residents undergo life re-entry and career advancement opportunities that simply cannot be achieved in a shorter-term program. I have been personally impacted by so many testimonials from residents who have shared diverse painful stories but the common thread has been the positive opportunities, accountability and inner change that has taken place in their lives through peer mentoring, self-fullfillment and disciplined accountability that is embedded in their treatment programs. I am proud to devote hours of my time as a volunteer to make sure this organization grows and continues to thrive as one of the most effective programs under watchful stewardship that is available and should continue to become an exemplary program for other rehabilitation facilities across the country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to add breadth to the career opportunities and world class care for residents and staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

The Cenikor Foundation absolutely changes the lives of those who are wrestling with addiction. They have a variety of therapeutic community options to fit the needs of all kinds of persons. I've kept in touch with many individuals who have graduated from the program and they are successful, loving, committed people - people who are dedicated to being productive, responsible members of society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a ton of money so they could market themselves better. Our society spends far too much of its resources dealing with addiction. Cenikor cures addiction - simple as that. Can you imagine the money we would have if we weren't spending it on incarceration of addicted persons?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at Cenikor for the past 4 years or so. Cenikor provides a way for people to break the cycle of addiction and reclaim their lives. It is a tough program, requiring a 2 year commitment, but the results are astounding. Equally impressive is that Cenikor is not dependent on federal funding, thank goodness! By the time someone graduates from the program, they have a job, a place to live, transportation, and 2 months savings in the bank. They also have their self-esteem and healed relationships with family and friends. I get to witness miracles at Cenikor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

Cenikor is the WORST kept secret! Their 2 year live-in Drug/Alcohol program has a very high rate of success for long term success with its resident run facilities, for a very low entry cost. Tours are available along with resident testimonies, which are so inspiring. The clients are provided education, skills, jobs, clothing, etc, and upon graduation, a job, skills and resources to re-enter society as a proud, competent, and contributing member of their families and communities. Community Partners are companies that hire the residents, and quite often employ them full time after graduation, with excellent results. Cenikor provides all the skills necessary for a satisfied and successful life, and most importantly, instills HOPE and discipline in each resident. The staff is dedicated and committed. They will gladly accept more Community Partners, Volunteers, clothing, shoes, toiletries, etc. Contact them for opportunities to speak at networking events, and be inspired!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing I would change. Getting the word out about this great non-profit is the challenge. It could be the epitome of a well run organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

It is very rewarding working with both the staff and residence of Cenikor, a long term drug and alcohol treatment program in Fort Worth. I have witnessed graduates of the 2 year program graduate from college and become very productive and useful members of society.
I not only serve on the
Advisory Council but am also fortunate enough to work for a company that is a vocational partner. I work daily with the residents and graduates. They are humble, high performing employees.
This is a great program that helps people who have made some poor decisions be able to get on their feet and with help, set-up to be successful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Incorporate 12 step programs early in the clients recovery process.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Cenikor is a great organization to work for. The impact the foundation has on the lives of it's clients is unsurpassed by the dedication of the employees to ensure that each client gets the knowledge and education they need to fight the disease of addiction. It is truly a wonderful place to work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers