Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.860475
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Cenikor is an amazing organization! I was first asked to join the advisory board for the Deer Park, Texas facility in 2004 by a co-worker that was retiring and wanted to fill his position on the board. Since that time I have seen many lives transformed from what would be described as a "no chance of survival" to being a truly productive citizen and functioning extremely well in and contributing to our society.
Cenikor is truly a place for change. If the individual that has made a few bad choices wants to turn their life around, stay out of trouble, make amends with family and friends and live a successful life that no longer includes addiction, Cenikor can and will help them.
One of the things that really amazed me was my first board meeting. As we introduced ourselves, many of the board members, who were currently successful businessmen, were former residents at Cenikor. Many of the employees at Cenikor are former residents, only testifying more that Cenikor is truly a place that can change lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to come up with a plan that would help establish more Cenikor facilities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Cenikor Foundation provides drug rehabilitation services. I have been donating to Cenikor Foundation since 1998. The foundation changes the lives of those individuals who have made poor choices, but desire to overcome those choices to become responsible and productive citizens free of substance abuse. The success rate for the foundation's rehabilitated graduates is unparalleled.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I work with a Cenikor graduate and she is one of the best people I know. I believe the service this organization provides is invaluable to those people who want to have a better life but don't know where to begin. The staff and facilities are wonderful and I am sure our neighborhood benefits greatly by having Cenikor around to give hope to those who temporarily misplaced it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a small building update

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Second chances do not come very often in life. I mean like real second chances; second chances to be a better person, to do better things and have a better life. Most addicts, my self included, allow themselves to settle for less than what they are worth because they don't believe they deserve more. Cenikor taught me to have faith in myself and to know, without a shadow of a doubt, that my life is important and I do matter. I love the person I am today. Thanks to Cenikor, I have been given an opportunity, a second chance, to change who I used to be into who I want to be.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Cenikor is different from "rehab" in that it focuses on changing your patterns of living. Although you learn to deal with emotions in a healthy manner, Cenikor also teaches residents to get out of their emotions so that those feelings don't guide their decisions. Clients spend over a year in the first phase of the program, in which they learn to live their daily life clean and sober. This re-inforces independence, self-respect, and responsible habits. Learning to deal with the constant change and instructional feedback of fellow residents not only toughens up residents for re-entry into life, but it also helps solidify personal boundaries and priorities. I can honestly say that Cenikor is a place for positive change unlike no other.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Introduce 12 step meetings earlier in the program

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

This was the biggest and toughest decision of my life. After spending a year with Texas Department of Corrections, I was helped by my family to enter Cenikor? At first, I was very adamant about not needing such a program especially after where I was. However, tough love won... I entered Cenikor in Deer Park, TX in Sept. 2009. The next 2 years were the hardest and most challenging years I endured, more so than my addiction. I graduated in Sept. 2011. Today I am honored and grateful to call myself a graduate. Cenikor helped me re-define who I am, re-develope skills both personally and professionally. It renewed my integrity, character and strength to be all that I can be, without being ashamed of where I was and where I had been. I have healthy and honest relationships with God, my family and friends. My family sleeps at night knowing I am safe and free from harm, and I have the rest of my life to enjoy 5 amazing nieces and nephews which without my sobriety I would never have had the chance. I share an amazing life with a man who loves me unconditionally and showed me that I could love again. I have a career with endless possibilities. I smile everyday, thank God everyday for the gift of having each day. Cenikor is not for those who don't have the true desire to change, it is only for those who truly have the heart and desire to want to do their life differently, everything differently. Friends, routines, habits, choices..... It doesn't happen overnight, yes it is a long two years, but one day at a time, and slowly you begin to see a difference and after 2 years you will love the difference it makes in everything you do!!! I not only love who I am today, but so do those closest to me. Cenikor is a place for change, a place for you to learn how to make productive, effective choices for your life and those in your life. Thank you Cenikor and their amazing staff!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As a member of the Advisory Board for the Houston facility, I have been able to work closely with staff as well as residents and must say this is the best program available for drug & alcohol recovery. Cenikor not only assists addicts with recovery but also life skills, work placement, education and the list goes on and on. The staff at Cenikor is truly invested in the residents, they are people, just like you and I and the staff appreciates this concept. I have and will continue to refer those in need to this program as well as refer willing volunteers to assist in the efforts of Cenikor.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I stop by the facility at least twice a month to share the joys of good living with the new residents. Although I worked at Cenikor from 2011 through 2013, I never thought of it as a job. It was an honor to be able to touch lives and since I am also a graduate of the program, many of the residents can identify with my story and believe that they can achieve what I have now. It's not so much the material gains Cenikor allowed me to achieve, but the inner peace and confidence I have, because of learning a solid way of living. My wife, who has never needed recovery looked at me the other day because of the positive way I reacted to a potentially bad situation and said, "That place really changed you. Seems like even someone without addiction issues could use this type of change." I smiled and let her know that Cenikor is about more than simple recovery. You don't just recover your life, family, esteem... you gain things you never had.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

My husband had found out about Cenikor thru a networking group.
I finally got to tour the facility myself on Oct 10th. I was very impressed
with their program and the structure they have established to help their
clients gain the skills they will need to become responsible members
of
their community again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I recently took a tour of the facility and was extremely impressed with the staff, facilities, program and residents. Everyone I met was willing to go the extra mile for the guests.

Cenikor appears to be an answer to prayer for someone close to me and I am so happy that I heard of the
program at this time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not applicable

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers