Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.7755
Write A Review
December 4, 2014

more

December 4, 2014

To whom it may concern,
My boyfriend is a deployed soldier who is in the Marines told me the other day that he some how dropped his phone in water which has ruined his iphone; he now has no way to talk to his son. Is there anyway to get him a free donated iphone sent to him ASAP? my name is
Debra Arnold please respond ASAP to my email address: angeldebra0214@ymail. com please help me to make it possible so this sad deployed soldier can talk to his son, it is Christmas and he won't be able to come home for Christmas. Please help make this Christmas special for this father and son.
Sincerely,
Debra Arnold
October 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I am the President of the KIWANIS Club of Poway and have been assisting with the collection of gently used cell phones as the Program Chair for the Cell-Phones-for-Soldiers (CPFS) organization. Our team of volunteers (Bob K., Dave M. & I) have it down to a science. Simply stated, Bob and I periodically collect the cell phones from collection boxes placed at our High School, Library, Local Banks and a few restaurants and then pass them on to Dave. Dave is our key volunteer for this program since he removes the batteries and also the sim cards from the phones, since many donors forget to remove both before donating their phone. Dave returns them to me and I obtain a prepaid shipping label from the CPFS organization so that (non-officer) military personnel stationed overseas can call their loved ones back home in the USA. As of today, our KIWANIS Club of Poway has collected over 2,600 cell phones since April 2012! Ten years ago our Poway City Council adopted the 1st Light Armored Reconnaissance Battalion of the 1st Marine Division based at Camp Pendleton. These courageous men and women serving our country were able to utilize the 60 minute prepaid calling cards (each phone collected earns one 60 minute prepaid international calling card) while stationed on overseas duty, since their Family Readiness Officer (Michelle K) reached out to CPFS to obtain more than 300 calling cards for the 1st LAR Battalion unit. Last year, I was collecting a box of recyclable cell phones, and a mother of a military troop said she was really excited to learn about this great program and would have her son contact the CPFS organization to see if he could qualify in obtaining a phone card since he was stationed in the Middle East. This mother said she rarely spoke to her young 20 year old son because they had to limit their conversation to 3 minutes since the costs were prohibitive (she quoted me $40/minute). Tears filled my eyes since I am a mother and cannot imagine the feeling of being limited in speaking to my son/daughter for only 3 minutes twice a month. We often take freedom for granted but must remember to help those who continue to fight for freedom and democracy. If you have cell phones that are no longer being used, please donate them to the CPFS program. Website: http://www.cellphonesforsoldiers.com/ THANK YOU.

God Bless America,

Joyce H., KIWANIS Club of Poway, President
October 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I am speaking as a mother, I feel that if this program assisting soldiers did not exist, families would not be able to keep in touch with loved ones. It is important for people here at home, to hear, from our beloved soldiers here and abroad
October 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I am from the corporate office of Pak Mail Centers of America, and our office and our nationwide franchised locations are long time supporters of Cell Phones for Soldiers. This organization is one of the most amazing non-profit operations that supports our military.

We recently teamed up
with Cell Phones for Soldiers for a month-long phone donation drive for Military Appreciation Month this past May. Our franchisees look forward to helping boost cell phone donations, and when we have military-focused events, holidays, and everyday social media promotions, we always look for ways to team with with CPFS.

Pak Mail locations collect mobile phone donations and ship to Cell Phones for Soldiers partner, who refurbishes the phones to then provide calling cards for soldiers serving overseas. It is a program that all Pak Mail locations are proud to support, and we are proud to partner and support Cell Phones for Soldiers in any way that we can!
October 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Hello, I was introduced to Cell Phones For Soldiers when my son was sent to OIF in 2005. I worked for a local "Bank" at that time that had a Veterans Team Member Network program and I became involved with them. While we were gathering items to send overseas to the troops I heard about this program. I gathered cell phones from our whole Division and then some from other Divisions and turned them in on a quarterly basis. I was able to speak to my son daily through his MOS being in communications, but the other men (USMarines) didn't have that luxury so I began sending them cards. It truly made their days knowing they could call home and talk with their friends and families, just to hear a familiar voice, and it was a free gift.

Our military gives so much for us, along with their families. This program has been a God send to those who had no other way to call home. The process of gathering these phones and submitting them to the addressed facility is all very simple..........

I would like to say thank you to the brother/sister team that created this option. You have done an absolutely awesome job and from what I recently read on your website you have started branching out for the Veterans that are returning home. Stick with it, we will continue to help you and our military, just keep us posted............. From a Very Proud USM MOM, I thank you. Georgina Turner, Salisbury NC 10202014

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 23, 2010

Cell Phones for Soldiers was founded in 2004 by siblings, Brittany and Robbie Bergquist when they were just 12 and 13 years old. The mission of the charity is to provide free communications to troops... more

October 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was first involved with Cell Phones for Soldiers as an employee of the company that processed the donated phones. I was so impressed with the dedication, hard work, compassion and caring of the organization and in particular the Bergquist family. Their tireless efforts have improved the lives of thousands of military men and women and their families. It is an honor to continue to support this organization as a donor and volunteer.
March 23, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Cell Phones for Soldiers was founded in 2004 by siblings, Brittany and Robbie Bergquist when they were just 12 and 13 years old. The mission of the charity is to provide free communications to troops before, during and after deployment. On average, Cell Phones for Soldiers provides over 7,000 prepaid calling cards every week. This enables military families to talk to their loved ones without creating a financial burden. Thousands of troops and their families have been given the priceless gift of a phone call home, as they defend our freedom across the globe.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

greeting troops at Pease AFB in New Hampshire as they are able to speak with their loved ones.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them some more volunteer help to keep things running smoothly and to give the family a break.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing first hand the generosity of others, and the hard work of two incredible teenagers who cared enough about our troops to start this charity.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The Bergquist family and a handful of volunteers that make certain that troops have the ability to call their loved ones.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

provide a prepaid cell phone to every veteran that needs it.

Ways to make it better...

there were more awareness about the need and more people would donate their used cell phones or cash to support the charity.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

the increasing needs of deployed troops, veterans and their families. As more are deployed, the need becomes greater on a daily basis.

One thing I'd also say is that...

the work of this organization is incredible. The Bergquist family manages to juggle full time jobs, school and social activities while running this charity from their home.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Beginning at a dining room table by 2 very compassionate teens, Cell Phones for Soldiers was born. This organization has provided that ever-important link to their loved ones at no cost while serving far from home. In my opinion, Cell Phones For Soldiers is the greatest non-profit for providing free calling cards to our service men and women.
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Cell Phones For Soldiers since they were founded in 2004. They have changed the lives of thousands of military families by providing free calling cards to our troops which allow them to stay connected to their families while they are deployed all around the globe. Cell Phones For Soldiers has been the life mission of the Bergquist family for the last decade and as the charity enters its second decade they are expanding their mission to provide support to our military veterans through Helping Heroes Home, a sister organization to Cell Phones For Soldiers, This selfless family is devoted to giving back to our troops and veterans who have done so much for our great country.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Cell Phones For Soldiers is a wonderful organization that provides free calling cards to our brave service men and women abroad so that they can call home for free. And it's all thanks to those volunteers and generous donors out there that collect and donate their old cell phones to the charity. Any active duty military member or veteran can request calling cards directly on their website. What a way to support our troops overseas so they can stay strong by connecting to their loved ones! They also support veterans in need with their sister charity Helping Heroes Home. Love this charity!
October 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Cell Phones for Soldiers consistently provides necessary lines of communication for men and women serving overseas at no cost to the recipient -- It is easy to donate, request calling cards, or ask questions of the Bergquist family, who continue to run this charity out of their home. A truly grassroots organization from top to bottom!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Organize a cell phone collection drive in your neighborhood, local school organization, or youth group. Initiate a fundraising opportunity such as a bake sales, raffle, car wash, sports party, pancake or BBQ sale.