Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.25
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Tony may come across as gruff, but he is a dog person not a people person. We are looking to get a 2nd dog from him and will drive 4 hours one way to do it. The reason being his care for these dogs once he rescues them from shelters is second to none. He trains the dogs, they will sit, they will ring a bell to go potty, and they have no issues with crates... You could not ask for better. If you and your spouse are both a good fit for the dog then you will be getting a forever friend for your home.
July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

My wife and I adopted a collie / retriever mix from Cedar Farm, after initially driving out to Mocksville to meet two other dogs at Cedar Farm. After discussing our experience with pets, how this would be our first dog together... Tony advised against the dogs we were initially considering and showed us some other rescues.

Now at first, i was skeptical, since i'm sensitive to any sort of bait / switch shenanigans... but after our experience 90 days or so in with our new puppy, the 3rd one he brought out after our discussion... he was spot on! Our dog's personality is a perfect fit for us, and the cute but high maintenance pups we were initially interested in were probably much more than we could handle.

Tony's heart is definitely in the right place, though he may come off as a little gruff and abrasive, he's ultimately trying to put good dogs in healthy homes... setting up his clients and his rescues for success. I can totally second that you should listen to the man when discussing potty training, his method definitely works.

He definitely goes the extra mile, in our case , a delivery to Charlotte through Friday afternoon traffic with a car-sick dog in the back seat.

Our rescue has a disclosed medical issue, and Tony was completely up front about it and gave us data and images from the vet, along with 2 trips to the vet to see if the condition would impact spaying/neutering... She's in great shape today and we jog around the park every morning as part of our routine.

It was a huge bonus that our rescue came with a good grasp on crate training / potty training, was already fixed, had initial rounds of vaccinations, all from an organization that asks for very little regarding donations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Really emphasize the "right dog for the right family" mentality early in the process, even if that stipulation scares away a few families who just find a cute puppy listed online and MUST HAVE IT. this is a tough balance to strike, since it may have even kept us from making the trip and finding our new dog. The interview is critical, and it really set us up for success with our new pup.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

We were very happy with the communications and service we got from Tony and Alisa at Cedar Farm Rescue -- even though we ended up bringing back the dog we adopted. That was no one's fault, includiing that of the adorable dog Tony delivered to us (a four hour drive). She had too much exuberance and bounce for our 5 y/o cocker and needed a home were she could be lavished with attention without competing. Tony is understanding, agreeable, cooperative and totally focused on the well-being of the dogs he and Alisa find and take care of. He was respectful of us, keenly interested in finding a good match for our sweet cocker, AND had no problem taking the dog we chose back when it wasn't a good fit. As he said--and this made us feel better about bringing her back--if it's not a good fit the dog will know. We had a terrible time making the decision to take her back because she is a great dog, but Tony helped us all the way. We have so much respect for what he does and how he handles the rescue transaction. He is totally about the dogs, as someone else said. If you're totally about the dogs too, you can't hope to adopt from a better rescue organization. Also: his dogs are in beautiful condition, happy and well-trained (including a potty-training system that absolutely works--do NOT ignore him when he tells you how to follow up). The dogs get a great start in life, or a second chance, at Cedar Farm Rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it possible for Tony and Alisa to rescue more dogs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Adopted a terrier mix from Tony. He is straightforward, businesslike, and absolutely dedicated to the dogs he rescues. I can totally see where he comes off as brusque. Don't be fooled. He's just not interested in wasting his time or yours. We were pleased with the initial phone conversations, with the selection of dogs he brought to meet our family based on those conversations, with his recommendations, with his personable nature during the meet and greet, with his willingness to drive an hour to evaluate our home and deliver the dog, with the thoroughness of his documentation and with the obvious tenderness with which he regards his charges.

This isn't the first complaint I've seen about Tony online, and that's the rub...it's not about you or Tony. It's about the animals. Rescue is a hard, risky business. By my lights, Tony and Cedar Farm are doing a fine job.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was actually not served , but wanted to be. There was a dog that I really wanted to have a chance to rescue, but the man who runs the nonprofit, Tony, would not meet me and my husband seperatley with our daughter. I am a flight attendant and work an opposite schedule from my husband who travels all week for business. I was willing to drive two hours round trip with my daughter and have my husband do the same on the weekend so that he could see all of us with the dog. He refused and I feel that was certainly not having the pets best interest at heart. We treat our dogs better than most people treat their children and he was very unwilling to work with me. The animals would be better served by someone who is a bit more flexible, especially since they are the ones he is hurting. I had read reviews that accused him of being rude and it surely was the case. I had to speak with him three thimes before he even told me his name and I had to ask then. Please find another place to send donations if you are looking to help an animal.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers