Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I have worked with Catvando for almost 3 years and think it is a very effective way of helping cats. We "trap, neuter and return" hundreds of outdoor cats, preventing even more hundreds of stray and f... more

October 9, 2013

I have been working with this organization as a volunteer for 3+ years now. Our primary focus is helping feral cats by getting them spayed or neutered and returned to a colony where they will be fed and sheltered. We also try to identify stray cats and do all we can to either get them back to their owners or find them homes. Some of the cats we try to rehome have been nursed back to health from severe trauma or health issues. Every year we have a few kittens to find homes for also; usually the offspring of cats we trap and neuter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more volunteers. Get more space.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

I have worked with Catvando for almost 3 years and think it is a very effective way of helping cats. We "trap, neuter and return" hundreds of outdoor cats, preventing even more hundreds of stray and feral cats. We also rescue cats and kittens that need medical attention, and help the adoptable ones find homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

Catvando is an organization that has saved and improved the lives of countless cats and kittens. While driving around the back of a local hardware store about 8 months ago, I notices about 8 cats in the area. I had just finished grocery shopping, so I had a bag of cat food. I emptied the entire bag on the ground, then turned the corner. Upon doing so. I noticed a sign saying , do not feed the cats. It went on to explaing that they were being fed by a volunteer and explained the idea of trap, neuter, and return. Writing the phone numner of Catvando was the start of learning about this amazing organization, and the compassionate, tireless, woman who started this organization. Since then I have seen the many cats and kittens that have been given a chance at life by being trapped, neutered/spayed , and returned under the care of a volunteer who feeds and cares for them. If not for this organization, these cats would be hungry, sick, and continue producing more and more unwanted, homeless cats. Cats that require medical attention, receive it with loving care. Those cats that are not feral, but are homeless strays, are found homes as often as possible. I have even had the opportunity to trap some kittens, name them, and become their colony caregiver. This is a honest, compassionate non-profit that is making a difference. I am glad I took the route behing the hardware store.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Since becoming aware of the sad life of feral cats I have found others who can make a difference. CatVando definitely has made a difference in the lives of many many cats and helped countless citizens to find compassion for these loving creatures. After having a kitten problem years ago I realized the answer was not to capture them and eliminate them but to spay and neuter. The cats I have come to know, feed and shelter are close to my heart. The relentless hard work of the leader of this group and volunteers have made an impact on the population of feral cats and their quality of life by educating the public with solutions .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

While the numbers of Street Cats (ferals and strays) are ever increasing in communities all over, rare is the organization with a effective solution that addresses the issue with humanity. CatVando is that rare organization. They work with individuals and communities to identify cat colonies. They instruct on TNR (trap, neuter and return) and the management of colonies. Though sterilization and controlled feeding, cat colonies are reduced through natural attrition. CatVando continues to promote TNR to municipalities in t in southwestern Chicago and surrounding communities. CatVando is a small organization that does a tremendous amount of good work. They are truly remarkable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

When we first met Ellen the founder of CATVANDO we new she was someone that really care's about all the forgotten and discarded cat's living on the street's.She educated us on TNR which is the only solution to keep the cat population from getting out of hand.And let me tell ya it really work's.Ellen has a great group of volunteer's that work hard having yard sale's to pay for all the TNR'S,food medical need's etc. We can't say enough about Ellen, what a wonderfull caring person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I have been working with CatVando since Feb. 2012. The founder of this Trap Neuter and Return charity (Ellen Miles) is a person who loves and really wants to help the cats in the street. She has helped me and many others who have cats in their areas, to keep the cats from multiplying. This charity has helped cats that have been injured and sick. It is a great charity and I am proud to be a vounteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

All animals need help. The feral and or stray cats seem to be the forgotten ones. CatVando fills this void with passion and committment. They are truly a grassroots organization that is totally committed to helping feral and stray cats through TNR and educating the community. Their primary mission is help reduce and care for cats living in our communities. Their secondary mission is to promote respect for life. They have educated me in making me aware of the need for tnr in our communities and the help that the cats need when living outdoors. Fenisia P acini

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

awesome cat loving charity, they serve homeless cats, blessings

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers