Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

When I moved into my current neighborhood one of the neighbors pointed out the various cats and told me they were strays. I mentioned to an aquaintance that I was involved in cat rescue in California and they brought me a flyer that mentioned Catvando. I made contact and was provided traps and was able to TNR the cats in my vicinity. The people at Catvando made arrangements to have the cats neutered and provided with medical care. The neighbors commented about how fat the cats are now because they are so well fed. As an animal lover I am thankful for Catvando and the love and care they give to the strays and ferals in the Western Suburbs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

Five years ago in January, we had six cats living on our alley and new ones coming in any time soon. We didn’t know what to do. We fed them, but realized that there will be two litters probably from half of them each year and in the long run - it would financially get harder for us to feed them all. The neighbors seemed not to care and we were really desperate. I emailed almost every animal/pet/anti cruelty/humane organization in Chicago, described the situation and asked what to do. We knew that animal control takes cats but, they take them to pounds where pets get killed. After few days, I got a call from Ellen from Catvando. She came to our house, explained the whole TNR idea (we hadn’t heard about it before) and showed what to do to make cats come to our cats. What Ellen told us made sense and we decided to take a try. Within two weeks we managed to ’move’ and feed cats to our patio and slowly familiarize them with traps. Then one Friday night, we caught all of them and early Saturday morning we drove to the vet to have them neutralized, vaccinated, and micro chipped. For three days after that, we took care of them in our garage until they healed and later let them out. Since then, there have not been new kittens in our neighborhood and the cats keep coming for food every day and in the winter use shelters that we built for them.

If Ellen (Catvando) did not contact us back then and helped us to TNR our cats, by now we would probably have tens of cats. What’s worse, possibly some of the kittens would not make it through the winter… Now, the ones that are left are strong and healthy and they don’t reproduce.

Thank you Ellen!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I was in a desperate situation: facing foreclosure, with no money, and a garage full of feral cats and kittens. I couldn't bear the thought of leaving all these little ones behind to starve (or worse), and contacted dozens of organizations for help. Catvando was the only organization that stepped up to help me. Ellen Miles is an absolute Angel to these cats....the ferals....the ones that nobody wants. With Catvando's help, my ferals were all TNR'd, and I was able to bring several adults with me to my new residence. This has meant so much to me. I can't say enough good things about this organization, they gave me hope, and more importantly, they gave my feral cats a chance, when no one else would.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I have been working with CatVando since Feb. 2012. The founder of this Trap Neuter and Return charity (Ellen Miles) is a person who loves and really wants to help the cats in the street. She has helped me and many others who have cats in their areas, to keep the cats from multiplying. This charity has helped cats that have been injured and sick. It is a great charity and I am proud to be a vounteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

There is a big problem with feral cats in our community. Catvando has been the most helpful in not only helping to keep this problem under control but has helped others in other communites by teaching them the benefits of TNR, neutering, and humane ways to help feral felines. In addition to this, they also help domesticated cats when the owners are no longer able to care for them. I have contacted them whenever I have issues with feral cats whether it be sheltering, feeding, or health issues and there is always someone on their staff who is knowledgeable enough to provide advice and guidance. As busy as they are, their tireless fundraising work is another indication of their commitment to caring for these unfortunate creatures.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

My grandmother used to say that God created certain people to take care of the "orphans of the storm." Over my lifetime, I've had a 3 legged cat, a one-eyed car, and a one-eared cat. But the people at Catvando take care of such cats every single day. So many cats with severe injuries and infections, all lovingly cared for and rehabilitated and neutered. Some are returned to feral cat colonies that are monitored by Catvando volunteers, and some are adopted. None are ignored. I adopted two of their orphans, and enjoy their company very much. This is a great organization that operates on a shoestring, and 100% of donations go straight to the cats. Maureen Sullivan

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

All animals need help. The feral and or stray cats seem to be the forgotten ones. CatVando fills this void with passion and committment. They are truly a grassroots organization that is totally committed to helping feral and stray cats through TNR and educating the community. Their primary mission is help reduce and care for cats living in our communities. Their secondary mission is to promote respect for life. They have educated me in making me aware of the need for tnr in our communities and the help that the cats need when living outdoors. Fenisia P acini

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about CatVando. They are an organization filled with tiredless volunteers who believe in the trap, neauter, return program for cats. The coordinator and founder of CatVando, Ellen Miles, is such a caring and knowledgeable person. The time she devotes to this cause is beyond commendable. They have rescued thousands of homeless cats, nursed them back to health and found loving homes also. They run training programs for people to show them how to take care of colonies of cats and prevent the multiplication of them. Their resources are little, yet they continue to work long and hard hours doing all they can to continue their mission. They need and deserve everyone's donations to continue doing their good work. CatVando is the angel to homeless cats. Please consider donating to their organization today.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

awesome cat loving charity, they serve homeless cats, blessings

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers