Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I have worked with Catvando for almost 3 years and think it is a very effective way of helping cats. We "trap, neuter and return" hundreds of outdoor cats, preventing even more hundreds of stray and f... more

October 9, 2013

I have been working with this organization as a volunteer for 3+ years now. Our primary focus is helping feral cats by getting them spayed or neutered and returned to a colony where they will be fed and sheltered. We also try to identify stray cats and do all we can to either get them back to their owners or find them homes. Some of the cats we try to rehome have been nursed back to health from severe trauma or health issues. Every year we have a few kittens to find homes for also; usually the offspring of cats we trap and neuter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more volunteers. Get more space.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

I have worked with Catvando for almost 3 years and think it is a very effective way of helping cats. We "trap, neuter and return" hundreds of outdoor cats, preventing even more hundreds of stray and feral cats. We also rescue cats and kittens that need medical attention, and help the adoptable ones find homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

Catvando is an organization that has saved and improved the lives of countless cats and kittens. While driving around the back of a local hardware store about 8 months ago, I notices about 8 cats in the area. I had just finished grocery shopping, so I had a bag of cat food. I emptied the entire bag on the ground, then turned the corner. Upon doing so. I noticed a sign saying , do not feed the cats. It went on to explaing that they were being fed by a volunteer and explained the idea of trap, neuter, and return. Writing the phone numner of Catvando was the start of learning about this amazing organization, and the compassionate, tireless, woman who started this organization. Since then I have seen the many cats and kittens that have been given a chance at life by being trapped, neutered/spayed , and returned under the care of a volunteer who feeds and cares for them. If not for this organization, these cats would be hungry, sick, and continue producing more and more unwanted, homeless cats. Cats that require medical attention, receive it with loving care. Those cats that are not feral, but are homeless strays, are found homes as often as possible. I have even had the opportunity to trap some kittens, name them, and become their colony caregiver. This is a honest, compassionate non-profit that is making a difference. I am glad I took the route behing the hardware store.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Since becoming aware of the sad life of feral cats I have found others who can make a difference. CatVando definitely has made a difference in the lives of many many cats and helped countless citizens to find compassion for these loving creatures. After having a kitten problem years ago I realized the answer was not to capture them and eliminate them but to spay and neuter. The cats I have come to know, feed and shelter are close to my heart. The relentless hard work of the leader of this group and volunteers have made an impact on the population of feral cats and their quality of life by educating the public with solutions .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

This is an amazing organization that helps stop the stray cat population from being so high. CatVando takes in homeless cats and gets them neutered so that they cannot keep having kittens. This is a huge impact on having a bunch cats on the loose with no homes, and shes raising all of the money on her own and doing this out of the kindness of her heart.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

CatVando is a 5 stars organizaion it helps the abandoned strays and the helpless cats born on the streets. The feral cat population is estimated to be sixty million. The life expectancy of a stray/feral cat is less than 2 years. Unfortunately its to late for the cats that are already out there. CatVandos trap neuter and release program will stop hundreds of unwanted cats from being born.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

While the numbers of Street Cats (ferals and strays) are ever increasing in communities all over, rare is the organization with a effective solution that addresses the issue with humanity. CatVando is that rare organization. They work with individuals and communities to identify cat colonies. They instruct on TNR (trap, neuter and return) and the management of colonies. Though sterilization and controlled feeding, cat colonies are reduced through natural attrition. CatVando continues to promote TNR to municipalities in t in southwestern Chicago and surrounding communities. CatVando is a small organization that does a tremendous amount of good work. They are truly remarkable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I had called CatVando for help and advice on trapping a mother cat and her babies. CatVando loaned me the traps, helped me set them up, transported the animals once they were trapped for the spay/neuter and took care of them during their recovery. CatVando also found the animals a new living area once they had recovered. This organization is outstanding in their caring help and support of the animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I worked with CatVando in capturing several semi-feral cats on the grounds of a Hospital. They were remarkable in completing the task of TNR and assisting with care. I now care for several of the cats that were trapped and neutered. Without the help of CatVando, the population of kittens has stopped. Prior to this many were taken by wildlife and did not fair well. They have both saved ktterns and saved the adult cats. During my experience with them they also saved some dogs. This organization is outstanding and always available for advise and assistance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I met the founder of CatVando Ellen Miles over 10 years ago when I became her petsitter for her dogs & cat at that time. Over the years as CatVando came into being, I always knew Ellen to be a compassionate, caring & kind person who had a true "calling" in helping to save animals, particularly cats, from the harsh & sad situations that arise from living on the streets & being feral. Ellen seems to be a "wonder woman" in that she has boundless energy & endless knowledge when it comes to caring for the homeless cats & kittens that she finds & who are fortunate to find their way to her. But Ellen is also blessed with wonderful, caring & dedicated helpers, all volunteers who help get the various jobs done that are needed in order for CatVando to exist. I have adopted 2 beautiful kittens (Toesie & Lucy) whom I adore from CatVando and I tell all of my kitty clients, along w/anyone I know who may be interested in adopting a cat or kitten to seek out CatVando. I am grateful to Ellen & all her wonderful volunteers for not only bringing Toesie & Lucy into my life, but also for caring for the stray & homeless kitties living on the streets.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

When we first met Ellen the founder of CATVANDO we new she was someone that really care's about all the forgotten and discarded cat's living on the street's.She educated us on TNR which is the only solution to keep the cat population from getting out of hand.And let me tell ya it really work's.Ellen has a great group of volunteer's that work hard having yard sale's to pay for all the TNR'S,food medical need's etc. We can't say enough about Ellen, what a wonderfull caring person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers