Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.705885
Write A Review
October 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been with The Catty Shack for over a year now working as a volunteer. The opportunities offered for individuals to help is endless. I used to be a designer and in sales...these days I spend my days caring for the ranches residence and building and repairing habitats. The people who run this facility have dedicated their lives to providing a safe and living home for these animals and truly appreciate the volunteers who assist on a daily basis. I hear on a dsily basis how blessed they are by their volunteers and how they couldn't do all they do without us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My wish would be for more funding so that we can further enrich our resident's lives with more space and newer enclosures for everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Never met so many people who care so much for what they do. These animals are in some of the best hands in the world. So much love and such a great team I will be out there as long as they need help. I love going and I look forward to being there all week. I love catty shack and I love every single animal out there. They each have their own personality and the volunteers always have great things going on for the animals, Thank you catty shack you have really made a great impact in my life as well as each and every animal you save.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help even more, Nothing needs to change in my eyes,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering at the Catty Shack Ranch for 8 years now and love every minute of it. It is a place where I can go & be with great people and of course, wonderful animals. Being able to help these animals is the best feeling in the world. All our volunteers take their jobs very seriously to make sure all our animals are well taken care of at all times. The cats receive excellent medical care, are feed proper amounts of food, given enrichment activities and are loved. I will always volunteer at the Catty Shack!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to win lottery to help out all the big kitties.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer for over 9 years now and love every minute of it. Working customer service can put you on edge sometimes. Catty shack is the best therapy ever. The people/volunteers are just the greatest. The big cat appreciate and love you for everything you do for them. Just knowing that there's a wonderful organization like the Catty Shack is my zen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put it in my back yard (not enough room though).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering at the Catty Shack Ranch for four years and am loving every minute. This place has filled a niche in my life that I never knew was missing. What started as a way for me to give back to my community has turned into my 2nd family, and they will never fully realize just how much they have given back to me.
The residence at the ranch aren't just animals. They are Freddy, Sarah, Val, B.J, Sheba, Nollie, Coco and many more. Each have their own personalities and individual needs. It's hard work, but with generous donations and diligent volunteers the ranch is evolving to fill those needs. I feel privileged to be apart of it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A larger facility would be awesome! The ranch is currently located on 10 acres...and with our rapid expansion (new residence & building larger habitats for our existing residence) we are quickly running out of space.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering a little over two years ago. I found Catty Shack Ranch on www.volunteermatch.org and visited for an afternoon tour. The people were very friendly and the animals looked well cared for. I decided to start volunteering and have enjoyed every day since I started.

The
volunteers are the best group of people I have ever worked with. They all work toward one goal -creating a healthy, stress-free environment for the animals. We have ongoing construction and repair projects, an enrichment team that provides fun activities for the animals, and lots of general work to keep this facility operating. It is a labor of love for everyone involved.

My work includes cleaning enclosures, general maintenance, yard work, giving tours, and helping feed the animals. I love giving tours, introducing people to our residents and educating them about the different species. It is wonderful to see their amazement as they pass big cats lounging or playing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more space so we could build more enclosures and rescue more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering here while I was in college, and have stayed ever since. I love it! Catty Shack is filled with wonderful animals and fantastic volunteers. Everyone that volunteers here truly cares about the animals and only wants the best for them. All our residents receive great enrichment activities, have a wonderful diet, and are always happy and relaxed (often, when they take their "cat naps," you'll find them laying on their back with their belly in the air!) And, of course, Catty Shack is a forever home for all the animals - we don't breed, sell, or trade any of them!

As a volunteer, I help with a variety of projects throughout the ranch, including checking visitors in and leading tours. I love being able to educate visitors on these animals, both about their species in captivity and in the wild. Nothing is more gratifying than having visitors tell us how much they learned about our residents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more space/land to allow for even more growth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After looking for something different to do in Jacksonville, I discovered the Catty Shack Ranch which came highly rated by Trip Advisor. My family and I visited the Ranch for a Nightime Feeding and we were thoroughly amazed! From the excitement of the feedings to the cleanliness of the facility, the care and love of the animals and the friendliness of the volunteers, we knew this would be a place that we would return to.....and so we did!

This time, we have returned as new volunteers and are excited to help!

If you haven't considered volunteering here, just take the time to visit and I'm sure you will change your mind. What a wonderful place this is!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see them expand. Even though the current facility resides on 10 acres, the unfortunate demand for new residency is abundant.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been volunteering at Catty Shack for a few months now and I absolutely love it. My brother used to volunteer at the Ranch and I was skeptical about whether it was right for me because I'm not usually the type to do a lot of manual labor. I started volunteering at the events and found there's always something that suites every volunteers' skill set. I lead tours, do concessions, and park cars. I always feel like I make a big difference in the animals' lives even if it's something as simple and telling cars where to park.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at the Catty Shack Ranch for 6 years and have loved every day! It takes a lot of hard work and dedication and it is certainly a dirty job but it is the most rewarding experience I have ever had. I have witnessed insurmountable progress and it is only the beginning!! We are consistently building new habitats for the animals and our volunteers work tirelessly to make every visitor's experience the best possible! We are open to the public every weekend and provide educated tours for school groups throughout the week. We have also been rated #1 on Jacksonville's TripAdivisor for over a year! Please gather some friends and family and take a day (or night) to come see all of the beautiful animals and get a guided tour by one of our fantastic volunteers! I promise you will love it!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The Catty Shack Ranch currently resides on 10 acres but is quickly shrinking with the addition of new rescues. We are currently looking for more property (100 acres at the minimum) where we can provide more homes for other animals in need of a forever home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a huge impact on an endangered big cat! Volunteer