Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.423735
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
February 21, 2013

Why is it this charity and most others like Doctors without borders, when they get a donation hit you up for another one by return mail??. How foolish of them as I and I am sure many others than put them at the back of the line for the next one.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I no longer donate to Catholic Relief Services because of their support for pro-Abortion groups such as: the CORE group and MEDiCAM. Suggest you Google pro-abortion and Catholic Relief Services for yourself.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Worldwide, this organization is always at the forefront of assisting in any disaster. Great organization- I've been a donor for 25+ years and will continue to make this my priority organization to support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm having extraoardinary difficulties in discontinuing my monthly donation with them (needed due to own issues). They won't help at the main donation number (but they will of course take money), and they send you to another number (toll) that no one answers and doesn't have voice mail. I had to address it with my credit card company, ultimately. If you sign up with them for recurring conations, be aware that they will not help you stop them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have been giving to CRS for over 40 years now. I was initially drawn by their international outlook and especially their programs to provide a safe water supply in developing nations. As I learned more about the organization, my interest expanded to include AIDS, micro-finance and emergency assistance. I have personally not been out in the field but my son, who is an economist, lived in various countries in Africa for over 10 years and has been unstinting in his praise of their work.
Considering the expense involved in sending staff overseas, it is amazing how low their overhead is.
I have met a number of staff and found each person to be dedicated, open and warm. Thank you for enabling me, as a member of the Body of Christ, to be present to those in need across the globe.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

As a Catholic and a global citizen, my faith practice and my vision of a just world are made more real because of the work CRS makes possible.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2011

more

November 11, 2011

My daughter and I have had the wonderful opportunity of personally witnessing the outstanding charitable work performed by Catholic Relief Services and it partners in India.

In 2008 we traveled with CRS and visited 5 cities throughout India including Mumbai, Calcutta and Delhi. In each
city we were deeply moved by the dedication of the CRS staff and its partners in positively changing lives. We were very fortunate to see first hand the life saving and life sustaining work that CRS is accomplishing in this country.

We witnessed CRS helping young children on the streets of Mumbai learn to read on a true "school" bus, we witnessed life saving programs helping young girls escape the streets of the city, we saw food and sanitation programs effectively delivered both in the city and in rural areas south of Calcutta. We also saw the work done by partners running schools, orphanages and homes for the poor and dying.

We came away from our 9 day trip highly impressed by the effectiveness and the impact that CRS and its programs are having on the poor and marginalized in India.







The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

traveling to witness in person the difference they are making in lives. In addition to India, I have traveled to Africa on two occasions viewing the outstanding work and great progress CRS is making in combatting poverty.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work to see that they receive increased funding from government grants, corporations and individuals as they are an extremely effective deliverer of resources to the poor.

March 24, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I have suported CRS since 2000, and believed it to be an organization that spent its income wisely and one that respected the dignity of human life regardless of income, status, or circumstance.

My parents have donated to CRS every year for the past 7 years. This morning, I received my
first telemarketing call from CRS, and the caller's crassness made it clear to me that the organization does not respect human dignity.

I told the telemarketer that my father was deceased, after which the caller again demanded that I tell her whether my father would send a check. I then told her that my father was dead, at which point the caller requested permission to retain him on her list.

I contacted Donor Relations and was told my mother and father's names would be removed from correspondence, but that CRS hired paid telemarketers on a regular basis.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I had heard for over 10 years about the good work this organization did. This morning, a paid telemarketer called my while I was still asleep, demanded to speak with my father (who died less than 2 weeks ago), and then started demanding money from my late father.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Eliminate paid third-party telemarketers and be honest about what it spends on fund-raising. Show respect toward your donors - if you don't, you probably done responct your "clients" either.

February 6, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 6, 2011

This is a wonderful organization, with dedicated, qualified staff, who make every effort to serve their local clients and to spend every dollar very wisely. It has a very low overhead, considering the breadth and depth of the programs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Benin, West Africa, 1973-75, when I lived next door to the Director of Catholic Relief Services

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help it grow !

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Past experience with relieving hunger in Africa in mid-1970s

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

February 4, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2011

Catholic Relief Services makes me proud to be Catholic. The organization fulfills the Gospel call to serve the least of our brothers and sisters--while teaching us how great the least really are. CRS embodies the principles of Catholic social teaching, providing a hand up, not a hand out. I love this organization! It inspires me to say yes to my own baptismal call as a disciple of Jesus Christ.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

so many ways--emergency relief, education, microfinancing, food safety, etc.........

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get the word out about all the great things CRS does. It's not known enough--even within the Church.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers