Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.306125
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm having extraoardinary difficulties in discontinuing my monthly donation with them (needed due to own issues). They won't help at the main donation number (but they will of course take money), and they send you to another number (toll) that no one answers and doesn't have voice mail. I had to address it with my credit card company, ultimately. If you sign up with them for recurring conations, be aware that they will not help you stop them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

CRS is the U.S. Catholic foreign relief and development agency. I have been a very appreciative and proud supporter of CRS for several decades. CRS does a very professional and efficient job of helping and empowering people in about 100 countries throughout the world. Working mostly through local churches, we take advantage of our existing infrastructure to efficiently help in times of disaster (like the Haiti earthquake) and empower under-developed communities to be healthier physically and economically. We also have successful peacekeeping programs. For the last four years I have been a CRS Fair Trade Ambassador promoting Fair Trade (a great development and justice tool) in my parish and diocese and pretty much everywhere I go. The staff in Baltimore is very supportive and appreciative of the work that we ambassadors do within our communities. It is an honor and a pleasure to do this volunteer work for CRS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have been giving to CRS for over 40 years now. I was initially drawn by their international outlook and especially their programs to provide a safe water supply in developing nations. As I learned more about the organization, my interest expanded to include AIDS, micro-finance and emergency assistance. I have personally not been out in the field but my son, who is an economist, lived in various countries in Africa for over 10 years and has been unstinting in his praise of their work.
Considering the expense involved in sending staff overseas, it is amazing how low their overhead is.
I have met a number of staff and found each person to be dedicated, open and warm. Thank you for enabling me, as a member of the Body of Christ, to be present to those in need across the globe.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

CRS makes a special effort to involve college students and young adults in its international development work. It does not do this in a traditional manner of providing service trips but rather educates young adults about the lives of people in developing countries and about the systemic causes of issues indigenous people face. CRS helps young Americans gain in-depth knowledge about developing countries and respect for what people on the ground are doing to improve their lives. CRS involves young Americans through webinars, media-assisted dialogue, social media, and other advanced means. They have made a real commitment to young Americans, not for fund-raising purposes, but as an investment in long-term understanding.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Catholic Relief Services continues to be critical to providing support to those in need around the world. Efficiently administrated and motivated by their deep desire to fulfill the Gospel values, CRS makes our world a better place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Catholic Relief Services is the best agency I have been involved with. Their dedicated work to develop countries overseas is unparalleled and their education in the US is phenomenal. They also have an incredible "CRS Fair Trade Ambassador Program" - one of the most informative, electric and life-changing experiences I have had. I have shared my knowledge from this program for years now and been empowered to make simple small changes every day of my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

As a Catholic and a global citizen, my faith practice and my vision of a just world are made more real because of the work CRS makes possible.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

First, I am Indian.
Second, I teach Community Development with a Water and Sanitation emphasis at the University level.
Finally, on at least six occasions over many years, I have worked as a consultant with other both national and international organizations hand-in-glove with
CRS in the field and in the mix of NGO planning at a a senior management level. I am based in Kolkata and focus mainly in the Eastern Region, including essentially, West Bengal, Bihar, Orissa and Assam.
In summary, CRS has an outstanding reputation in my field and in this geographic region. And, my sources tell me, that reputation is reflected throughout India.
My experience has been that CRS programming in India is carried out and managed mainly by its highly skilled Indian staff. In my multiple exposures, I have found CRS people and programs to be effective, efficient, transparent and accountable. All programming involves local partners. It develops at and responds to the grassroots--to those most in need without regard to creed, color or caste.
The CRS network is countrywide and subject to audit on many levels including by the GOI and USAID, as well as its own extensive internal and partners' internal auditing functions.
In Indian disaster-management circles, CRS is well-known and highly repected countrywide for its responsiveness to its grassroots partners during emergencies. One key to that is the fact that CRS generally works with those same partners providing ongoing support for programming in such areas as health, water and sanitation, education, agriculture, infrastructure strengthening and village-level savings and banking cooperatives. As first-responders in an emergency, CRS and its partners are already successfully functional and are ALREADY THERE.
My history of involvement has led me to give the highest rating to CRS in India.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen and, in some cases, been a part of mainly rural water and sanitation programs focusing mainly on schools and clinics serving small, poor, rural villages. I have also worked with CRS staff in executive macro-planning groups.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

let more Americans know and appreciate the history of work of CRS in India.

November 11, 2011

more

November 11, 2011

My daughter and I have had the wonderful opportunity of personally witnessing the outstanding charitable work performed by Catholic Relief Services and it partners in India.

In 2008 we traveled with CRS and visited 5 cities throughout India including Mumbai, Calcutta and Delhi. In each
city we were deeply moved by the dedication of the CRS staff and its partners in positively changing lives. We were very fortunate to see first hand the life saving and life sustaining work that CRS is accomplishing in this country.

We witnessed CRS helping young children on the streets of Mumbai learn to read on a true "school" bus, we witnessed life saving programs helping young girls escape the streets of the city, we saw food and sanitation programs effectively delivered both in the city and in rural areas south of Calcutta. We also saw the work done by partners running schools, orphanages and homes for the poor and dying.

We came away from our 9 day trip highly impressed by the effectiveness and the impact that CRS and its programs are having on the poor and marginalized in India.







The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

traveling to witness in person the difference they are making in lives. In addition to India, I have traveled to Africa on two occasions viewing the outstanding work and great progress CRS is making in combatting poverty.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work to see that they receive increased funding from government grants, corporations and individuals as they are an extremely effective deliverer of resources to the poor.

October 13, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Now lets listen from a person who has been in close contact with the work of Catholic Relief Services in India. In India CRS mainly donates to diocesan organisations- in India these organisations are mainly known not to practice what they preach. I still think that the contributions by the church in India are overwhelming - in the field of health and education but these are mainly money spinning machines now. Ask this to any parent in India searching for a school to admit his child.

In terms of the work, I have read the reviews by some donors who seem to have the idea that CRS has its base on the ground. During an emergency (and I have been personally involved in many of these ), what they do is to rain down a lot of "expatriate" consultants who do not know the conditions on the ground before they come- at one time they brought in an intern who wanted to spend christmas out of the US. These consultants mainly have their work experience in African countries where human resources and infrastructure might not be of good quality- in India, we have the best human resources possible, trained, committed and willing to go that extra mile. What these consultants do is to just capture an office and go on typing on their laptops and work on some formats which have absolutely no use. And we believe that the huge salaries and the hardship allowance they get could go to provide succour to a few thousand families more.

Now let me relate the work of its so called partners. What these diocesan directors want is a project - so that the funding that CRS provides can be diverted towards their own selfish ends and the worst part of it is that CRS management know about it but save their jobs- they all want to be polictically correct. At the end of the year, implementation and reports are nowhere to be seen but what can be had is just tall promises in the name of God.

Staff do not say these things because this is inherent in their culture promoted by the management, I have seen CRS staff manipulating books of accounts at the partner locations.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

India

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, it cannot be done, it is inherent in the management

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

How did you learn about this organization?

As a member of the public

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers