Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.423735
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Fiscally responsible, ethically and morally sound group! I love this group because I feel like it helps me live my faith. Christ said "What you do for the least of your brothers, you do for me." This is a way to help people living in abject poverty. I can't possibly travel to these places on my own and yet I know they need help and CRS is there. They help not only in emergencies and disasters but are also engaged in trying to create long term change. Their best programs are the ones that help build infrastructure like digging wells and help people become economically independent. Whether they are digging wells, building schools or medical clinics, empowering women, or fostering economic development, CRS does a great job!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

We have always felt that CRS makes good use of our donations with low overhead expenses. CRS help goes to all groups, regardless of religion, and is a living testimony to Christian caring for others. We are so blessed in this country, and the situation is so desperate in so many countries, it is important that organizations like CRS continue to receive our strong support.
October 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Over the past several years, in my role as a a campus minister, I've accompanied college students on short term immersions in the developing world. Whenever possible we arrange to spend some time with Catholic Relief Services (CRS ). Having seen first hand projects ranging from peace-building to agriculture, from economic justice to HIV/AIDS care and from health care to education reform, I believe that CRS is a great non-profit. They are mission-driven and fiscally responsible. They adhere to an integral human development model that respects the dignity of the people and communities where they work. Thus, outside the US, most of their employees are local folks from in-country.

At the most personal level, I admire and respect CRS because of the mission as I understand it: to spread the good news. This does not mean proselytizing or converting, not in the least. It means clean water and sanitation, Fair Trade, basic health care, education, women's empowerment, disaster relief. It means respecting the human dignity of each and all and it means striving to live in solidarity with all of God's creation.

If I had one more career in me - CRS would have my resume in a minute. ; )

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advise them not to become too bureaucratic!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My family became involved with Catholic Relief Services when I was 14 years old in 1979. The charity brought a family from Laos to the United States that consisted of five children from ages 8 months to 7 years. 35 years later, these "kids" have grown into great human beings that are forever grateful to Catholic Relief Services for saving them almost certain death in a war torn country. The charity does unbelievable work and more than 90% of every dollar donated goes directly to their mission.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

In the late 90's I was working in Tanzania desperately trying to address a rapidly emerging situation with a growing HIV pandemic. Overwhelmed with demand for services, I was at the point of almost giving up. CRS became a true partner. They provided not only technical expertise, but administrative and management expertise to help a local clinic grow and expand. Quite honestly, they also did a lot of hand holding as well. Without any question, Catholic Relief Services is the finest international development partner I've ever worked with. Within all of the solid supportive guidance and technical expertise to grow and expand resulting in quality services for people affected by HIV, there was always the presence of faith and true holistic care.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Catholic Relief Services does God's work wherever there is great need across the globe. I have given generously to this organization because of its stellar good works and because of the nonprofit's very low administrative costs. CRS uses all contributions efficiently.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

A little over six months after the terrible earthquake struck Port- au -Prince in the Island of Haiti I had the opportunity to visit that country and city with Catholic Relief Services. We saw first hand the devastation that that poor country experienced. But we also saw the resilient efforts made by Catholic Relief Services and some of its partners to bring some degree of assistance by way of shelter, medicine, and food to the victims, not just of the earthquake but also of the ensuing cholera epidemic that came on the heels of the earthquake. CRS imported a number of rubble crushing machines from Africa to help alleviate the conditions in Port-au-Prince. Although it was not enough to solve the total problem of the toxic rubble that lay everywhere in the city, it provided employment to local people to crush the rubble and make sand for the concrete floors of the temporary shelters that were being constructed by CRS
It was a win-win situation. The rubble was being cleared and local people were given employment, thanks to the imaginative efforts of CRS
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

CRS is the organization I am most grateful to support. Their work around the globe is stellar and they are wonderful stewards of their resources. They are truly responding to the call to serve all of God's people.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

Catholic Relief is one of the very few charities I give to on a regular basis. The work they do is invaluable and the dedication to do the work as efficiently as possible is a great credit to them. Whenever I speak with any of their staff, they ar pleasant and a joy to encounter.
September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We've been giving to CRS since the first year of our marriage 40 years ago. My husband is a retired Foreign Service Officer and we were posted to Africa and Southeast Asia where we witnessed first hand the humanitarian and development efforts of CRS personnel. They give wisely and ceaselessly of their time and talents and have empowered many poor people around the world. We are so proud to be part of this work.
Mary Helene and Nick Mele
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers