Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

My experience is much different than the others posted, although I was NOT looking for help. I just volunteer my services as applicable and donate to support the projects I am on. Everything I have done with them is first class from my Virtus training to assisting in outreach programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Additional projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I was pregnant 15 years ago. My husband lost his job after serving in the Navy for 10 years. We were despite. I had no food in the house., and barely made rent. I was hooked up to an IV for severe vomiting. I was out of work waiting on disability. I went for help. I was given a 10 dollar voucher for Tops and was told I should have planned better. We are thankfully, in a much better position now and own our own home. But before that my whole family donated to the fund drive. In lauding myself. I was in need for 4 months until my husband found a job I was pretty much standing there with a door slammed in my face. Ya know who helped me... The American Red Cross. We donate to them every year and will NEVER donte to Catholic Charities!! Ever !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clean house!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

Unfortunately, the experience listed by "Licoricecat" is pretty much similar to the welcome I received when I called to offer my services as a volunteer mediator. I was rudely told that I was not needed. They weren't interested in my qualifications nor my experience. A friend of mine also called, this time for (non-monetary) assistance from them, and was rebuffed, as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Although our area is predominantly Catholic, and raises millions for this organization, I highly doubt that the general public realizes how rude this staff is to people who call it. If I were them, I would change their attitude, or risk losing their funding if this goes public.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 12, 2012

I have asked for assistance a few years ago and was turned away. I have called several times and my calls were not returned. I was told to come in person, which I did and talk to the director. The director who I did not meet till this day, told me to leave the facility or he will contact the police, He stated that he would not help me and I must leave. I came in person because I did an intake and no one called me back for over 3 months and I left repeated messages with my phone number. I was told by the secretary to come in person and talk to him. To this day I still do not know why they will not service me. I was given the excuse that they will not service me because I kept calling and came into the office as told to do one time. My question is why was I rejected and my calls avoided for 3 months in a crisis situation when i needed counseling for a crisis situation and they continued to avoid my calls for help? When I physically went to the office the director did not want to talk to me privately and told me to leave in the reception desk. This is rude, unprofessional and a breech of confidentiality. I never did get an answer to this day why they would not help me. The only thing I was told is because I came to the office one time without an appointment because the secretary told me to come in and talk to the director. It was a crisis situation DV and I could not get help or counseling.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

sort and distribute food in a pantry Volunteer