Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 8, 2013

I have donated food, litter, garage sale items, towels and cleaning supplies on many occasions. The volunteers are always friendly and even if they are in the middle of cleaning they invite me in to ... more

June 15, 2014

This place is amazing. They work so hard and keep it very clean and smelling good. This is not easy to do with so many cats. They take care of a lot of special needs cats and keep them healthy and happy. The tree room upstairs is fantastic. They took me on a tour and showed me their hospital area. I was especially impressed with the separate laundry and sink for the hospital, so no hospital germs get mixed in with the shelter beds and towels. The ladies seem very dedicated and are very polite and informative. I made a small donation and they thanked me and offered me a receipt for my taxes. The cat in the wheelchair is very well taken care of and seems very loved and happy, as do all of the cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a million dollars so they could have more room.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 8, 2013

I have donated food, litter, garage sale items, towels and cleaning supplies on many occasions. The volunteers are always friendly and even if they are in the middle of cleaning they invite me in to visit and play with the cats.
All of the cats seem bright-eyed and healthy. There is always
food and water available for them. The volunteers seem to keep the washers and driers running all the time so the cats have clean towels and beds.
Their clinic area is separated from the rest of the shelter. The sick cats are housed in large, clean cages with cat perches to sit on. They are separated according to what ailments they have. Small baskets clipped to the front of each cage contain the medicine for the cat in that cage and there are cards on each cage saying what medication that animal gets and how often.
All of the volunteers seemed very devoted to the cats and knew them by name and personality traits. These people work very hard keeping the place clean and smelling good, even though most of them are elderly or disabled.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2014

more

May 23, 2014

I used to volunteer at this place before it changed the name. These people are animal hoarders. The animals are in awful condition, the place is disgusting. The people that run it are a mixture of drug users, scammers and criminals. The cats are not well cared for. The level of unprofessionalism is unparalled. There has never been a group like this in this area. It is not about the welfare of the cats. It is a drug house that invites social gatherings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT IT DOWN!!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 31, 2014

This place does not deserve to be called a "rescue". It is a horrible death sentence for any cat that goes in there. I volunteered there for a short time and saw nothing but neglect of sick animals.... more

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I posted a comment on West Side Cats website regarding the availability of information about the rescue. The disgusting comments, along with the horrible language and vulgarity prove that the leaders and volunteers in this group are nothing but filth. This is not a rescue for cats. It is a hang out where people go to get their free lunches from donations, while they beg online for cat food. It is a disgusting place, filled with drug addicts and low-lifes. Go onto the West Side Cats Facebook page and read the comments section on the right-hand side. The posting mentions Guidestar and the services they offer to tell about a non-profit.
Those poor cats who are there will surely die at the hands of these vagrants.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close the place down, arrest them for stealing donations and fraud. My own personal opinion is that it is a place where vagrants go to hang out and get high.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This place does not deserve to be called a "rescue". It is a horrible death sentence for any cat that goes in there. I volunteered there for a short time and saw nothing but neglect of sick animals. There was no isolation for sick cats, no medication for sick cats. No one seems to know what is going on there. Just a bunch of old drug addicts sitting around not caring at all about those poor cats. I have complained to every authority that would listen. Please do not support this group of drug addicts. Cats are the last things in the world they care about.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

HAVE THE AUTHORITIES CLEAR OUT THE PLACE AND CLOSE IT DOWN.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

How could this place be called a rescue? It is a terrible place with people only looking for money. The sad stories never end on their website and facebook. They collect large sums of money while local veterinarians send them to collection agencies to get paid. The cats and kittens in there do not last very long. The cats, as well as the people running it, look drugged up. They sit and brag about their drug and crime-ridden pasts. They are scamming the public with the number of adoptions they say they have. Most of the cats that step foot in there end up dead. There is no care, no treatment for any illnesses. This is the worst place I have ever been in. They need to be shut down.
February 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Do not ever take a cat or kitten to this rescue. It will die within days. Cats are neither tested nor vaccinated. When they are sick, there thrown in the back room to die. Know people who volunteered there and quit due to terrible conditions of cats. Have adopted from there only to have two cats die within a week. These people are rude, do not care about the animals, only about money. When called to tell about my two dead cats, Kim's only response was that we could not get money back. We did not want money. We wanted to let them be aware that these cats died from distemper (per my vet). There is no care nor concern for any of these cats. the name of this game is money, money, money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have this place investigated

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Living near the Petsmart in Niles, Ohio, I have seen the many sick cats and kittens in this store. They are from West Side Cats and are many time sick looking with runny eyes, very thin, bloody noses. the store is part of my weekly shopping for my own cats and their are always cats that look sick there. The store managment does not seem to care. Even spoke to two differnt people who adopted cats from their that died within a week. West side cats is not a good rescue and does not take care of its animals. Rumor is that Kim Koocher is an animal hoarder who spends lots of donations on herself, not the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut down the rescue

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more

February 10, 2014

I have been visiting this shelter at least monthly for approximately two years. My visits are unannounced and on different days of the week and at different times during the day. The cats/kittens and the shelter have always been in good condition, and every volunteer I've spoken to has been friendly, caring and knowledgeable. I ask anyone reading these reviews to stop by the shelter to see it in person, if they live in the Youngstown area. If you are not able to visit the shelter, I ask that you do not base your opinion on any negative reviews you read here or negative comments posted on social media sites. The shelter and its volunteers are helping, not hurting, cats, and it is not a "hellhole" as another reviewer stated - it's a typical cat shelter. It appears some are posting negative comments because they dislike certain individuals affiliated with the shelter. It's sad, because ultimately, it's the cats and kittens waiting for their forever homes that are being hurt. My husband and I are cat lovers with three cats in our family, and we would not hesitate to adopt from the shelter when the time comes to add another member to the family.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I spent the last week visiting three different rescues in this area looking for a cat. One was a beautiful, large shelter with healthy looking cats, place very clean. The second was a smaller rescue, very clean also with very healthy looking cats. Then I walked into this hellhole for cats called West Side Cats. The place smelled awful, the animals did not look healthy or well cared for. Large rooms had one cat food feeder for about 40 cats. Litterboxes were overflowing with urine and feces. Cats were sneezing blood, saw one urinating blood and mentioned it to the people in charge. They looked as if I was bothering them and never got up once off their chairs. It is heartbreaking that this is called a rescue. Those poor animals have no choice. If the other two rescues did not have the awful smell with just as many animals, why would this place be so horrible? It was 4:00 in the afternoon, why can't someone clean before that??? The other two seemed to be able to find someone to clean, yet this place just had old ladies just sitting around talking and playing on computer.
I would rather see an animal euthanized that send it to this pitiful place. I intend to report this to everyone in authority. It is terrible for those cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut this place down

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A good friend of mine, Sherry was recently in this shelter. She noticed what she thought was a stuffed cat in a corner. She walked over to it, and it was a dead cat. She ran downstairs to tell someone and a person named Kim told her to go back and get it and bring it down the stairs. There was no care or concern, just disgust that my friend would not go back up and get the dead cat. This Kim claims she cannot climb the stairs. She is a big fat disgusting pig who does not care about these animals. My friend was horrified!!! This Kim person said this is her rescue, but she could not go up the stairs to retrieve the dead cat.
Sherry recently learned about this site and that this group changed their name after a raid a few years ago. People cannot find reviews for West Side Cats, which is the name now. This is not a reputable rescue. Please do not donate to them or EVER bring them an animal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT IT DOWN AS SOON AS POSSIBLE TO SAVE ANIMALS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is, by far, the biggest con game going on. They tell you sob story after sob story online to get money. They drag around two crippled cats to get money. If you go see the poor cats in the shelter, they are nearly all sick. Yet no one is isolated or treated. They are all together, blowing mucous all over each other as well as their food and water bowls. Litterboxes are filled with blood and diareeha and no one cares to find out whose it is.
The disgusting pig, Kimm, that runs this place is another story. You would have to see her to believe that she is for real. She cannot climb stairs, move off a chair, or even look at you directly. She has a shaved head, tatoos all over her arms. She looks high on something each time I have seen her. She speaks incoherently, as if she is completely drugged up. She brags about all they do. What they do is let sick animals die without lifting a finger to help them or medicate them. The name of this game is MONEY, pure and simple. Kimm walked me around the shelter showing me all the "cutesy cat items" she has bought at Big Lots. WHAT ABOUT THE CATS?
She does not give a hoot about those cats. It is all a show. They go into that dump and they die, regardless if it is an upper respiratory or something serious. They get nothing as far as donations go. Kimm and her friends get the donations and brag about all the nice dinners they go out to. The cats end up in the freezer and she tells you they are adopted.
SOMEONE PLEASE CLOSE THIS PLACE DOWN!!!! THIS IS NOTHING BUT A MONEY-MAKING SCAM WITH THE ANIMALS AS THE FRONT.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close this disgusting place down. It gives animal shelters a horrible name.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers