Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1.952382345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 7, 2014

more

March 7, 2014

How could this place be called a rescue? It is a terrible place with people only looking for money. The sad stories never end on their website and facebook. They collect large sums of money while local veterinarians send them to collection agencies to get paid. The cats and kittens in there do not last very long. The cats, as well as the people running it, look drugged up. They sit and brag about their drug and crime-ridden pasts. They are scamming the public with the number of adoptions they say they have. Most of the cats that step foot in there end up dead. There is no care, no treatment for any illnesses. This is the worst place I have ever been in. They need to be shut down.
February 22, 2014

more

February 22, 2014

Do not ever take a cat or kitten to this rescue. It will die within days. Cats are neither tested nor vaccinated. When they are sick, there thrown in the back room to die. Know people who volunteered there and quit due to terrible conditions of cats. Have adopted from there only to have two cats die within a week. These people are rude, do not care about the animals, only about money. When called to tell about my two dead cats, Kim's only response was that we could not get money back. We did not want money. We wanted to let them be aware that these cats died from distemper (per my vet). There is no care nor concern for any of these cats. the name of this game is money, money, money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have this place investigated

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014

more

February 11, 2014

Living near the Petsmart in Niles, Ohio, I have seen the many sick cats and kittens in this store. They are from West Side Cats and are many time sick looking with runny eyes, very thin, bloody noses. the store is part of my weekly shopping for my own cats and their are always cats that look sick there. The store managment does not seem to care. Even spoke to two differnt people who adopted cats from their that died within a week. West side cats is not a good rescue and does not take care of its animals. Rumor is that Kim Koocher is an animal hoarder who spends lots of donations on herself, not the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut down the rescue

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more

February 10, 2014

I have been visiting this shelter at least monthly for approximately two years. My visits are unannounced and on different days of the week and at different times during the day. The cats/kittens and the shelter have always been in good condition, and every volunteer I've spoken to has been friendly, caring and knowledgeable. I ask anyone reading these reviews to stop by the shelter to see it in person, if they live in the Youngstown area. If you are not able to visit the shelter, I ask that you do not base your opinion on any negative reviews you read here or negative comments posted on social media sites. The shelter and its volunteers are helping, not hurting, cats, and it is not a "hellhole" as another reviewer stated - it's a typical cat shelter. It appears some are posting negative comments because they dislike certain individuals affiliated with the shelter. It's sad, because ultimately, it's the cats and kittens waiting for their forever homes that are being hurt. My husband and I are cat lovers with three cats in our family, and we would not hesitate to adopt from the shelter when the time comes to add another member to the family.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more

February 10, 2014

I spent the last week visiting three different rescues in this area looking for a cat. One was a beautiful, large shelter with healthy looking cats, place very clean. The second was a smaller rescue, very clean also with very healthy looking cats. Then I walked into this hellhole for cats called West Side Cats. The place smelled awful, the animals did not look healthy or well cared for. Large rooms had one cat food feeder for about 40 cats. Litterboxes were overflowing with urine and feces. Cats were sneezing blood, saw one urinating blood and mentioned it to the people in charge. They looked as if I was bothering them and never got up once off their chairs. It is heartbreaking that this is called a rescue. Those poor animals have no choice. If the other two rescues did not have the awful smell with just as many animals, why would this place be so horrible? It was 4:00 in the afternoon, why can't someone clean before that??? The other two seemed to be able to find someone to clean, yet this place just had old ladies just sitting around talking and playing on computer.
I would rather see an animal euthanized that send it to this pitiful place. I intend to report this to everyone in authority. It is terrible for those cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut this place down

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 31, 2014

more

January 31, 2014

This place does not deserve to be called a "rescue". It is a horrible death sentence for any cat that goes in there. I volunteered there for a short time and saw nothing but neglect of sick animals. There was no isolation for sick cats, no medication for sick cats. No one seems to know what is going on there. Just a bunch of old drug addicts sitting around not caring at all about those poor cats. I have complained to every authority that would listen. Please do not support this group of drug addicts. Cats are the last things in the world they care about.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

HAVE THE AUTHORITIES CLEAR OUT THE PLACE AND CLOSE IT DOWN.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2013

more

November 28, 2013

A good friend of mine, Sherry was recently in this shelter. She noticed what she thought was a stuffed cat in a corner. She walked over to it, and it was a dead cat. She ran downstairs to tell someone and a person named Kim told her to go back and get it and bring it down the stairs. There was no care or concern, just disgust that my friend would not go back up and get the dead cat. This Kim claims she cannot climb the stairs. She is a big fat disgusting pig who does not care about these animals. My friend was horrified!!! This Kim person said this is her rescue, but she could not go up the stairs to retrieve the dead cat.
Sherry recently learned about this site and that this group changed their name after a raid a few years ago. People cannot find reviews for West Side Cats, which is the name now. This is not a reputable rescue. Please do not donate to them or EVER bring them an animal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT IT DOWN AS SOON AS POSSIBLE TO SAVE ANIMALS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

This is, by far, the biggest con game going on. They tell you sob story after sob story online to get money. They drag around two crippled cats to get money. If you go see the poor cats in the shelter, they are nearly all sick. Yet no one is isolated or treated. They are all together, blowing mucous all over each other as well as their food and water bowls. Litterboxes are filled with blood and diareeha and no one cares to find out whose it is.
The disgusting pig, Kimm, that runs this place is another story. You would have to see her to believe that she is for real. She cannot climb stairs, move off a chair, or even look at you directly. She has a shaved head, tatoos all over her arms. She looks high on something each time I have seen her. She speaks incoherently, as if she is completely drugged up. She brags about all they do. What they do is let sick animals die without lifting a finger to help them or medicate them. The name of this game is MONEY, pure and simple. Kimm walked me around the shelter showing me all the "cutesy cat items" she has bought at Big Lots. WHAT ABOUT THE CATS?
She does not give a hoot about those cats. It is all a show. They go into that dump and they die, regardless if it is an upper respiratory or something serious. They get nothing as far as donations go. Kimm and her friends get the donations and brag about all the nice dinners they go out to. The cats end up in the freezer and she tells you they are adopted.
SOMEONE PLEASE CLOSE THIS PLACE DOWN!!!! THIS IS NOTHING BUT A MONEY-MAKING SCAM WITH THE ANIMALS AS THE FRONT.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close this disgusting place down. It gives animal shelters a horrible name.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 16, 2013

This place should have been shut down the first time it was raided in 2010 by Animal Charity. The people that run this place are a bunch of women with shaved heads, tatoos, and foul mouths who do not... more

July 31, 2013

This is the worst animal rescue I have ever been in. The poor cats look drugged up, as well as the people runnig the place. The animals are in horrible condition. No one seems to know anything about any one cat. The emphasis was on Smoochie, the paralyzed cat that has to wear a diaper. They cart her around like a circus freak, collecting money. The rest of the animals are completely ignored. The women that run the place are on the computer all day, never lifting a finger to help those animals. If you know nothing about how to care for cats PROPERLY, you may believe this is an ok place for those cats. I have had cats all my life and have vounteered at shelter. I have never seen such deplorable conditions, nor such a group of low-lifes that are strung out on drug.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT IT DOWN AND LOCK UP THE PEOPLE WHO RUN IT FOR ANIMAL NEGLECT AND DRUG ABUSE.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

This place should have been shut down the first time it was raided in 2010 by Animal Charity. The people that run this place are a bunch of women with shaved heads, tatoos, and foul mouths who do not care about animals at all. It is more like a social gathering for these people than a shelter. The cats are not well cared for, many are sick and mixed together with well ones, infecting even more. Cats suffering, and they turn a complete blind eye to it. The had chip-ins for so many cats that no one ever saw again. These poor cats may have died, but money was still collected for them. This place is terrible. Please do not support a group like this. There are many others to support that actually care about animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

This place gives all animal rescues a bad name. The people that run this place look like drug addicts. The poor cats that are there are ill looking and thin. No one seems to care at all about the animals there. It looks like a social gathering for social misfits and drug addicts.
Please do
not ever let them have a cat. Those poor animals do not look well. Not sure if it is a hoarding situation or a scam to collect money. The place is disgusting. Would rather see those poor cats euthanized than being there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CLOSE IT DOWN!!!! THEY ARE HELPING THEMSELVES TO MONEY, NOT HELPING ANY ANIMALS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers