Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I inherited a love of German Shepherd dogs from my mother, who truly believed that they were the ONLY type of dog to have! So, following in her footsteps, I had two German Shepherds who owned me! :) Unfortunately, I lost both my girls in a period of six months. One to cancer, and one to degenerative meyalopathy. Shortly thereafter, I lost my mom. I Wasn't sure I was ready for another dog just yet, but I knew if I did get one it had to be a shepherd.
Low and behold, a few days later, I see a GSD posted on facebook. I immediately contacted the foster mom who was very open with me about every little detail they knew about him! I have pages of text messages from her about his eating habits, his sleeping habits, his interactions with children, neighbors, and any other detail one could ever think of. She said they wanted to be sure I had all the information possible before I considered the adoption. I had more than enough, and we went to her house to meet him. Of course it was love at first sight, but I needed time to think about it. I stayed in contact with her for three days and we went and picked him up on a foster to adopt contingency. I laughingly called it "rent to own!" I took him to my vet who concurred with what Castle of Dreams vet had said about his general state of health, as well as the "guesitmate," of his age. It took 5 more days and we adopted him.
Easy process, and tons of emails and texts from his foster mom always checking up to see how he is, and telling me how she missed him, but was glad he was in his forever home! I send pictures often, and wrote a happy endings tale on their page.
I also rescued from a shelter in Alabama, and had the dog brought to me-- not the same truthful experience at all. Of course the two are like "two peas in a pod," now, but there was no comparison as to the communication, the truthfulness, the sincerity, and the warmth displayed by his foster mom from Castle of Dreams. I feel confident that they not only "talk the talk," but they "walk the walk," where their dogs are concerned.
I had been to MANY shelters during my not so sure I wanted a dog search, but no one compared in their honesty or ease of adoption.!
Totally impressed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013


We adopted Maggie on June 10, 2012. She was heartworm positive and very, very shy. We had just lost our 14 year old Australian Shepherd mix, Murphy on April 23rd so we were still very sad. I came across Maggie (then called Charlotte as well as Lady) on the Castle of Dreams website. We
went to see her at her rescue home and decided she would be our next fur baby.

The poor little girl had to go through 2 sets of heartworm treatments, a month apart. We had to keep her very quiet during that time as the dying worms could possibly lodge somewhere in her little 22 lb body and cause her to have a heart attack or stroke. Well, long story short, she's now heartworm negative and is now on monthly heartworm preventative meds. So my Maggie beat those ugly critters. And we have the Castle of Dreams Rescue to thank for that. It seems that these shots are super expensive and they supplied them to Maggie.

Maggie was a puppy mill mom and probably spent the first 3 years of her life in a cage. That has all changed now. She is learning how to play with toys, get loads of pets and tons of love. She loves the backyard - doesn't bother the bunnies but can't understand what happens to the squirrels when she chases them. She's beginning to realize trees have something to do with it.

My sister came all the way from Florida just to see Maggie. She came with a new blanket for Maggie's bed as well as a new hat for her. Even her Facebook friends, Mistee and Mojo from England sent her a new blankie.

She's showered with love and affection. She is still a bit shy but we take one day at a time. By this time next year, she'll have all of us eating out of her paws (oops, she already has!!).

We can't thank Castle of Dreams fosters enough for giving us a new fur baby to complete our family again. Every foster pawrent that I've be in touch with gives 110%. I always say if I hit the lotto big, I'd put the biggest smiles on the fosters at Castle of Dreams Animal Rescue!! Thank you Castle of Dreams for making us a family again!!



















---





















More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 14, 2012

A remarkable group of people who devote themselves to saving & caring for abused & endangered animals. We've adopted 2 dogs from them & will be ever grateful for the love they've brought to our liv... more

April 9, 2013

We currently have 2 dogs adopted through this wonderful group. They're most hard-working, caring, selfless, group of people I've ever met in any charitable organization. From step one of the adoption service to forever, that's how long their dedication to the pets they save & the families who are lucky enough to add them to their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2012

A remarkable group of people who devote themselves to saving & caring for abused & endangered animals. We've adopted 2 dogs from them & will be ever grateful for the love they've brought to our lives. CODAR allowed us the joy of saving their lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers