Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization does something really important for one child at a time. Each child with a volunteer CASA has an adult who will stay with the child from the time assigned till the child leaves the legal supervision of the county legal system. The CASA can make a difference that that child's life that can last a lifetime. How rewarding this can be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The CASA youth stands alone because of circumstances and in order to survive. Most accumulate multiple addresses and schools plus revolving professional staff members throughout their young lives. Only their CASA is a constant.

My hope for my CASA boys was that one day, no matter how
distant, they would know that someone cared about them. Although I have retired, their names are still posted on my dashboard because I still care.

Peter C. Grauert

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer I have always been impressed with the dedication, and team efforts made by the executive director, office staff, and volunteers in helping children in the community.
CASA strives to improve the lives of children that are in need, someone to be there for them where vacancies have
often been left, and hardships have been handed out.
After moving to Sonoma County I was talking to a family member, telling them I wanted to volunteer, and they recommended CASA to me. They had heard great things about CASA, and told me to "check it out", I did my homework, and feel I made the best choice........great place to volunteer

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a CASA volunteer and am currently a Board member. The CASA volunteer is a screened, trained & dedicated person helping kids in need of an adult role model. The kids have been removed from their parents and need help in dealing with social workers, teachers, attorneys, etc. The CASA can be the constant in the child's life. CASA is a very worthwhile non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with the CASA organization in Sonoma County for about 10 years. I was trained to serve as an Advocate, served as a Board Member, and assisted in planning Annual Fund Raisers for the organization. During that time, I consistently became more & more aware of the great need, not only in our community, but nationwide, for support of the great numbers of children who are without a permanent family life. CASA provides a great asset to the Court System by providing one on one advocacy for each child - both within the Court System and all aspects of the child's Life -- living environment, health, education, and well being. CASA also provides assistance for the transition of the child out of the System and into the World. Sonoma County CASA Director, Millie Gilson, is miraculous in making certain that no detail is missed, that services are provided as required, and go beyond to provide inclusion of children to share their amazing progress that can be accomplished with support and encouragement from CASA and their community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would like to see is increased donations and more volunteers -- to allow for the advocacy of even more of these young people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for CASA for eight years, the most rewarding work I have ever done. The Foster kids appreciated what I did for them, even the little things. Yes, I helped make a difference in their lives, but I got even more back from the experience. To take on a child that didn't know what a good adult in their lives looked like, and gain their trust was amazing. To show up at a group home, and to be considered a "rock star" just for being a CASA were big shoes to fill. If you have the time in your life, I recommend getting involved. The agency does a great job training and supporting you. Not an easy volunteer job, but if you want to make a huge difference, this is the gig.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I have been on the CASA Board of Directors for 7 years. During this time, I have been exposed to an indepth knowledge of the organization. CASA has a very skilled and experienced Executive Director. Through her leadership, the organization remains fiscally stable and is able to provide very valuable services to the youth who have been identified by the Court as needing support. The volunteers who work with youth provide them with a stability most have not experienced in their lives. This is a wonderful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Identify more volunteers so more youth could be served.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering for CASA has been a very profound and soulful experience. Meeting the children, getting to know them and allowing them to get to know me, has been a richly rewarding experience. (I sincerely wanted to adopt one of the children.) It is wonderful to donate money to such an organization and I can't encourage that enough, but to donate your time and your heart is much better, when possible. The staff members, volunteer supervisors and executive director are always available and more than willing to lend support and expert guidance. I have never had the pleasure of dealing with such a compassionate, professional and effective group of individuals. Working with the children is such a richly rewarding experience, I believe everyone should become involved in doing so, or at least be involved with CASA. I believe you will see yourself in the eyes of a child, whatever their background, and grow a little yourself as did I. I will always stay involved and support the great work of CASA of Sonoma County does, contribute however I can, and encourage others to do so as well. There are children out there right now that will change your life for the better, if you will step forward to change theirs. You can make all the difference in the world, TODAY! God bless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Discover ways to create liaisons with other organizations to create a mutually beneficial relationship. CASA volunteers are educated, experienced and compassionate people. There is a great pool of human resources here with the willingness to make this world a better place. Other organizations may have opportunities to market CASA, while benefiting from help CASA volunteers are willing to give.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The impact on the lives that CASA Sonoma County has touched is unprecendent. The stories you hear from the children that have gone through CASA are life-changing; both for the child and the CASA. The CASA volunteers dedicate an enourmous amount of time, energy and resources and I am forever thankful for their committment to the agency.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

CASA has been such a blessing in my life and the lives of these youths. There are so many children out there that have no one to turn to in their time of need. CASA's are their voice in court and society. CASA's are a resourse for them with regard to health, education, housing and jobs. Some of these youths do not have skills that we take for granted. This experience has changed my life forever, I wish that I could be a CASA for a career I would have 10 kids!! There are so many kinds that need help and they are the future of our world, they need us just as much as we need them. We have to take a stand to make a change for the better of society and future generations. I can not stress how supportive and fantastic the CASA volunteers supervisors are either. They are always there for support when you just need to vent about anything; they always have the answer. I have no idea how Millie does what she does but it is always for these kids and she and this program is a TRUE inspiration. I hope that there are many more people that want to become CASA's so that one day there will not be a witing list and that all of the kids that need the help and support can get it. Again, thank you to CASA, the volunteer supervisors, Millie and most importantly the kids. This is a great program that I think everyone should get involved in, to make a difference in the lives of these youths.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers