Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.911115
Write A Review
November 5, 2014

more

November 5, 2014

I have been a CASA for about three years. We work one-on-one with children who are wards of the court. It is extremely rewarding and enriching work. We CASA's get tremendous support from the
CASA organization. It is so important for these children to have an advocate. They often do not
have capable parents or adults in their lives. The organization is well respected by all the professionals who work on these cases; judges, lawyers, and social workers, among others. This is a great organization!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I became a CASA this past February and it has been very rewarding. The staff and volunteers at the Sonoma County CASA are wonderful! I get great support and never feel like I am doing this alone! I am honored that I am able to serve my community this way.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have just finished my first year as a CASA. Their offices offer many educational seminars for us to learn about what Sonoma County has to offer our CASA children developmentally and educationally - right through Sonoma Junior College. No matter what my question may be, there is someone willing to research the answer and get back to me right away. Every single CASA employee is devoted and has decades of experience working with children and Human Services. I am honored to be a part of all they do for children. It's really been a joy for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I have been a CASA since 2005. I have found it to be one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. As a single parent of two amazing sons for the last 17 years- I know the importance of not only love and attention, but guidance and example for children. It has been an honor to be part of such an important organization. Being a CASA has given me a chance to see the "other side" of children's lives, the trauma, the sadness as well as the hope these kids face.

My cases have all been very different. The one thing they have in common is the need for their voices to be heard. The need for a path to follow, and light at the end of sometimes a bleak tunnel.

I have enjoyed the interaction with not only the children, and the other CASA volunteers, but also the benefits and the immeasurable support from my CASA office. Millie and the office are extremely helpful - and provide all of us the amount of encouragement and information needed to be the best CASA's we can be.

I will continue my role as a CASA for as long as needed with the children of Sonoma County. Making sure they are safe happy and healthy as well as productive in life is paramount in shaping the next generation.

Danyea Tylman

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Volunteer for CASA since 2000. I have had the honor of being an Advocate for three sets of siblings. Even though they are no longer part of the CASA program, I keep in touch and watch as they grow and experience the wonders of life. With the support of Volunteers and the friendships that come from the dedicated workers at CASA we all can make a positive change in the lives of the children in CPS and foster care. I feel CASA and these children have done more for me than what I could ever do for them. Thank you CASA for all your great works and I look forward to continuing to do my best for these children.
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

There is no more noble cause or pressing need for the trained volunteers which CASA helps to place with youth who are in foster care or for some reason are involved in the juvenile justice system.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2012

I have been a CASA since early 2009. The training I received before being matched with my foster was exceptional. My assigned youth is now a 21 year old young lady with an apartment, a car and a job w... more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a CASA since early 2009. The training I received before being matched with my foster girl was exceptional. My assigned youth is now a young woman with a great job whom I still see regularly. She often says she would be "nowhere" without the CASA program and its support. I look forward to continuing to work with his amazing organization.
November 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a CASA since early 2009. The training I received before being matched with my foster was exceptional. My assigned youth is now a 21 year old young lady with an apartment, a car and a job with health benefits. She freely admits she would be "nowhere" without the CASA program and its support. I look forward to continuing to work with his amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

CASA is a non-profit organization that trains, supervises, and supports citizens of the community as they advocate for children in foster care, as well as those involved in the delinquency system. I have been involved with the CASA organization for over six years now and it has been the most valuable/ rewarding experience I have ever had. My hope is that everyone who is taking the time to read this, will take the time to find out more about CASA and how they can become involved. Remember - children are our future!
October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 6, 2013

I have been involved with the CASA organization in Sonoma County for about 10 years. I was trained to serve as an Advocate, served as a Board Member, and assisted in planning Annual Fund Raisers f... more

October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with and supporting the CASA organization in Sonoma County for about 10 years. I have the most respect and admiration of the work that CASA takes on to work with the Court system to represent children who have no other advocate when they are separated from their families. CASA boosts the confidence of the youngest of this displaced population and provides guidance through the labyrinth of the system to make their lives meaningful and positive -- and eventually to a successful independence. I can't speak enough of the great positive impact that this particular organization i.e. CASA/Sonoma County has had on the community and lives of so many children.
September 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with the CASA organization in Sonoma County for about 10 years. I was trained to serve as an Advocate, served as a Board Member, and assisted in planning Annual Fund Raisers for the organization. During that time, I consistently became more & more aware of the great need, not only in our community, but nationwide, for support of the great numbers of children who are without a permanent family life. CASA provides a great asset to the Court System by providing one on one advocacy for each child - both within the Court System and all aspects of the child's Life -- living environment, health, education, and well being. CASA also provides assistance for the transition of the child out of the System and into the World. Sonoma County CASA Director, Millie Gilson, is miraculous in making certain that no detail is missed, that services are provided as required, and go beyond to provide inclusion of children to share their amazing progress that can be accomplished with support and encouragement from CASA and their community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would like to see is increased donations and more volunteers -- to allow for the advocacy of even more of these young people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

CASA is the most amazing program for youth. This program gives a voice to those that cannot speak on their behalf. This program has truly changed my life and I hope the live of multiple youth. I would recommend this program to anyone that wants to make a difference. Youth are the future of our society and they should be nurtured and guided in order to be successful adults and make this world a better place for us all.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers