Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.866675
Write A Review
December 2, 2012

more

December 2, 2012

I have been working with a sibling group for over a tear and a half. Two girls and a boy. All teenagers and it has been a very good experience. I feel like I am their CASA Mama and they always listen to my advice. I am fortunate because my kids are the best and make this experience so great. I love influencing young people and teaching them the life lessons that they need from an adult that they might not receive given their situation. I hope more people will choose to advocate for children. Because it is so needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been working with a young teenager. These are very difficult years for any child, but a child who is a part of the system instead of firmly rooted in a family has an especially hard time. I like to think that I am adding affirmative support and guidance. My CASA supervisor has been fantastic at responding to my questions (even late at night and on holidays!). Everyone has been very helpful at making sure that I am not alone in caring about this child. The CASA experience is a cooperative team experience, and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to make a difference in a child's life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been a CASA for almost four years. My first case involved two infant brothers, one of which was born while I was CASA for his big brother. The case lasted for two years, and was very difficult. My supervisor, Lonnette, was great. She was supportive and encouraging, even when the task before me seemed fraught with "land mines" and sure to fail. After all the hard work, dealing with attorneys, and time and gas spent on this case, it was worth it. I feel that I was able to help the parents learn better ways to take care of their children, and be a positive, consistent influence for the good of the children. My next case has been much more pleasant, and is going well. It involves three sweet, precious girls who were at risk. The parents have completed their required services and now use those new tools to be better parents. It is very rewarding to be a part of their success story. I highly recommend volunteering for CASA of Central Texas. They are the best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

As a retired child psychologist, I know from experience how easy it is for children to fall through the cracks in the child protective services and criminal justice systems. I was always happy when one of my child patients had a CASA volunteer. Now, I am happy to be working on my first CASA case. I have been able to fill in gaps for my two- and six-year-old girls. The staff at CASA of Central Texas is supportive and professional--I always have help when I need it. As a mental health professional, I am impressed with the way this CASA program is organized and with the quality of training that is offered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I am working on my 2nd case with CASA and have never been happier volunteering! CASA is so appreciative of what we do as advocates and I am so proud to be a part of a great organization. I worked in the Criminal Justice system for 9 years and saw first hand how children are left behind because they have no voice. As a CASA we are their voice in the Courtroom and the Court listens. I was just in Court yesterday and I was thanked several times for being there for these particular children. The funny thing is that noone needs to thank me ever, the joy I get from helping these children is thanks enough.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been a CASA for about a year and a half. Being retired from corporate life, I was interested in doing something worthwhile in the community. while I am not a "joiner" as a rule, CASA provides me with a good sense of purpose and visible success in a very troubled world. For me, it just keeps getting more and more rewarding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Becoming a CASA advocate was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I felt that I made a difference for my child and felt adequately trained and prepared. The support was great and I will continue to volunteer with CASA of Central Texas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I had first hand experience having a CASA on my foster children's case. The children's CASA was a Godsend. She was who I turned to to get answers when case workers were no where to be found or not returning phone calls. Her knowledge influenced me so much, that I went through training to become a CASA in order to give back to an organization that was so beneficial to our foster children who are now our adoptive children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a CASA for 2 years and it's the best decision I've ever made. CASA is a fantastic organization that provides their volunteers with the support and education needed to advocate for the children we care for. My CASA supervisor, Kim, is always available by phone or in person when I have a question or when I need support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Just closed my first case - very rewarding experience. Made me feel like I actually made a difference in the life of my children. Will miss them and am anxious to be given a new case.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers