Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
Write A Review
October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had the honor of working with Carson Scholars Fund as a Writing Consultant for the magnificent students who received scholarships through the organization. I was humbled to be surrounded by such dedicated staff and have an opportunity to be apart of a mission that seeks to further the education of thousands of children across the US.

Writing bios about so many gifted children changed my life and fulfilled my spirit! I would offer my services to such a magical cause anytime.
October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization provides students with the opportunity for independent reading with their Ben Carson Reading Rooms. These reading rooms are colorful, book-filled rooms with cozy nooks and couches where students can choose a book and let their imaginations build knowledge and dreams!
October 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Dr. Carson and his wife Candy have given me the chance to live the American Dream of receiving a college education. Not in my wildest dreams did I believe that I would win my school's nomination to compete against all the talented applicants from across our great nation, let alone being named a Carson Scholar. The values that Dr. Carson and his wife live their lives' inspire me and taught me that I must give back to not only my community, but to my country. The commitment of the Carson family and staff to family values, education, and community service are instrumental in the growth of the Carson Scholars Fund in creating more Reading Rooms across the country. Community service is the backbone of each Carson Scholar. As a five-year award recipient, Dr. Carson challenged me to do seek leadership roles, which ultimately prepared me to enter Honor College competitions. The colleges asked me about the mission of Dr. Carson and how my service work has influenced my career choice. I can proudly say that I was selected for a full-ride scholarship. Dr. Carson's belief in me is the reason why I am a first-year undergraduate student working on medical research. The Carson Scholars Fund is the real deal, supporting future scientists, teachers, and community leaders. Do not hesitate to donate, as the monetary award I received was sent directly to my college.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like for Dr. Carson to make inspirational audio tapes and videos for our school youth to listen to while working in class, to inspire them to dream big and value their education.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

This is a great rescue from the great decline in American values.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I am proud to be a Carson Scholar! Ben Carson is a great man with an amazing story and the Carson Fund continues to open doors for our children. As a Fifth grade Carson Scholar, I knew college was in my future. The Carson Fund makes the college dream a reality at such an early age.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

Carson Scholars is an incredibly important organization that has provided hundreds of students across the Country achieve their goal of a higher education. As a recently retired 40 year Middle School teacher in Maryland, I personally used the Carson Scholar philosophy to change the lives of so many kids. Our children need desperately to see the purpose of a good education as well as the love for helping others. This non-profit is beyond Dr. Carson's dream, but something people around our country are willing to support and watch grow. I will continue to offer my personal assistance in moving this program across the country. This nonprofit is truly what America needs to stay on top of the world in education.
September 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

There is a dire need in our country to improve the philosophy of education. Students are in desperate need of confidence and drive which will lead to determination, and most importantly, character. DR. Carson has found the way to do just that. Using the principals that his mother used on him to transform him from the school dummy to the most saught after neurosurgeon in the WORLD, Dr. Carson has turned failing schools into places of success and joy. Our children are our future!!!!! What more important nonprofit organization could we have than one where those who are destined to live off the system are transformed into joyful, prepared and productive members of society.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

I cannot thank the Carson Scholarship fund enough for motivating me to do more community service. After hearing about all the accomplishments of other young people around me I realize how much more I can do. I love helping people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide even more scholarships. There are so many deserving young people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Dr. Carson truly cares about students. I met him and his wife at a book signing and it reminded me how awesome the Carson Scholars Fund has become.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would add more young males to the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 17, 2013

The Carson Scholars fund was the very first scholarship my son applied for. He was floored upon receiving the award letter. The fund has an amazing group of volunteers and unlike some other funds, a... more

April 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The Carson Scholars fund is one of the better run 501 C-3's out there. It functions quite efficiently; giving back more than 90 cents of every dollar received into scholarships and national programs such as Reading Rooms. Every volunteer we engaged with throughout the years offered a positive demeanor and approach. Dr. & Mrs. Ben Carson have been successful imparting the Funds' belief among it's group of workers and the world alike; which is that high achieving students who demonstrate a humanitarian spirit be recognized and rewarded.
Our son wears his Carson Scholar recognition with utmost pride!
April 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The Carson Scholars fund was the very first scholarship my son applied for. He was floored upon receiving the award letter. The fund has an amazing group of volunteers and unlike some other funds, are readily available should there you have a question or concern. Even more amazing is when Dr. & Mrs. Carson along with a host of motivating V.I.P.'s attend the banquet ceremonies. This couple doesn't disappear after the ceremony, they actually pose for photos and autographs with attendees. Motivating children to excel is their specialty. Their actions are indicative of what this scholarship fund is about.
The fund is able to maintain costs below 10%, quite impressive feat by a non-profit these days.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Process 150 applicationsRead 25 student essaysCheck in with 60 schools Volunteer