Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

I cannot thank the Carson Scholarship fund enough for motivating me to do more community service. After hearing about all the accomplishments of other young people around me I realize how much more I can do. I love helping people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide even more scholarships. There are so many deserving young people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Dr. Carson truly cares about students. I met him and his wife at a book signing and it reminded me how awesome the Carson Scholars Fund has become.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would add more young males to the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 17, 2013

The Carson Scholars fund was the very first scholarship my son applied for. He was floored upon receiving the award letter. The fund has an amazing group of volunteers and unlike some other funds, a... more

April 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Carson Scholars fund is one of the better run 501 C-3's out there. It functions quite efficiently; giving back more than 90 cents of every dollar received into scholarships and national programs such as Reading Rooms. Every volunteer we engaged with throughout the years offered a positive demeanor and approach. Dr. & Mrs. Ben Carson have been successful imparting the Funds' belief among it's group of workers and the world alike; which is that high achieving students who demonstrate a humanitarian spirit be recognized and rewarded.
Our son wears his Carson Scholar recognition with utmost pride!
April 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The Carson Scholars fund was the very first scholarship my son applied for. He was floored upon receiving the award letter. The fund has an amazing group of volunteers and unlike some other funds, are readily available should there you have a question or concern. Even more amazing is when Dr. & Mrs. Carson along with a host of motivating V.I.P.'s attend the banquet ceremonies. This couple doesn't disappear after the ceremony, they actually pose for photos and autographs with attendees. Motivating children to excel is their specialty. Their actions are indicative of what this scholarship fund is about.
The fund is able to maintain costs below 10%, quite impressive feat by a non-profit these days.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2014

more

March 16, 2014

Carson Scholars are great students who not only achieve top grades, but they are wonderful role models for their classmates. In addition, they contribute to humanity by performing community service. Thank you Dr. Carson, Candy Carson and Staff of Carson Scholars Fund for keeping Dr. Ben Carson's Dream alive to have a Carson Scholar in every School in the USA.
March 16, 2014

more

March 16, 2014

I first became familiar with Dr. Carson many years ago when I first read "Gifted Hands." I was so impressed by his story of overcoming many challenges thanks to the guidance of his mother in his youth and all that he accomplished in becoming a world renowned pediatric neurosurgeon. He has truly been an inspiration to me and I have been pleased to donate funds in support of the Carson Scholars' program over the past year. He is a very positive role model committed to encouraging and supporting youth to follow his path and to pursue success through higher education. I am truly proud that I can support the Scholars program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2014

more

March 16, 2014

I was "introduced" to Dr. Carson via a Chick-fil-a leadership seminar. His story captivated me and then a close friend took his 11 year old son to Johns Hopkins and Dr. Carson's partner's care.
Dr. Carson's appearance at the National Prayer breakfast in February 2013 ("youtube.com", 22
minutes) was all the impetus I needed.
Since that time I have been an "apostle", sharing Dr. Carson's story, the clip on "youtube" and the success of the Carson Scholars program. There is much work to do in order to get our country back on the track of "one nation, under God". God bless Dr. Carson and his family and God bless the USA.
JohnWF, Wilmington, NC

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Jim Wohlford and just played in the carson scholars fund golf tourney in bethesda md. The tournament was first class and the people were wonderful. As an ex- major league baseball player that played 15 years i have played in over 100 celebrity golf tournaments in my lifetime. First class tournament and first class people. I am from central California and believe in what this organization stands for. Helping young people dream big learning to read and becoming future leaders. Dr Carson And his wife are special people who really understand what needs to be done to help the future generation of this country to succceed in life. Working hard learning to read at a young age and becoming future leaders is very important to the well being of this country. The staff at the Carsons Scholars Fund Is led by Amy Warner and Shelia Butler. Two women who are very dynamic and outstanding individuals. The whole staff is dedicated to helping young people reach their future goals and becoming great citizens. My wife and I plan on supporting this fund for many years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a member of a book club in Baltimore County, MD. Our club decided that we needed a project. After assigning Dr. Carson's newest book, "America the Beautiful" we know we had found a worthwhile cause to support. We were determined to put one of his Reading Rooms in a Baltimore County school. We held a fund raiser that included Dr. Carson signing his book and speaking to the guests. The response was overwhelming. Everyone was so impressed with Dr. Carson's Reading Room ideas and the difference that they could make in the lives of young children. We raised enough money to fund at least 3 reading rooms! The principal from the first school chosen to receive one of our Reading Rooms attended the event and was excited and energized by what an impact this could have on her students. At a time when our education system must compete with video games, TV, etc. it is wonderful to see the schools have an opportunity to show young children what a difference reading can make in their lives. Dr. Carson, his wife and his entire staff are passionate about reading and what reading can do to improve the lives of everyone. Books are the windows to the world and these Reading Rooms can open up the ways to explore, learn and grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is a great organization and so helpful when you are involved in a fundraiser with them. I would like to see them try to do more Reading Rooms through book clubs. By their very nature book clubs promote reading and what better group to help children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Early in 2010 my husband and I were invited to a preview event of the movie "Gifted Hands" , based on Dr Carson's book of the same name. Cuba Gooding, who played Ben , was present and we got to meet Dr Carson's mother Sylvia as well as his son BJ. We were very impressed with Dr Carson and his passion with education and giving back to others. Some months later we had a "friend raiser" party at our home and we and our friends raised a substantial amount for the Carson Scholars Foundation. We continue to support the Foundation in many ways and have come friends with Dr Carson and his wife Candy. For the Hillendale Country Club, Ladies Book Club, I was able to arrange for Dr Carson to do a book signing of "America The BeautifuI " . Our Book Club decided to have the event raise enough money for a "Carson Reading Room" . We had such success enough money was raised for 2 or 3 Reading Rooms for needy Baltimore County elementary schools. The children love their "own " room where they can read for fun and develop a love of reading, and maybe be go on to become a Carson Scholar! Wouldn't it be great if other Book Clubs teamed up the CSF to fund " Carson Reading Rooms" around the country!!!!!!!! Giving these children an opportunity to become the best they can be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Come up with more ways to show people how they could volunteer Encourage the schools with Carson Reading Rooms to participate in the Carson Scholar program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Carson Scholars Fund has awarded me with a scholarship for the past six years. This recognition verified my hard work in school and gave me the opportunity to attend the annual banquet. At the banquet I got to hear many prominent speakers who gave me much to think about and reflect upon. The foundation has showed me the impact that normal people like Dr. Ben Carson can have on the community and the world, which motivates me to work for our God in my own life. I know that I am not the only one who has been changed and motivated by the Carson Scholarship Foundation, and I fully support all funds being directed to this organization in order for these people to continue their Kingdom work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Process 150 applicationsRead 25 student essaysCheck in with 60 schools Volunteer