Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

Daraja changes lives. It transforms eager girls into proud, intelligent, inspirational, true Women of Integrity, Strength and Hope. I am forever grateful to Daraja, the girls, staff, other volunteers and all of those that work on campus for changing my life. There is not a day that goes by that I don't think about my time at Daraja. The feeling that overcomes me when I arrive on campus is nothing like I have ever experienced other than at Daraja. It is an overwhelming sense of peace, belonging, love and hope. It's home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I just spent about a month and a half this summer at Daraja and I can confidently say that no other time in my life has impacted me in such a way. I knew going into my time there that the girls attending Daraja would blow me away but I couldn't have anticipated that knowing them would change my life. Daraja Academy is an incredible place and they are creating truly life-changing and nation-changing work by educating the young women of Kenya that would otherwise not have the opportunity to go to school. I stand along side them in saying that I believe that educating women of Kenya, Africa, and all developing nations is the key to lifting up their countries. Also, not only are the students getting a top-notch education but they are SMART. I couldn't believe how intelligent each girl I talked to was, they will truly change the face of Kenya in whatever they do. I fell in love with the people and the place of Daraja and the surrounding area. Everyone living there is so kind and welcoming and it always felt safe. More than anything, the girls there are just astounding in who they are. It's hard to put into words how beautiful each one of them is because I think to understand how great they are, you have to meet them. You just can't wrap them up into words. Meeting them and creating the wonderful life-long friendships with them has shaped my heart and leaves me wanting to go back and see them as soon as possible! I absolutely loved my time at Daraja and would highly recommend volunteering there to anybody who desires to be apart of and lend a hand to something bigger than themselves and be crazily inspired at the same time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I knew from the moment I arrived on campus that I would take more from my experience with the girls at Daraja than I could ever give. The students, and everyone else on campus, are the warmest, most inviting and inspiring people I've ever met. Sometimes they're silly, rambunctious teenagers, then the next moment one of them will say something you'd never imagine coming from someone so young. They are spirited, passionate and intelligent. As for the work I did - the communications internship - there was never a dull moment! But now, almost a year since I left campus, my position at Daraja is the job that prospective employers ask the most questions about - everything else looks like potatoes in comparison. I am blessed to have spent the time there that I did. And like everyone else whose life has been affected by this magnificent place, I long to go back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have spent 4 summers at Daraja Academy and each year I am amazed by the girls and staff at the school. The experience one has at Daraja is life changing. The staff will treat you like family and welcome you in every way. The girls absolutely love having volunteers. It is a great cultural and education exchange. The Daraja girls are incredible inspiring and strive to better their lives as well as their family and community. Daraja is very safe and the community surrounding it is very welcoming to volunteers. I would definitely recommend a potential volunteer to apply!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was fortunate to spend over a year volunteering at Daraja, working with an amazing community of young women who travel there from across the country. Daraja is more than a high school, it is a an exercise in leadership; it is a community that bridges the diversity of Kenya and global populations. These young women are being offered an amazing educational experience that is both progressive and adheres to the Kenyan standards. This is a school that permits its female students a voice, and encourages them to not only develop academically and in line with 21st century skills, but also mentally: Creativity, confidence, self-expression, and self-directed learning are celebrated. This is an environment that fosters future leaders of Kenya.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Daraja Academy of Kenya, started by the Carr Educational Foundation, is a magical place. It is filled with 104 passionate, determined, and bright girls who truly believe in themselves. It is run by two focused, hard-working people and the teachers are excited to help the girls achieve their goals. The effect of Daraja is viral. It spreads like wildfire within families and communities. The Carr Educational Foundation is doing amazing things that will change Kenya and the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Great experience and non profit that allows you to take what you know and share it with the eager and open students of Daraja Academy. Inversely you end up learning so much more from the students of this wonderful secondary school about the human spirit, community and perseverance. An eye opening experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Daraja Academy is an amazing non-profit providing education and shelter for young girls in Kenya who otherwise would have never had a chance to attend school, have a normal life or simply grow up in a safe environment. I visited the campus 3 years ago and I was so overwhelmed with the reality of how this organization has impacted the lives of these beautiful girls roaming around the campus with their innocent and youthful smile beaming hope and happiness otherwise destined to submit to very unfortunate circumstances.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Daraja Academy is quite simply an outstanding organization. The staff is extremely qualified and dedicated to seeing these girls succeed. It's hard to believe that just a few years ago the first class of 26 girls joined Daraja Academy to begin their studies. Now, that first class will be graduating soon and the progress they have made academically and personally is truly inspirational. The girls are confident, capable leaders who will make positive changes in their communities and their country. Let the success continue. I am a lifetime believer in Daraja Academy!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers