Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have done some volunteering here because I like animals. Sometimes it's a lot of work but mostly it's fun.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

This rescue exceeds all my expectations. Myself and another volunteer in my area answer calls for injured waterfowl in my area. Once the injured waterfowl is captured, it is taken to the rescue. Someone is always there to take care of the injuries. There have been times when I didn't think the waterfowl would make it but the rescue always knew what to do.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Carolina Waterfowl Rescue is dedicated to rescuing and rehabilitating ducks and geese of all kinds as well as other waterfowl birds. They take in all avian species and transfer them to the correct rehabilitation facility. I have volunteered with them for almost a year and I'm very impressed by our director's leadership and care for the birds. The birds come first and she is often working at the rescue until 1 or 2 am. i am proud to be a part of this wonderful organization and the group of volunteers who support it.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I happened to see an ad posted in the local county paper for volunteers needed. I responded and began helping the very next week. What an eye opening experience it has been. I had no idea what it takes to keep this operation going and solely on volunteers! I have learned so much about all different types of birds and enjoy the people who give of their time to help. I have brought my 2 daughters to help and they want to come back again. It is a very rewarding experience to help our feathered friends.
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 6, 2013

I discovered CWR on an online volunteer matching site and joined because it sounded interesting. And it is. And also exceptionally organized when you consider it is 100% volunteer run. In fact, it'... more

October 30, 2014

I started volunteering with CWR a little over a year ago. It's excellent because you can get as little or much involved as you want. Most animal charities focus on cats and dogs, CWR offers something a little different because it takes in birds of all sorts (excluding raptors) and gives them a home until they are ready to be released to the wild or adopted out (or alternatively stay with the rescue if neither of those options are available.)

Completely volunteer run and a non-profit, this is definitely a charity worth working with.
October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered CWR on an online volunteer matching site and joined because it sounded interesting. And it is. And also exceptionally organized when you consider it is 100% volunteer run. In fact, it's more organized than some places that I've volunteered at that had paid volunteer coordinators.

And I think that's because everybody wants to be there. They're doing it out of the goodness of their hearts rather than to get a paycheck. And the cause they have is a great one. You see a goose at the side of the road and you don't necessarily think about what happens to that goose later on. CWR does. Whether it is injured by traffic, hunting season, or any other of the myriad reasons a goose can get hurt, CWR takes it in, fixes it up, and then frees it if it is able to survive on its own. And that's the ultimate goal. But if it won't be ok in the wild, then CWR doesn't make it leave.

This is a great place to volunteer and the animals (and people) are a pleasure to work with. I'm glad I was able to find this opportunity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish that they could get more funding. Think of all the good they could do! But really, they are doing what they are supposed to be; helping the birds.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is an incredible rescue not only dedicated to helping birds of all kinds, but assisting all animals that come here reach someone who can give them proper care.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with CWR for about 3 years now and every year we get busier and busier. We are an all volunteer organization that relies on funding from our donors and grants, which we use to help thousands of birds per year, both wild and domestic. We help not only the sick and the injured, but the unloved, unwanted and misunderstood. We now have people reaching out to us for help from all over the United States, and also other countries on occasion. We try to help everyone and everything we possibly can. I don't know of any other rescue or organization that can say the same.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with CWR for several years now. It is a lot of fun and always something new and unique. They do not turn down any animal. They take in and care for rabbits, cows, dogs, etc. They are well connected to other rescues for these animals. CWR has grown and prospered. It is a very well organized rescue.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Great people doing great things for animals. They specialize in birds but help all types of animals.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a rescue run entirely by volunteers and donations. Everyone here works only for their love of animals. Its a great place where no animals are turned away.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers