Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Sure, it's fun and relaxing and educational to walk the Raptor Trail through Carolina Raptor Center. They are beautiful to look at. And as you leave after your visit, it's always time well spent, for a great experience. But the bottom line is... the Carolina Raptor Center saves raptor's lives! THOUSANDS of them! I have volunteered at the Rehab Hospital for just over a couple years now. And just in that short time, over 2,000 injured, dying, suffering, beautiful hawks owls, vultures, eagles and osprey have been handed off to our wonderful medical team, to get help. That's a lot of huge birds. The vast majority of these helpless raptors were nursed back to health and once again set free into the wilderness, right here in our back yard, all around Charlotte. Many were given surgeries, medications, custom made food, and lots and lots of love and caring by the incredibly dedicated staff and volunteers.

Among the thousands of birds whose lives were saved, how many of them were raptors that you or your children were lucky enough to see, soaring high above, or sitting on that wire or branch, or flying across a field or through a barn? Many of us would not have had those magical moments of seeing these majestic birds, if it wasn't for the Carolina Raptor Center.

Charlotte is truly a fortunate city, to have this wonderful non-profit right here. Few cities are so fortunate. The hospital saves lives, and the Raptor Trail in turn, helps fund the hospital and teaches us and the next generation of us, to care about these special birds. They really make a difference. I'm so happy and honored to be a part of such a great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If the budget allowed it, I would make it bigger. There are always more suffering birds of prey that need help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

As you drive through Latta you may not notice the Carolina Raptor Center nestled quietly in the trees. I didn't for years... It wasn't until I visited the center with my child's volunteer opportunity through his school did I understand the great work CRC does with rehabilitation and release of raptors, as well as educating our community. I was hooked. The staff and volunteers are so knowledgeable and helpful. The raptor trail is a beautiful walk as well as a chance to visit some of the resident birds. Since that time I've become a supporter and a board member. I'm proud to support and represent such an outstanding organization!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My children first introduced me to the Carolina Raptor Center when their school field trip landed us all at the beautiful facility. I became a volunteer through the community involvement group of my employer, who is also a corporate sponsor. I currently sit on the Board of Directors. The Carolina Raptor Center is one of the most engaging organizations in the Charlotte area. The CRC is multipurpose center with STEM education programs, cutting edge surgical techniques, treatment protocols and research in avian veterinary medicine, along with peer recognized raptor rehabilitation and release programs. As well as environmental conservation and enrichment programs, summer camps and of course the Raptor Trail. This is a gem of an organization with passionate professionals, volunteers and staff that work diligently to bring their mission to life through engaging community programs and a love for the birds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it a larger, more advanced facility and provide it with more funding to expand it's current programs as well as add new ones.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Fortunate and proud are two words to describe my feelings over the past 6 years as a Board Member at CRC. I was blessed to get the opportunity to dedicate time and assets to further the amazing work that CRC staff and volunteers have been managing for well over 25 years. The wonderful friends I met through my time involved exceeded my premonitions of board involvement. My family enjoyed every visit to the center and miss it dearly since our move out of state. The company I work for continues to be lucky enough to fulfill needs for the center and is thankful that we can be a part of the education of youth, environmental stewardship and the rehabilitation of birds of prey.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I have been supporting Carolina Raptor Center for over 20 years. Most of that time we have been minor donors and transport volunteers. In the last few years I have increased my knowledge of them and the world class hospital where they put about 68% of the birds back into the wild. The exhibits are great and they have some exciting plans for expansion in the future. I am now a volunteer, board member and major donor. The donations that I make are because they are such good stewards of my donated money. They are worth going to see and experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

support their new plans

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I am a volunteer, board member and donor. I dedicate my time and resources to this organization because I can see the results. They are efficient and effective in helping to return raptors to the wild. The passion of the staff and volunteers is apparent. Visitors can come see birds (those that cannot be released) in up close settings. The education programs are fun and interesting for all ages. This is a great organization!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I choose to donate my time and resources to the Carolina Raptor Center because i truly believe in their mission. This is an extremely efficient organization that educates the public, provides for the rehabilitation and subsequent release of raptors and allows for a safe place for those raptors that are unable to be released. I have been involved with many nonprofits over the years but the Carolina Raptor Center is the one that has been embraced by my entire family as one to give their time to in a very real way. The staff and volunteers who work there on a daily basis are to be commended for all their efforts!!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

This a great organization that not only impacts the environament but truely the community it serves. Between the raptor hospital, teaching opportunities and the outdoor trail - there is something for everyone.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

The Carolina Raptor Center is a phenomenal organization full of staff and volunteers who are truly dedicated to the conservation of birds of prey. In all of my interactions with the volunteers and staff, I have been impressed by the knowledge and personal passion on display. These people really love the birds and working for them.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

The Carolina Raptor Center is a unique spot to get outdoors with your family. Spend time getting to know the birds and walking in the Carolina sunshine. Watch the amazement of your family as an owl's flight sends wind through their hair. Get invested in the rehabilitation of the birds of prey. You can even "adopt" one and keep track of its healing process. Be an eagle keeper for a day or become a volunteer. The opportunities for wonder are limitless.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers