Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.836365
Write A Review
June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

On June 21, 2014, I filled out the on-line application with CPR to adopt a dog. CPR sent me an e-mail that they received my application and were reviewing it. I responded that I would like to take the dog on a trial adoption for a week or two and visit their facility. CPR responded that they would not do trial adoptions.

This was not acceptable to me for the following reasons:
- I think I would be extremely foolish to adopt any pet without having a trial period. This is a 15 year investment and I must thoroughly check out any dog that is going to live with me that long. I at least need to take the dog to my vetinarian and let her examine the dog and be able to return the dog if serious problems are found. Adopting a dog is a huge financial and emotional investment and commitment.
- The dog is not a child. Even these adoption agencies allow for a trial period. Adopting a child is much more serious than adopting a dog.
- I have worked with pet adoption agencies before and they were all much friendlier than CPR and more willing to work with me. The other agencies were more focused on finding a good home for their animals than on their personal convenience as CPR seems to be. I would think that CPR’s focus would be on finding a good home for their animals but apparently CPR has other ideas in mind. I can only wonder how many animals CPR has placed where the adoption did not work out very well and the owner would like to have returned the pet but could not because they were not allowed a trial period and to return the pet.
- I wish I had known CPR’s policy before I spent so much time on their application and contacting my neighbors. I suggest that CPR clearly write their no return policy at the beginning of their application to better inform future people who may think of applying with them.
- I found the CPR staff to be very demanding and uncompromising in their dealings with me. It’s their way or the highway.

I sent them an e-mail stating that their conditions were not acceptable and asked them to destroy my application which they said they did.

No, I do not recommend this adoption agency.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CPR should focus more on finding good homes for the animals. A week or two trial period is quite reasonable. CPR should at a minimum post their no return policy at the beginning of their application so that potential clients could better understand what they are getting into. Change the attitude of the staff from "my way or the highway" to one of cooperating with their clients to find the best homes for their animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

I could not be happier! We got our first standard 10 years ago from a different rehoming site (and he is a wonderful 15-1/2 year old dog). We have searched CPR website intermittently for the past 3 years and submitted an application finally a year ago. The volunteer adoption specialist was amazing back in January. We weren't ready then, but we kept checking the website. Then in august we were ready, but only if there was a perfect fit for our elder dog, our kids and family. CPR is great with thus. They want 100% fit. On the website we fell in love with a certain dog but the volunteers told us with our busy family this dog had separation anxiety and not a good fit. I appreciate the honesty and respect and love they have for their dogs for proper placement. Once at the farm the volunteers were amazing to let us (elder dog and kids and all) meet many standard poodles. We found our perfect fit to complete our family. We will definitely be donating to this organization and will definitely go through them in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

I'm a volunteer and adopted my sweet 9 yo standard poodle at CPR 5 months ago. The match was perfect for our family. All my experiences with CPR have been enjoyable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 7, 2012

I found Carolina Poodle Rescue November 2011 after l lost my poodle Toby. I had always purchased my poodles as pups, but since we are very much older seniors, I did not want a puppy but had to have a... more

November 2, 2013

Shortly after my first adoption from Carolina Poodle Rescue I wrote a review from an adopters point of view. Now I would like others to know this organization from my roll as a volunteer. There have been those that have made applications that were not approved and I am sure some of those have been disappointed. Any time there is a question the applicants always get an opportunity to explain and work through the problem. This is done because some of these dogs come from deplorable conditions and no one wants them to go into a home where they will not thrive. That is not good for the family or the dog. We also do not want them returned as it is not good for the dog to be bounced around. The dog and the family are matched as to family conditions and temperament of the dog as best as possible. The people that foster or run the kennel try to get an understanding of the dog and do the best that they can to inform the adopter of any problem the dog has. We have counselors that screen the applications and converse with the applicant, there are people that foster dogs until the right home is found, people are scattered all over that pull dogs from shelters that are on the kill list and transport them to a proper place, a person that keeps track of information and distributes this to the proper volunteers, so many other jobs that are needed to keep this organization going. All of these people are non paid and have only one goal. That is to rescue and find good homes for these dogs. Training is given to those that volunteer and have to be approved. Dogs are not put up for adoption just to get rid of them, in fact dogs that are not adoptable have a home for life with proper care. I work along several other rescue groups and they do the best they can but their method of securing homes for their animals can not compare to Carolina Poodle Rescue. The interest of the dog is primary otherwise why would someone like myself spend thousands of dollars and devote all the time I can give to help? For a person to appreciate what Carolina Poodle Rescue does they have to see the whole picture as I do. I will work and help this organization as long as possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enlist more volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2012

I found Carolina Poodle Rescue November 2011 after l lost my poodle Toby. I had always purchased my poodles as pups, but since we are very much older seniors, I did not want a puppy but had to have another poodle. I found the process this organization has to qualify adopters was much superior than most. The care they give their dogs and other animals is excellent and loving. I can't tell you how many volunteers work with this group giving their time and money. I glady give my time and money when needed. Once you start helping you can not stop if you care about animals. I can not praise this organization and the volunteers enough. I have adopted a Yorkie and taken a 14 year old toy poodle that needed a home also have fostered two poodles. I would do more if possible as this organization holds my heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 2, 2013

I have adopted two toy poodles from CPR and both experiences have been excellent. CPR is very careful to assure that adopters are throughly vetted to assure each dog goes to a home that will care for them for the rest of their life. They don't put dogs in just any home to get rid of them.
During my first adoption I was impressed that my little one would always be a CPR dog and have a home for life if something happened and I could no longer care for her. As an older, single person that means a lot that my best friend will be cared for with love if I am no longer able to do that.
Not every dog is adoptable but they all have a home for their natural life through CPRs Sanctuary Care.
I have recommended CPR to anyone I meet looking for a special dog looking for a good home. The adoption counselors are skilled in matching the right dog with the right family for the best possible outcome.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

I did not adopt a poodle, but what I found at CPR was a big, sweet, 130 lb. St Bernard! After being declined by several rescue organizations after I told them I needed a large dog to train for mobility service, CPR was the ONLY one who had the courage and heart to take a chance on me. I thank God every day that they did, because my big Zak has rescued ME as much as I did him. Rescue and rehab dogs come with their own baggage, and all it takes is love and patience to help them shed it to become the wonderful dog that is hiding inside. After 5 months of being together, we are still learning about each other, but he is now my best friend and constant mobility companion, and also volunteers once a month to visit developmentally disabled kids.

CPR is very thorough before allowing adoption, so I can only guess that any disgruntled reviewers must have been declined for some reason, and were upset. YES CPR does rehome dogs....as many times as needed to find that forever match. They DO try very hard to make it work the first time, but even they can't predict some things. IF it doesn't work out, you are under contract to return the dog to them so they can re-evaluate it and begin screening a new family that would be a better fit. Thankfully they have one of the LOWEST returned animal rates in the country! And if they don't feel the dog can be safely rehomed, then it is placed into the sanctuary area there, where it can live out its life in love and comfort.

I started as an adopter... but because I received such great treatment from them, and I wanted to give back some way, I also became a temp foster home for them, and now also volunteer with the team. CPR has been wonderful to partner with, by screening dogs for our service and therapy dog programs. We provide free evaluations on any CPR dogs that they believe may take well to service or therapy work. Together as a team, we will continue to help our communities and keep more dogs out of the shelters!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek MORE grants and other funding in order to add more facilities to save more dogs, and to be able to offer a small compensation to get a licenses vet on-board full time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After my daughter's first pet (a poodle) passed away, we went to CPR to find another fur baby. Of course we were screened first. They called the vet, groomer, and references to make sure we would be good parents. As we were looking around. Daisy (an older white poodle) came up to my daughter and jumped up on her. It was like she chose us! We talked to Donna and she warned us that Daisy could get a little aggressive at times, especially if backed into a corner.

We still decided to adopt her. She fit in amazingly well with our family and 2 other pets (a cocka-poo and terri-doodle). We were patient and loving and any aggressive signs were no longer present. I think she felt at home and settled in.

I felt like all the bases were covered before our adoption and can't believe that someone would say that CPR would adopt out problem pets without informing perspective pet parents. Donna was very upfront and honest with us. Adopting from CPR was a great experience and I encourage anyone who is looking for a pet to contact them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Two years after my standard poodle passed away I was finally ready to adopt another. We still had a standard that was my husband's baby but I was ready for my new furbaby. After filling out the application I recieved a call from one of their "caseworkers" and we talked for about one and a half hours. Sue asked me many questions that would affect the dog's health and happiness as well as that of our current poodle and my husband and myself. Then we waited to see if they thought they had a poodle that was right for our family. We finally got a call and an appointment to visit the farm. We were shown around the entire farm and introduced to any of the dogs we particularly showed an interest in. After our tour we were asked if there was anyone that we wanted more time with and they also suggested Kyle as having the personality like I was looking for. (I was interested in a poodle that could be trained as a therapy dog.) There was a beautifully groomed poodle named Ginger that I was also interested in. We went in a small enclosed porch with Ginger and Kyle and Kyle chose me. We had been encouraged to bring our dog with us and brought her on the porch with Kyle and they got along like littermates. Kyle came home with us that day and I could not be happier. He stays at my heels, passed obedience and therapy tests. Carolina Poodle Rescue not only got us the dog we wanted, but Sue had made sure with her questions that our place was right for their standard poodle. We saw with our tour that they care for the wellbeing of the animals in their care. We first found out about this rescue two and a half years ago when we got Kyle. We think highly enough of the volunteers there that we donate monthly and give extra as we feel we can. They asked for Pack N Plays for their puppies and for seniors so I have gotten several at yard sales along with other supplies. They are a no kill shelter so they use the Pack N Plays for the little blind seniors to sleep together when they are not out. This is a firstclass non-profit organization and in my opinion, if anyone has a problem with them it is because they were not accepted by the "caseworker," they didn't take the time and patience that is required with any new animal coming into your home, or didn't understand that some of these furbabies have been through a horrible existence in the first part of their life and need special acceptance to understand that they now have their own people that are going to teach them to love. A group of volunteers at the rescue that frequently are forgotten are the transporters. Kyle was found in Virginia and after looking for the owners, transporters use their time and money to pass the dogs from one volunteer to another as they drive the many miles to safely and lovingly care for the dogs to get them to the farm. I will definitely adopt again from Carolina Poodle Rescue. They care!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When my rescue toy poodle passed away, I was not ready to adopt another so I volunteered at the Carolina Poodle Rescue. I wanted to be "around" poodles but not necessarily adopt one. I saw that it was a nice, clean facility and that every person who worked there was really nice to the animals. They didn't just work there because there was no other place to work in that particular city out in the countryside. I did what I could cleaning this and that, food bowls, water bowls, hugging scared dogs, throwing balls to the more active dogs etc. I did this for a few weeks and then my family asked when I was going to adopt another dog. This time they wanted a "real" dog, as in, not a toy poodle. I referred them to the webpage of adoptable dogs and told them to tell me which ones they were interested. They chose a brother pair of dogs that would only be adopted out together as they were "bonded." I sought the dogs the next time I went up there and one was much more outgoing than the other. I tried to be cool and not just fall in love with them so I told the CPR person that I wanted to drive home and bring back my stepson to see how they got along. This is a two hour roundtrip for me. So I drove home, picked up the kiddy, brought him up to the farm and we spent time with the dogs in a private adoption room and experimented with having a cat in the room since we have cats too. I sat with a toy poodle in my lap and the two other bigger "half poodle/half terrier" dogs were just so happy and curious but not barky, nervous or scared. We decided to take them home and the rest is history. They are the best dogs, friends, pals, pets ever. The CPR people were professional and have provided a lot of resources for being a responsible owner and share info with all the adopters about animal welfare and how to make the most of your pet ownership. I would adopt from them again if I had room to!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that they don't already do given the resources that they have. They seem to do a lot already for dogs that you or I would think of as "lost causes."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 1, 2013

We were looking for a second poodle for our 2 person/ 1 poodle / 1 cat home... I was amazed at how thorough the screening and approval process was, but could only think, GOOD, this is a sign of how serious they take the adopters to be. Approved!
We took our time making the appt and one early
cold Feb Saturday we arrived to a bust center with smiling faces! Our poodle picked us out immediately, we still looked at 5 others, but Pawley was OURS - she told us so!
Now every time we see another available, I want them all, But I know that CPR is taking such good care of all their charges and we even help sponsor a fellow who will never leave CPR do to behavior issues, but I know he'll have a good , long, fun and most of all loving life!
I have recommended all by friends to adopt here, and I hope if you are reading this review, you will too!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers