Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

I first came to Carolina Tiger Rescue back when it was the Carnivore Preservation Trust. I was in elementary school, and it was a two - hour drive, but the tour I went on was one of those events that is indelibly stamped on my memory. I came back several times as a volunteer through high school, cutting up fruit for the binturongs or watering the animals on a 100+ degree summer day. The animals consistently amazed me, and there isnt much in my life that did more to magnify my appreciation for endangered or mistreated species. I don't live in NC anymore, but because of my experience at CPT I now volunteer at a local animal shelter. Whenever I move back to North Carolina I look forward to volunteering with CTR again. It is a special place.
April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

This place is AWESOME & how they help wild cats! Keep up the good work!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

I first visited Carolina Tiger Rescue on a tour in 2003. I became a volunteer and adoptive mom of one of the resident tigers there. I have watched Carolina Tiger Rescue grow and increase its scope of education, rescue, and outreach. The staff and volunteers are wonderful, beyond all words! Folks of all ages will take something of value away from a visit, tour, or community presentation. I recommend a tour and involvement in any way possible to anyone. Your heart will be touched, and your mind and spirit will be inspired to join Carolina Tiger Rescue in making our world a better place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Awesome place pretty much sums up Carolina Tiger Rescue. They perform a much-needed mission on a very tight budget with a lot of integrity and enthusiasm. The animals there are well cared for and much loved by the staff. I highly recommend a visit to not only see the animals, but learn about their natural habitat and the threats they face when owned by individuals who cannot properly care for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The penalty I was given for a speeding ticket in Orange County required that I complete some time in community service for any non-profit of my choice. A friend suggested I volunteer for Carolina Tiger Rescue. Having been on one of their tours, I knew a little about the place, so I called them up to see if they could use me. Turns out that they have a well-organized program that makes use of those needing to do community service. You walk away with a letter to the judge that includes an accounting of your time and activities.

I spent several Sundays working at CTR, helping out with a bunch of necessary work, including efforts to improve the cats' enclosures. I love the site manager, Dan Munn, and all the good people with whom I shared time while working off my hours. They are exceptionally concerned about visitor safety and treat the animals with the respect that big predators deserve. I like the philosophy they've adopted that the cats in their care are not circus animals, there to entertain visitors (although sometimes the cats can't help but be entertaining). It probably already says this in some way or another on their website, but based on my in-person observation I can affirm that the intent of the organization is to provide humane care for big cats that should never have been in captivity (or treated as domestic pets) and cannot return safely to the wild. Having created the best possible environment they could, to this end, they are also uniquely positioned to educate the public about the realities for big cats in the wild, in forced breeding programs, imprisoned and abused in sideshows, or mistakenly adopted as domestic pets. I hope to help out with this educational effort in my job as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 19, 2012

I found out about the Carolina Tiger Preserve many years ago when i went with my two small children on a tour. I did think of volunteering until this past summer. Words are hard to describe how I feel... more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer at Carolina Tiger Rescue and it is just an awesome place. The staff from the director, animal curator, volunteer coordinator and construction crew are so dedicated to making CTR a place of honor and love for these huge cats. They are totally dedicated to each other and the animals, to the point of taking injured vultures to a local rehab if they are caught by one of the cats and just harmed and not killed. I dont have enough kind words to say about this place. They orient volunteers on a daily and weekly basis and are always kind, loving in there interactions with us. No matter how stupid our questions may be. I would recomment a visit by anyone and volunteering or employment also. Great place. Great people and magnificant animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

I found out about the Carolina Tiger Preserve many years ago when i went with my two small children on a tour. I did think of volunteering until this past summer. Words are hard to describe how I feel each time I enter the compound. It is amazing and I feel so blessed to have the privilige in assisting in the care of these magnificent animals. The animals show their appreciation for what is done for them by going over and inspecting what has been done in their home. Whether it be cleaning their pools in the summer to fluffing a straw bed in the winter. They go over and play in it and say "thanks I really like this" All of the staff is totally dedicated to the well being of these animals The curator Kathryn who is incredibly funny and upbeat, she cares for the animals, staff and volunteers who help her. She knows us all by name and is always joking making the work fun. The keepers Lauren, Lenore and Ed, who are so caring and giving in everything they do. They love the animals and all who are there to help them. Right down to the Dan the construction manager who doesnt say much but I have been told he has made a tremendous impact at the preserve with the construction of anything the animals need. It is an amazing place and is the highlight of my week, each time I go to volunteer. The food, houses, enrichment is top of the line. It is totally dedicated to give these animals a wonderful place to spend the rest of their lives. Some of which have had it a bit rough. But thanks to Carolina Tiger Preseve they will never have to worry or suffer ever again. God Bless you guys.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012

more

March 23, 2012

I have been a volunteer at Carolina Tiger Rescue for close to 10 years. You would not believe some of the situations from which we have gone in and rescued animals. Tigers, lions, leopards, cougars - even smaller cats that people think make "great" pets, have all come to us in desparate need of care. We pluck them from junkyards, roadside attractions. We rescue them when they have been abandoned and just walking along the side of the road. These creatures, both great and small, should never be these situations. We give them our best care as faithful stewards for their welfare. We educate people who visit us about the plight of these animals in captivity, and we try to ensure that, one day, our grandchildren will never have to ask "what is a tiger". Conservation, education and sanctuary is what we do. I've seen it work, and work well for 10 years. It's a great place to connect with great people and amazing animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

I have always enjoyed being around animals big and small, and I enjoy being outside. When I first started to volunteer as a Tour Guide, I had heard stories of volunteers connecting with the animals and vice versa. I can say that there are a couple of tigers that I have connected with. Especially Carmelita - even though she has a cancerous tumor on her leg. She continues on everyday, as to not let the tumor get in her way. It has reinforced in me the strength to stand strong in my fight with cancer. Seeing Apache respond and be less tense at the sound of my voice or chuffle. Being a volunteer with CTR has opened my eyes even more to what is going on in the wild with the natural habit of the big cats. I think that the mission of CTR is so wonderful. They are allowing the cats a chance to be in a some what "natural" environment yet still be observed by the public. The animal facts and their personal stories can be shared. And to help those that can not help themselves, whether it be rescue or relocate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

Carolina Tiger Rescue is hands down the best facility I have had the pleasure of visiting. Our family was given a membership at the holidays a few years back, and we would visit every other month on tours. The facility, the staff and the animals are all wonderful. I have been so impressed with their position on rescue and the best for their animals, that I have started volunteering. It is a fantastic place, and even though there are plenty of creatures that will roar and make your knees quake - it is one of the most peaceful places I have been to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

I have been a volunteer at Carnivore Preservation for almost 8 years. When I started there I thought I was giving my time and energy to help the Big Cats, but what I found was that I was getting back 100 times more then I was giving. It is a wonderful place for our Tigers, Lions,Caracals Ocelots, servals ,binterongs and Kinks and Bobcats live in a forever home. Each and everyone of our animals has the absolute best medical care, food, and habitat. We don't have cages at CTR we have large enclosures in the compound, where these beautiful 4 legged people can be who they were meant to be. They don't have to do stupid people tricks, they are never exploited.These cats have a Staff and Volunteers who are completely dedicated to them and work long hard hours to make sure they are well taken care of and thier every need is met. They have enrichment to entertain them and tours where they can be seen by the public. CTR is an amazing place to visit and bring your family and friends to get an education and enjoy these beautiful animals first hand. Also if you want to do something great for yourself volunteer or visit CTR you will have the time of your life!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers