Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The penalty I was given for a speeding ticket in Orange County required that I complete some time in community service for any non-profit of my choice. A friend suggested I volunteer for Carolina Tiger Rescue. Having been on one of their tours, I knew a little about the place, so I called them up to see if they could use me. Turns out that they have a well-organized program that makes use of those needing to do community service. You walk away with a letter to the judge that includes an accounting of your time and activities.

I spent several Sundays working at CTR, helping out with a bunch of necessary work, including efforts to improve the cats' enclosures. I love the site manager, Dan Munn, and all the good people with whom I shared time while working off my hours. They are exceptionally concerned about visitor safety and treat the animals with the respect that big predators deserve. I like the philosophy they've adopted that the cats in their care are not circus animals, there to entertain visitors (although sometimes the cats can't help but be entertaining). It probably already says this in some way or another on their website, but based on my in-person observation I can affirm that the intent of the organization is to provide humane care for big cats that should never have been in captivity (or treated as domestic pets) and cannot return safely to the wild. Having created the best possible environment they could, to this end, they are also uniquely positioned to educate the public about the realities for big cats in the wild, in forced breeding programs, imprisoned and abused in sideshows, or mistakenly adopted as domestic pets. I hope to help out with this educational effort in my job as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful visit at the Carolina Tiger Rescue today. The staff members were friendly and helpful. Greg and Shazir gave a great tour, sharing facts about the animals as well as each animal's story. They answered every question kindly and with respect. It was great to see the animals looking healthy and happy. We will be back!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The animals were fabulous! Very exciting to see these wild animals so close. The staff, however, was extremely rude, inconsiderate and condesending to anyone who would ask questions. Just because the "general public" isn't that knowledgable when it comes to the overall care and conditions the animals arrive from, the guides DO NOT have to be so rude about it.

My family, children and other visitors on the tour were very disappointed in the attitude of the staff at the facility. We will NEVER recommend people visit this place again. It's terribly unfortunate since it does help the animals, but wouldn't give a dime to your people ever again.

Definitely need to make some staff changes or the future of these amazing animals may be in jepordy!

Shame on you ALL!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire entire staff and start fresh with new, intelligent and NICE people!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization goes above and beyond the call of duty to care for these animals. they further expand their mission by educating the public about the plight of wild animals living in unsafe and inappropriate conditions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 19, 2012

I found out about the Carolina Tiger Preserve many years ago when i went with my two small children on a tour. I did think of volunteering until this past summer. Words are hard to describe how I feel... more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer at Carolina Tiger Rescue and it is just an awesome place. The staff from the director, animal curator, volunteer coordinator and construction crew are so dedicated to making CTR a place of honor and love for these huge cats. They are totally dedicated to each other and the animals, to the point of taking injured vultures to a local rehab if they are caught by one of the cats and just harmed and not killed. I dont have enough kind words to say about this place. They orient volunteers on a daily and weekly basis and are always kind, loving in there interactions with us. No matter how stupid our questions may be. I would recomment a visit by anyone and volunteering or employment also. Great place. Great people and magnificant animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

I found out about the Carolina Tiger Preserve many years ago when i went with my two small children on a tour. I did think of volunteering until this past summer. Words are hard to describe how I feel each time I enter the compound. It is amazing and I feel so blessed to have the privilige in assisting in the care of these magnificent animals. The animals show their appreciation for what is done for them by going over and inspecting what has been done in their home. Whether it be cleaning their pools in the summer to fluffing a straw bed in the winter. They go over and play in it and say "thanks I really like this" All of the staff is totally dedicated to the well being of these animals The curator Kathryn who is incredibly funny and upbeat, she cares for the animals, staff and volunteers who help her. She knows us all by name and is always joking making the work fun. The keepers Lauren, Lenore and Ed, who are so caring and giving in everything they do. They love the animals and all who are there to help them. Right down to the Dan the construction manager who doesnt say much but I have been told he has made a tremendous impact at the preserve with the construction of anything the animals need. It is an amazing place and is the highlight of my week, each time I go to volunteer. The food, houses, enrichment is top of the line. It is totally dedicated to give these animals a wonderful place to spend the rest of their lives. Some of which have had it a bit rough. But thanks to Carolina Tiger Preseve they will never have to worry or suffer ever again. God Bless you guys.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012

more

March 23, 2012

I have been a volunteer at Carolina Tiger Rescue for close to 10 years. You would not believe some of the situations from which we have gone in and rescued animals. Tigers, lions, leopards, cougars - even smaller cats that people think make "great" pets, have all come to us in desparate need of care. We pluck them from junkyards, roadside attractions. We rescue them when they have been abandoned and just walking along the side of the road. These creatures, both great and small, should never be these situations. We give them our best care as faithful stewards for their welfare. We educate people who visit us about the plight of these animals in captivity, and we try to ensure that, one day, our grandchildren will never have to ask "what is a tiger". Conservation, education and sanctuary is what we do. I've seen it work, and work well for 10 years. It's a great place to connect with great people and amazing animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Carolina Tiger Rescue is a top-notch facility providing excellent care to their rescued animals. A definitely worthy cause to support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

I have always enjoyed being around animals big and small, and I enjoy being outside. When I first started to volunteer as a Tour Guide, I had heard stories of volunteers connecting with the animals and vice versa. I can say that there are a couple of tigers that I have connected with. Especially Carmelita - even though she has a cancerous tumor on her leg. She continues on everyday, as to not let the tumor get in her way. It has reinforced in me the strength to stand strong in my fight with cancer. Seeing Apache respond and be less tense at the sound of my voice or chuffle. Being a volunteer with CTR has opened my eyes even more to what is going on in the wild with the natural habit of the big cats. I think that the mission of CTR is so wonderful. They are allowing the cats a chance to be in a some what "natural" environment yet still be observed by the public. The animal facts and their personal stories can be shared. And to help those that can not help themselves, whether it be rescue or relocate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

Carolina Tiger Rescue is hands down the best facility I have had the pleasure of visiting. Our family was given a membership at the holidays a few years back, and we would visit every other month on tours. The facility, the staff and the animals are all wonderful. I have been so impressed with their position on rescue and the best for their animals, that I have started volunteering. It is a fantastic place, and even though there are plenty of creatures that will roar and make your knees quake - it is one of the most peaceful places I have been to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

After visiting Carolina Tiger Rescue this summer, we asked if they could help rescue some tigers that were living in a Texas sanctuary who had financial problems in 2010 that required all animals be relocated or euthanized. CTR was in the process of reviewing their physical infrastructure and budget to be able to provide space for additional big cats in need of a home for life. We were able to help finance the building of additional enclosures so that CTR could make room for 4 additional tigers that we had known as cubs many years ago. The relocation was very successful and the tigers are enjoying their new home and the wonderful people at CTR.

Photos

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Rescue tigers

Why did you make your donation at this time?

tigers in danger of being euthanized

What would you tell others about this organization?

top in class

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers