Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered for about a year about once a week in the Film and Audio department at Main. There was always something to do, and they seemed very appreciative of my contribution to the library. The vast array of services and materials available at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh exceeds anything I'd expect from a library, and outweighs anything else I've experienced other places. Free e-magazine subscriptions, e-books, MP3s, playaways (little standalone audiobooks), art/cultural events (a preview of a musical among the books in the library, neat), craft/diy programs, and video games (both to take home or to play at programs) are all the things I've gotten from the library that I might not have expected.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As a resident of a low-income town on the outskirts of the City of Pittsburgh, a college graduate, and a student currently working on a Masters of English Literature, I cannot even begin to summarize the impact that the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh has had on me as an individual, or its community.

As a child, I was lucky enough that my mother would take us to the library on a weekly basis. Growing up, I remember having arguments with her about how many books I was allowed to check out. Later, trips by myself are marked specifically by the overwhelming smell of chlorine venting from Homestead Library's pool in the summers and the trees we planted there as Girl Scouts. The summer reading program enthralled me, and impressively, even managed to get my little brother to enjoy reading. (Though that may have been the prizes.) Not only valuable for the access to print, the library became one of the few places we had access to internet (much faster than the AOL dial up we were rocking out at home), and the place where I learned to play chess (and learned how to lose gracefully).

In my teen years I would find myself turning to the library for SAT study guides, assistance with college application letters, as well as a respite from a noisy school and house. The library became a quiet haven to study and to enjoy personal reading time. I distinctly remember my excitement when we learned that the library carried videos and CDs as well. With little money to spend on entertainment, the library allowed me to add (probably illegally, oops) to my music and have access to lectures on tape from various universities.

In college, I would again turn to the library for assistance with standardized testing, this time in the form of the GRE. The hours spent there studying are innumerable. The librarians who proofread and edited my resume, crossing out lines and teaching me the importance of bullet points, were probably bigger life-savers than I will ever truly understand. I am certain that their careful tutoring and keen eyes helped me land my first jobs.

As an adult in graduate school, I find myself needing my library less. As my work moves into specific authors and dense research I now rely on my university library for access to materials. Thankfully, needing and wanting are two very different view points. I may be able to afford those new CD's, or to purchase my own books, I may not have access to the summer reading program, or need help with standardized tests, but my love for the library will always be there. Even with access to two of the best university libraries in town, you will find me, on afternoons, curled up in the Carnegie Library of Oakland's quiet reading room, with a cup of tea (shhh, don't tell the librarians) and my collection of *other* library books spread around me. And, when the final papers are turned in, the tests over, I go running back to *my* library for their familiarity, comfort, and ridiculous collection of books.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I began volunteering at the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh because I was so impressed with the amazing programs and outreach that the library offers to the different neighborhoods of Pittsburgh. I have become even more proud of our library system since I started volunteering a year ago. CLP offers so many fun free programs, including story time and book clubs for people of all ages, craft projects for kids and for adults, the LABS program for teens, and workshops hosted by the Job and Career Education Center. This, of course, is just a short list of examples; the library hosts a staggering amount of programming sure to attract people of varying ages and interests.

CLP also hosts fun events at its different branches. Some of these include After Hours, an adults' night out; Extravaganza, a huge annual children's event; and an Alternative Homecoming for teens. I've attended several events as a volunteer, and they are very well received by members of the community. The library definitely stands out as a place to have fun as well as to learn.

It is definitely worth mentioning that every staff member I've interacted with has been kind, helpful, and very service-oriented. They are just the sort of people you'd expect to work at such a welcoming and invaluable community resource.

CLP has all of this in addition to the great resources at each branch--books, DVDs, CDs, audiobooks on MP3, zines, etc. Anything you could possibly want to discover in the city is at CLP. If you haven't gotten a library card yet or haven't used yours in awhile, check out your local branch. You might be pleasantly surprised by what you find.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Having moved around a fair bit, I've been to a few libraries, and the Carnegie Library system surpasses them all. The locations are convenient, the staff is always helpful, the schedule is packed with great activities, and the shelves, of course, are filled to the brim. I love that I can request books from any branch in the system as easily as putting a hold on something at my own library. And I love that the library is a community center in an age where it is nearly impossible to find wholesome, free places to spend time. Also, the window to the dinosaurs in the Main branch makes it the best place to sit and study in all of Pittsburgh.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from The Pittsburgh Foundation
February 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh is one of my favorite places to go in the city. It's quiet, serene, and provides the perfect environment for reading and studying. I could spend all day in there and just be as happy as can be!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from The Pittsburgh Foundation
February 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This library has been delighting me since I first went there as a child many years ago. I have since returned many times, and brought my Granddaughter along as well. Thank you for the many hours with "friends" from all over the world ... :) Many blessings!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from The Pittsburgh Foundation
February 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

CLP has been a huge supporter of our local Nerdfighter goup, Pittsburgh Area Nerdfighters (Bringing Nerdy Back). We meet in the teen section of the Oakland Library every month and they have gone out of their way to make us feel welcome. They have asked our opinions on programming and has kept in touch with us when a meeting may conflict with a program they have. We adore CLP and the Teen Librarians!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from The Pittsburgh Foundation
February 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I enjoy the movies and lectures at the Downtown and Squirrel Hill Library. It's difficult for me to leave any library without checking out a new book. It's becoming my new addiction!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from The Pittsburgh Foundation
February 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Since tiz near Valentine's day I'm thinking how lovers are breathless w expectation, lovers of the CPL breathing steadily w deep satisfaction. No kidding. I moved to Pgh in large measure because of the library system, having been away 30 years and, as it turned out, splendidly unaware of the growth & flourishing that has taken place meantime. I am almost embarrassed, I use it so much--a state of abash whose best antidote I know is being a steady donor, hoping to be a better one. And also to volunteer soon as I get settled, which is taking time, tho I have (finally) bought a humble little house an hour & five minutes walk over hill & dale but beautifully partway through the park.
Very high on my list of favorites are the staff--so many so various so helpful.
I haven't yet had time to sample many of the programs but certainly hope to.
There's lots to love about the Burgh but the CPL is #1 w me. love to yinz every one.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

The work that the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh does in the communities of Pittsburgh, particularly in the areas of promoting early learning and bringing literacy outreach services to young children, is unrivaled. Services that are not available for free anywhere else (like free computer and internet access, job-seeking assistance, and free CD and DVD rentals) help to relieve the pressure from economically strained customers. My favorite neighborhood library, Woods Run, offers free programs every week for every age group-- storytimes for small children and their parents, afterschool science and crafts for elementary schoolers, fun activities like video games for teens, and classes for adults like computer literacy and Spanish. The staff members are friendly and knowledgable and create a vibrant community space that shines in the neighborhood.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers