Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
123.7857145
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This company is sitting on a mountain of $4M in cash they've collected from unsuspecting donors... and that is after they pay their staff of 66 employees over $4.4M PER YEAR in compensation!

This company needs to be investigated by the IRS, FTC and FBI. Clearly its core purpose is to
enrich the founders and employees by duping people into thinking they are helping other people with medical bills.

I will be contacting the Minnesota attorney general's office about this.

Also, I believe most of the five star reviews on this site and Yelp and others are written by employees... take a look at how they are worded and you will see what I mean. Scammy... very scammy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of solicitation of "tribute" donations, fire the employees and run it with volunteers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This website asks for donations that go directly to the company. If you do not read it carefully you assume you are giving the money to your friends or family that is ill.
Another example of a company making money of people's charity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This site shod be free. I would never volunteer or give money to tho non- profit.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The design of the CaringBridge website is very deceiving. They make it LOOK like the "tribute donations" will go toward a particular family when, in fact, the donations go directly into their pocket!! On the top and the sides of the very personal and heartbreaking journal entries they have placed the DONATE buttons!! There are over 40 "tribute" donations to a particular family that I know and I will bet that a good percentage of those donations were intended for the FAMILY and NOT CaringBridge. What is worse, is the FACT that this has been an on-going complaint that CaringBridge refuses to correct!! I am clearly not the first person who has made a donation only to figure out later (after a second, closer look at the "Thank you" email), that I had been DUPED. Had I not looked closer at the email, it would have never occurred to me that CaringBridge pocketed my money. They were great about issuing a refund.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it VERY clear that CaringBridge donations are NEVER EVER passed onto the families. REMOVE the DONATE links for the personal journals pages!!!! I mean, seriously, how totally deceitful and downright cruel...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I was told by a friend that I should try setting up a Caring Bridge site after my sister was injured in a car accident. Though easy to setup, I quickly realized that was I had done was setup a marketing page for Caring Bridge to use to collect donations. They were essentially going to use my story, my efforts in driving traffic and my friends and family to make money.

I understand that non-profits need to make money but they should not pollute there users sites with ambiguous donation and tribute messages. I will not use or recommend this service again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 18, 2013

This is just an amazing site! Being able to bring all their loved ones together in one place at one time. Those who are too far away or those that can't make a daily trip to spend time with the person at the other end of the "CaringBridge". Keeping everyone updated with the SAME information instead of relying on word of mouth, which let's face it, things get misinterpreted or facts gets communicated wrong. This site lets you set the "record" straight and keep everyone on the same page. It also gives the chance for all their loved ones to show love and support which is a key component the good health and healing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013

I believe in CaringBridge purpose in inspiring other people who are sick and those related to them that are also suffering emotionally... although they might not be experiencing the pain, yet they are also affected somehow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2013

My husband was diagnosed with late stage cancer several months ago, and we were told by friends about Caring Bridge. It took all of 5 hours for me to realize its value as the various emails poured in following the operation that gave us the unwanted details. I simply could not have kept up with communications any other way. As new people hear of his issue, we just send them to Caring Bridge first so we don't have to constantly retrace things. It is much, much easier for us and leaves the other person better informed.

Since then Caring Bridge has become our primary way of sharing our lives with friends and family. We know of many who go there first each day to see if there is a new post. For us, it is a way to talk about his cancer with some distance and perspective.

They have a Support Planner that can go with it the blog, to list tasks that the Caregiver or Patient may need done, that is also offered free.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

CaringBridge is an amazing site that helps families and friends keep updated on the health and family of people affected by an illness. It keeps everyone in the loop and also makes it non-intrusive to the families. Friends can get updates without having to bother the family or person that is ill. It's hard to ask how a person is doing and sometimes the answer may not be good, so all involved are uncomfortable. CaringBridge makes it more comfortable for all parties involved and keeps everyone apprised of details. This is an amazing site.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

i am, thankfully, not a patient at this point in time. however, i do have a friend who is and is using the site. WHO KNEW FROM THIS SITE? she sent me the link and it. bounced. my. socks. off!! at first i thought "how cool is THIS?" look at what she (my friend) made; then..."wait a sec...this isn't a personal deal...look at what is available to her at the hospital. how come i never saw this before?"; then..."umm....hang on, here, this isn't a hospital site, it's something different."; then...."HOLY WOW!!" after i read my friend's story and several journal entries, i found the parts where i could write to her and then where i could send a donation to help this site continue. i wrote and wrote and wrote to her and then..."uh oh. i haven't been working in a while. money is kinda tight." and then "I'LL KISS FEET ON BROADWAY IF I HAVE TO, BUT I HAVE TO GIVE SOMETHING TO HELP THIS CONTINUE!!" and i did. not a lot. nothing huge. just a little. just the kind of amount that says that i can't have two bags of snicker's minis and three magazines this week; or the kind of amount that says i'll have to get my darned hair cut after 8 weeks instead of my usual 6 weeks. you see, 28 years ago i watched my father die with my 6 month old only child in my arms. thankfully, it went quickly, and for the most part he wasn't aware of much. however, I was. i was hyper-aware of EVERYTHING. every breath he took; every squelch of a nurse's shoe in the hallway; every ring of the telephone which made me jump up like a cat kicked in the caboose because my nerves were so raw; all of the constant repetitions of the same litany i had to recite to every person that paraded through his room or called; over and over and over and over....had something like CaringBridge been available at that time (we didn't even have computers back then...wow, i'm a fossil) i think it would have taken me to a different place. i believe that my hair would have stayed hair instead of the live nerve endings it had become. i would have had an outlet; i would have been able to reach out; i could have let everyone know when it was a good time or a bad time to come or, when they needed to ALL come right away. i could have read words of encouragement to my father as he lay in his bed in the hospital instead of snippets from books or newspapers that had nothing at all to say to him. over the past 28 years since my father has been gone, we've gotten computers and cell phones and microwaves (WHOA) and so many friends of mine and family members, as well, have had me sitting at their bedsides asking them questions that, i'm sure, had been answered ten thousand times previously and so many of these same people hadn't heard from me at all because i didn't want to call or visit because i was afraid to disturb them and their family members during such a stressful time. lots of times i was too late to call or visit. lots of times i never got to say "i love you, you know that, right?" i would have had that opportunity if we would have known about CaringBridge. lots of people roll through life blessedly unaware of these kinds of situations; unaware of how blessed they are. then, there are the people like me; people that have watched so many of their friends and co-workers and family members heroically wrestle with impossible diagnoses only to succumb in the end while we watch them, sit with them, see ourselves reflected back to us in their eyes; helpless and lost and unprepared even though we've been prepared; people like me who could have made a great and happy present of CaringBridge to our loved ones; people like me who could have written daily; who could have been better informed by reading daily posts and who could have made sure the words "i love you. you know that, right?" would have been read. before it was too late. THIS SITE IS ONE OF THE SINGULAR MOST IMPORTANT PATIENT/FAMILY RELATED TOOLS I HAVE RUN ACROSS SINCE RONALD MCDONALD HOUSE. it is a blessing and one that shouldn't be in danger of being lost. now, i get onto facebook daily and urge, encourage, plead, cajole, bully, sweet talk and say anything and everything i can think of to get people off of their dead behinds and PAY ATTENTION!! if they can pay REAL money to play VIRTUAL games on a venue such as facebook, then they have the spare greenbacks to toss a few around to CaringBridge, in my opinion. and something as easy as MICROvolunteering? c'mon!! if you're sitting there staring at a pc screen with your eyes glazed over and drool running down the corners of your mouth while you are plowing your FARMVILLE field, you can just as easily make a post on your page for people to just "take a look at this CaringBridge thing, yo!" how simple is THAT? very. how many people can that reach? infinite numbers. how important is it? one of the most important things in the world. thank you. God bless you all for your huge hearts and your wonderful imaginations which are making dire situations more palatable and pleasant and less stressful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

My dear 1st cousin was diagnosed with stage 3 grade 3 invasive carcinoma of the breast. She always believed in early detection and went every year on time for her routine mammogram. This July her journey to survive started and she has shared daily her progress, experience and feelings publicly. She has so far had over 1,000 visits and post that have inspired her and brought her courage by way of their inspiration. During her work up prior to starting chemotherapy she had a PET scan, which shows if there has been any other organs affected. During this they found a spot on her kidney which also proved to be cancer. Both were primary sites, non related to each other. Since the breast was the fastest growing type of cancer and the kidney was the slowest they decided to jump on the breast aggressively with chemo and then follow with radiation. The chemo is different for each site so the chemo for her breast will not help her kidney. She has just finished her 3rd treatment and has posted her day to day emotions,, fears, concerns, an experiences for all her friends and loved ones to see and respond. She always looks so forward to reading her guest book and has never felt such an out pouring of love from others. The post inspire an encourage her to realize she is not alone and keeps her spirits up. She thanks God everyday that Caring Bridge is available to her and gives her strength to carry on. She now believes she doesn't have a death sentence but a survivor sentence that she can carry on and help others on here going through a difficult time. Thank you Care Bridge for allowing her a place to vent her day to day recovery.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers