Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

It's a great honor to give CEF 5 stars for their contribution to some of the most brilliant Children in Jamaica, who have passed their Grade Six Achievement test. (GSat) paying their School Fees, Textbooks, Uniforms, Transportation, Lunch and Medicals. I'm so amazed by the Carribbean Education Foundation. (CEF). I believe every person in this world, deserves a chance to strive and to be productive of their country. CEF is delievering a great oppurtunity for success. This is also a great gift to the children in this world today, being able to have the ability to take care of their needs, reach their goals, and be an excellent contributor to the society. I wish CEF a great success.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

CEF is by far one of the most effective not for profit organizations targeted at children's education currently operating in the Caribbean. While the mission of the organization, children's education, is one which many organizations in the caribbean and elsewhere share, and one which resonates with many donors, I believe that this organization is effective and deserving of my support because of the very testimony of the children they serve, many of whom are featured on their website. These children though poor in material resources have succeded academically. For a small investment you and I can give them an opportunity to continue their education. This is the equivalent of a free lunch both literally and figuratively. You have an opportunity to make an investment in an already academically succcessful individual so they can continue to succeed. That is a sure investment if ever I have heard of one. Additionally, I also believe CEF is effective based on my personal interaction with the organization. After having volunteered at and attended a number of their events over the years, I am impressed with their ability to raise fund in an efficent manner thereby ensuring that a larger percentage of donated funds makes its way to the target mission. I'm also impressed by the fact that the leadership of the organization is likewise committed to the funding mission not just in terms of their donated services but also by the fact that they are willing to committ their own financial resources to the mission in a significant way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

Was blessed to be able to spend a few hours with Upper Elementary and Junior High Students during their school day at The Academy in Kingston 12. The students had such lovely voices however their school lacked so many things that could bring them up to speed. It is very sad to see so many living so well and yet children must pay to attend school and pay for their own transportation, food, books, materials and supplies. Additionally, many students' neighborhoods are too dangerous and need assistance and/or finances to relocate in order to attend High School. 1 ♥ Caribbean Education Foundation, founded and managed by Joe Higgs' grandaughter, Nikiki Bogle, Esq. is always seeking mentors, volunteers, and donors to help make a difference to deserving students. Please put and keep children first, families suffer when children need assistance. Strong educational programs like this make miracles happen. It is easy to help others when you have experienced that gift yourself. Blessings always! 1 ♥

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

CEF is an exemplary foundation changing the lives of underrepresented children who might otherwise have been forgotten. In delivering education, CEF is delivering a key fundamental opportunity for success— opportunity for opening doors. There is no greater gift than granting a child the ability to take care of herself and be a vital contributor to society. I wholeheartedly endorse CEF.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the results of happy, well supported students

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give more money

March 23, 2011

more

March 23, 2011

The Caribbean Education Foundation, Inc. (CEF) based in Boston, Massachusetts is a wonderful nonprofit doing excellent work to help poor children receive an education! I have volunteered with CEF for 3 years now. It is a fantastic organization with a professional and very active Board who are all volunteers. The Executive Officers are dedicated volunteers too.

I learned a great deal from CEF, which raised awareness that PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOLS ARE NOT FREE IN JAMAICA. Thousands of brilliant poor children are unable to attend high school there, because parents cannot afford the school fees, text books, transportation, school supplies and meals.

This is the organization's major effort right now--to help poor children have meaningful access to high school education in its current mission country of Jamaica. To do so, it awards "Paul Bogle Scholarships" for High School children. CEF plans to expand its scholarship programs to other Caribbean countries in 2012.

I particularly love that CEF has Financial Transparency and at least 80% of funds raised go to the CEF Scholarship Programs. All donations designated for Scholarships are 100% donated to that program. This results in the organization being able to provide more Scholarships to underprivileged children to attend school.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally experienced real results with CEF. I personally donated money to CEF and witnessed that it went to fund student scholarships for poor children to be able to attend Public High School in Jamaica. I also helped with fundraisers and saw that the profits went to the CEF Scholarships for children. In 2010, CEF awarded Scholarships to Six 11-year-old children to attend high school; and in 2008, it funded Four university students. I know CEF plans to give more scholarships this year in 2011.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to CEF, I would award it some serious grant and sponsorship money. The organization has an established track record of using donors' funds to help children. Importantly, CEF would be able to pay its Executive Officers who would work full-time on the programs, conduct more fundraisers and ultimately award more scholarships to help even more children to receive a quality education in the Caribbean and developing world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers