Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

This is my second year volunteering with Care For Life. My first experience was completely life-changing, and I knew then that this wouldn't be a one time thing. The work CFL does is too important, and it is the only model of its kind--an organization that enters a community already with an exit strategy. They know that you've done your job when you are no longer needed, and the communities they leave are infinitely better off than they were before. You can instantly tell the difference between a Care For Life village and a non-Care For Life Village. The yards are clean, the dishes are off the ground on a rack, water is being treated, there are mosquito nets, there are latrines, and people are starting small businesses. It is a truly incredible work, and I'm glad to be a part of it. CFL is a relatively new organization, and has to deal with everything that working in a third world country entails, but overall I have been extremely impressed and I see myself working a lot with Care For Life in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I have seen first hand that Care for Life does exactly as its mission says- alleviates suffering, fosters self-reliance, and instills hope. They are an organization that intends to make a lasting positive impact on families in Mozambique. I was so impressed to see the programs truly making a difference when I volunteered in Mozambique in 2007. I would highly recommend CFL to anyone who is looking to work with an exceptional non-profit organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

"Teach a man how to fish, he'll fish for a lifetime." That is exactly what Care for Life does. I became involved with this organization because I believe in its purpose. It has a high success rating and is effective in the communities they work in. The people of Mozambique notice and act on change, and that is how I know that this organization is of worth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

I decided to engage in a volunteer internship with Care for Life. In my time with them so far (one month), I have been so impressed with the programs and work that Care for Life does in Mozambique. CFL really focuses on engaging a whole community in their program that covers 8 basic areas (ex: education, health, economics, etc.) and really focuses on helping all members of a family (no matter what form that family takes) to gain knowledge and skills so that they can sustain themselves long after CFL has left their community. Because nothing is given away for free and everything is based on a system of earning rewards through goal-setting with each individual family, the effects are longer-lasting and pride is restored in communities that are so used to receiving handouts from other organizations that create dependency. With a specific program timeline that is fully explained to community leaders before entering a particular community and continued monitoring after they leave, CFL really works to make sure that they do not become a permanent part of a community that is dependent on them for support. I have been so impressed by this organization and its focus on working with families and would recommend that anyone go to their website to learn more and see how they can help as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us on the administrative side here in the US. There is a great need on this end as well to support our work in Mozambique. Volunteer