Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Care For Life is making permanent change in the lives of the family's they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have been familiar with Care For Life for many years and have seen the profound impact on the lives of people who have gone to Mozambique as volunteers and only heard of the many stories of lives changed for the better there. There are so many who cannot go to Africa but want to help in small ways. Whatever we can do to help alleviate suffering and teach individuals how to improve the quality of their lives, we must do. .....Lynette Peterson

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

As an intern to Care For Life, I have an opportunity than before to closely learn about the organization and its activities. CFL is a complex organization that strives to restore self-esteem to the poorest people from less advantaged communities in Mozambique. As a Mozambican student in the USA, I found Care For Life as the best organization to eventually work for when I return to Moz because CFL helps people(my people form MOZ) to help themselves. I highly recommend CFL as the best nonprofit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I teach Social Entrepreneurship at the college-level. I am impressed with Care For Life's model. They have migrated away from giving and now mainly reward after individuals , families and villages have met pre-determined goals. I hope other NGOs check out CFL's model and adopt in in other countries.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

I got involved with Care for LIfe over a year ago doing volunteer graphic and web design work for them. I quickly learned how amazing and different this organization is compared to other non-profit organizations. None of the advisory board or volunteer gain any of the monetary donations that come in—100% of the donations go to the families in need in Mozambique. This organization is truly and sincerely dedicated to improving the lives of Mozambicans by simply teaching them how to take care of themselves because they just haven't been taught how to in the past. I am amazed every day by what this organization does!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

Care For Life is an amazing organization if you want a life changing experience for yourself. Going to Africa will make a person realize the impact individuals have on them. Going to the baby orphanage is to me, the most amazing part. I became attatched to the children. They have so much light in their eyes and just want love and attention. The babies and kids, right when you enter, come running up to you with arms wide open. I became extremely sttatched to one baby and saying goodbye to her was one of the hardest things I have ever done! Care For lifes teachings and tactic help the people realize they can do everything themselves. When you teach the children weaving and sewing they just want to learn and listen. You love these children in a matter of minutes and form a bond with them that is undescribeable. I love Care For Life and Africa. I would do it again without any hesitation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I have always wanted to help those in extreme poverty but never knew how best to do it. I read about Care for Life in the Deseret News and I felt that their methods were effective and brought about permanent change. I read more about them on their website. I was impressed by their statistics and their focus on family and self-sustenance. I love that they do not give handouts but teach families and communities to make goals and accomplish them. After people meet their goals Care for Life rewards them with things they could not have obtained on their own, but they still had to earn it. Its a beautiful system and I believe it is the answer to extreme poverty worldwide. We have many resources to help people but unless we change lives and teach people to take care of themselves, those resources will be wasted. I felt like finding this organization was an answer to prayers. I'm not able to volunteer abroad but I looked at their website and found an opportunity to be a photo editor. I edit photos taken by volunteers in Mozambique so they can be used for the media. Now I feel like i am making a real and permanent difference. I love to edit photos of those people in Mozambique and see the joy in their faces. I know that Care for Life has brought them hope for the future and joy in the present.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I worked with Care For Life in Mozambique during May-June 2012. I was so impressed not only with the approach that Care For Life takes in helping villages in Africa, but more importantly their results. So many health and family issues, based on the statistics, are wildly improved for the villagers. I walked among the residents of several villages near Beira, Mozambique and talked with many adults and children. Every person explained that their lives were better after Care For Life began working with them. I personally observed the Care For Life personnel in action. I think they do a marvelous job and yet their resources are, apparently, quite limited. I was honored to have been of some little help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By personally watching the villagers and talking with them I am satisfied that great improvements are being made. Also, Care For Life extensively documents progress toward family and community goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I can't express strongly enough how much I enjoyed meeting new people and being able to talk, communicate with the villagers. I continue to desire to help where I can.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

People want to improve themselves and their families, event though they have so little. I was impressed that with the right kind of help (education) many lives can be improved in multiple ways.

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I started working with Care for Life in 2011 working with their social media. Within no time I was planning ways I could learn Portugese or get myself to Africa to help in Mozambique. I've always been skeptical of non-profits because I worry about what happens when the organization moves on from the people they have been helping. Everything I have seen about the way they organize the Family Preservation Program is geared toward self-sufficiency for the people of Mozambique. Everyone can feel good about a program that teaches people how to garden and create a better life for themselves -- without a single handout. That's incredible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

Care For Life's focus on teaching, training, and supporting vulnerable children and families so that they can quickly and effectively support themselves not positively effects lives now, but also for many years to come. Care for Life helps families by teaching them the skills needed and giving them the opportunities for growth and stability whether it is regarding shelter, employment, or food and sanitation. I volunteered in Mozambique one summer and helped as rebuild houses and huts for vulnerable families who had been selected by the organization. The most memorable family was just two young brothers, both parents had died of AIDS. They were too young when their parents had died to learn how to manage a home. Our work helped establish them in the community and gave them skills to keep their living space sanitary and safe. Care For Life not only helped pay for their new house that as volunteers we built, but they followed the two boys and helped teach and train them along the way to ensure they had what they needed to keep moving forward. The organization's use of monetary and volunteer resources is incredible, with little to no slack or waste.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us on the administrative side here in the US. There is a great need on this end as well to support our work in Mozambique. Volunteer