Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12.85345
Write A Review
January 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Good luck getting off their mailing list. I have sent multiple requests in writing AND a personal letter to senior management and still they are happy to harass my frail, ill parents. It's unfortunate that any "care" the might have ends when they smell a dollar. BTW - they were warned that we would take this route to try to convince them to let my severely ill parents alone!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire their fundraising department and hire people who care about people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have supported CARE in the past, but with improved information, I am no longer interested in doing so. The decision to pay the CEO over $406,000 is astonishing, distressing, and inappropriate. I will not contribute to that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

CARE's work with women in highlighting the plight of forced marriage and child marriage is invaluable. I became interested in CARE because I care deeply about forced marriage, and of course child marriage. However, forced marriage is something that I can relate to as I have been through a forced marriage myself, and know that women the whole world over need help to end this tradition of abuse and human rights violation. A forced marriage can scar a girl for life, can put her in a situation that no-one would ever want to be in or should have to be in. My own situation even though not a child marriage, had elements of a child marriage as I was engaged at the age of 14; and felt tremendous pressure to say "yes". People do not realize the power of cultural practices and that it is not easy as a girl of any age to say "no" to one's parents. Girls every day are being forced into marriages that they are unhappy with, and this unhappiness often leads to violence; because when one or both people in a marriage are unhappy, most often this bad situation can escalate, and terrible things can happen. We are now hearing of "honor killings" a lot, and many of these killings also are due to when a girl decides to be strong and say "no". We are very often victimized, and we need help. CARE can be counted on to help stop this harmful practice, and that is why I support CARE.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Even though I haven't personally experienced the results, I see the results from all the postings I have seen on Twitter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Twitter

August 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Last week we contacted CARE about the actions they are taking to improve their recent Charity Navigator ratings. CARE's response was quick and reassuring - and appears below. We plan to continue our long-term support of CARE since their efficiency is consistently 4 star and actions they have taken should help CARE regain a higher overall rating.

Response from CARE:

"Thank you for contacting CARE. Our current rating is impacted by having reduced revenue and program expenses due to two strategic decisions: to phase out monetization of food aid and to sell a microfinance institution. Our 2010 rating was affected by the fact that in the previous period we had higher revenue and expenses due to some extraordinary gifts and program expenses related to the Asian tsunami.

Aligning our programming with strategic development priorities can result in revenue and expense changes. And, like all international organizations, CARE experiences fluctuations in revenue and expense growth in response to global market forces.

It is important to remember that Charity Navigator's rating of CARE's operational efficiency consistently receives the highest possible rating, 4 stars. And CARE's excellence is recognized by accreditation from the Better Business Bureau and an A+ rating from the American Institute of Philanthropy.

Charity Navigator recognizes the limitations of its current system and is working with organizations, including CARE, to revise its system and determine new measures that will look not just at financial information but at a group's performance in relation to its objectives."

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A prompt, factual response to our request for how CARE's operations were being improved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing to suggest at this time.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

CARE encourages all of our U.S.-based supporters to join our CARE Action Network, a group of CARE advocates working to educate our nation’s leaders about issues related to global poverty. Join thousands of other supporters around the country in speaking out on behalf of women, children and poor families around the world.

CARE does not generally recruit volunteers for fieldwork for several reasons. Whenever possible, CARE works with local people in order to expand skills and knowledge in a county, as well as to ensure sustainability. Often, local laws prohibit or severely restrict the use of foreign volunteers. Most of our programs require specific expertise and several years of experience in international development and relief. Using volunteers internationally can be very costly in regard to airfare, meals, and lodging.

If you aren’t a U.S. resident or are interested in working abroad, please check http://bit.ly/CAREcareers for current career and internship opportunities. Or, you can contact our offices in countries around the world directly at http://bit.ly/CAREcountries

Volunteer